We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Freindly comfortable stay we have had.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anglebury House
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Reviewed 24 February 2010

My self and three collegues stayed here for three weeks, a most friendly and pleasant stay. We found the staff more that helpful in every way, making sure our needs were catered for from very early breakfast to late evenings.
The accommodation itself was of a very high standard comfortable beds and rooms. We thoughtly enjoyed our stay the food very good and would reccommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2009

We booked 3 nights and checked out after one. We realized that this was an old historic Inn on a main road and believe that we had realistic and modest expectations about the quality of accommodation. Still, it was worse than expected. Cleanliness was not satisfactory. There were two pubic hairs from the prior occupant(s) in the bathtub, another hair on the sink backspash, and another sitting atop the electric clock by the bed. The clock looked like it hadn't been dusted in a long time. A couple of areas in the room had unpleasant odors. Thus, although the sheets and towels and storage areas were clean, overall, we didn't feel confident about the room's cleanliness.
The bed was too soft and the room, overall, seemed shabby. One wall had two holes in it from (we were told) where a piece of furniture had previously been bolted to the wall. One hole was sizeable. Too bad management didn't see fit to patch up the holes. In other spots the wallpaper was torn. The bathroom was cramped and the bedroom was small. Ironically, when we booked we were told that this was the "family room" and nicest room in the Inn.
The room faced the backside and we were told that it would be relatively quiet, in terms of street noise. It was; you couldn't hear traffic. However, intermittent mechanical clicking sounds (pipes expanding, or who knows what) necessitated the use of ear plugs. We were told that there was a small area for parking in the rear and that if no space was available there was a Pay car park across the street. Fortunately we got a space in the hotel's lot (holds 3 to 4 cars) as there was no car park right across the street, and it was raining. In the morning "greasy" kitchen odors from food being cooked wafted into the room, which we found unpleasant . Breakfast was standard. We appreciate the manager's willingness to release us from the rest of our booking after we told him of our poor night's sleep. I cannot imagine any circumstance in which we would ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torchwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

place was just okay........price was a little high for what v got.... rooms were okay but bit ventilation problem..... beds were comfortable.....breakfast was fine....but no second helping......

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASAUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Very good restaurant food at reasonable prices if decor is somewhat fussy and mixed up. Restaurant is closed Sundays and Mondays but there are other places nearby.

Parking is very restricted behind property so may have to leave car on street. Breakfast was fine but only served at 0900 unless special arrangements made previous evening. If you come down before 0900 the place is deserted and all locked up though you can get onto street as they provide front door key.

My room was OK but decor was distinctly 1970 in style and en-suite shower was a rather bitty mixture of fittings. There was a dirty toothmug glass in the en-suite on arrival which remained throughout our stay. The room definitely needed updating to make it more comfortable.

The bar area again was a mixture of the old building together with an assortment of odd ornaments and a strange window display. The lighting could definitely be improved to enhance the atmosphere of the bar area.

Staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We stayed at The Anglebury for two nights. The rates were excellent compared to what else was on offer in Wareham, but this place offers excellent value for money. The room we had had an en-suite bathroom, both were very clean and comfortable even if the rooms are old, in keeping with the building.

We had dinner the first night, very good and lots of it. We also had a drink in the bar area and that is also very cosy and good value.

Breakfast is very good, plus lots of choice and how nice that it is table service and not buffet style.

The owner (Jane) and her staff are really friendly and efficent.

Other b&b's in Wareham wanted £65.00 per person per night, madness, the rate we paid was £60.00 for the room and breakfast. Great value, nice place, nice people, in walking distance of everything, give it a go.

2  Thank flanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Etienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
1.2 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
398 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
135 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
978 reviews
7.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglebury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglebury House

Address: 15-17 North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: £78 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Anglebury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglebury House Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing