We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and welcome”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #9 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I thought that this place did what it should, clean and spacious room, good food and good beer. The only downside is the proximity to the clock tower which does chime every hour.....through the night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesNMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. JUst that blasted clock tower again ; ) Regards Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have been visiting Wareham for many years now and have always struggled to find somewhere good to stay. We always ended up staying at the Priory which although lovely is rather overpriced and sometimes a little stuffy. We had heard that the Red Lion had been refurbished and what a great job they've done. The rooms are light spacious and very well equipped. It is very clear that a lot of thought has gone into the refurb project i.e. they are catering for their guests!!

Great tea and coffee making facilities in the room, plenty of towels, lovely quality bed linen and a gorgeous little room off our room for our 2 year old daughter to sleep in.

From making the reservation it was clear that customer service was important, Beth looked after us very well and remembered every detail.

The breakfast was really good too. Gorgeous bread!!

We will definitely be returning and recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: We had a double with adjoining single room on the front (main road) however if you are a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreyjaODuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see your lovely family again soon.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed at the Red Lion for 3 nights. I stayed in a suite at the front of the hotel and it really was beautifully decorated. It was clean and fresh and a real sanctuary. A few of the other reviews have mentioned noise level and this room was noisy - there's no getting away from it. However, the hotel *is* on a main road, so if you turn up expecting countryside-style silence then that can't really be blamed on The Red Lion!

The staff were very friendly, and the courtyard is a really lovely addition.

My only gripe is that they're still finishing the renovations and haven't sorted the water pressure yet so there was no shower. This would have been fine, but the bath would only fill up a small amount before the water literally stopped running. I would have liked to have been warned about this before I arrived.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property for a quieter night sleep, and ask about the water situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review! Your comment about noise was beautifully put! We will be installing showers in the next phase of refurbishment. However I would like to apologise for the water pressure issue which was caused by a fault and was fixed after your departure.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The rooms are spacious, quiet, well equipped and tatsefully decorated, with complementary tea, local water and good quality biscuits. They need to sort out the erratic hot water supply, but I understand this is in hand. Breakfast was very good, especially the full English, but personally I would have liked better quality marmalade and brown bread/toast. All the staff were most pleasant and helpful and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurnerTrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments. We have indeed managed to sort out the troublesome water pressure and apologise if this caused you any issues. Brown toast should always be available on the breakfast offer! I have reviewed our marmalade and jam selection after your comment and these have now been upgraded.
Many thanks again
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We called in here at the last minute and so pleased we did. The rooms were so tastefully decorated and have everything you need. We had a room that had a separate relaxing area to watch TV, so when the weather was not so good we could relax in the room without feeling like we were sat in a bedroom.

The staff are friendly and helpful and we would agree with the comment about a shower hook and screen as mentioned by another review. However, unlike some of the other reviews we would disagree about the noise. Our room was opposite the town clock, it did not disturb us and we are light sleepers and live in the countryside so not accustomed to town noises.

The breakfast was superb and a great start to the day. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We actively decided not to install shower screens as the water pressure wouldn't be strong enough to give a consistent shower. We would rather not do it, than provide a sub standard service. As a compromise we installed hand held shower taps to wash hair with, hopefully reaching a compromise!
Thank you for your recommendations, we would love to see you again.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have just had a 3 night stay at this hotel and had a wonderful time. As other reviewers have said, it is beautifully restored in a pleasing combination of traditional and modern. Our room was extremely spacious and well appointed, we loved the nice deep bath. The staff were fantastic, helpful in a genuine caring way. It was really good value as a delicious home cooked breakfast is included in the room rate. We also had dinner there one night and the food was very good and well priced albeit not exceptional. The downside as the last reviewer describes is the noise from outside. The clock would not have bothered us, but the bank and bus stop users definitely so. Luckily having read the reviews we took ear plugs with us!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mardimarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yopur stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the food exceptional, as this is what we always strive for. Hopefully you raised any issues with your waitress at the time? Being in the centre of town has many advantages but unfortunately also some disadvantages that go with it. We are sorry if you were disturbed.
Many regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a lovely hotel, the staff are very helpful, the beds lovely and comfortable with great linnen, big fluffy towels and a super menu.

But the really do need double glazing, if you are a light sleeper this is not a hotel for you, if you are a heavy sleeper then I would give it 4 stars. The town clock chimes through the night which is opposite the hotel, the hotel sits at a juction with traffic lights and a bank next door so there is a constant stream of traffic with doors slamming as people go to the cash point and also revving engines at the lights. The is a bus shelter just outside which is a magnet for teenagers on Friday at Sautrday nights screeming and shouting is the norm, the police do move them on but like most towns they only move along for a short time then they come back just as your dosing off that is of course after the town clock stopped chiming midnight!! It is a shame as for the hotel itself is so nice and the staff very helpful. There are baths in the room with a shower attacment so if you prefer a shower forget it but as I like a bath no probs. All they need to do is put a fitting on the wall and a shower door on the side of the bath and hey presto problem solved.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5 or 6 its away from the front a bit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marsayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

We are pleased that you spoke so highly of our staff, facilities and menu.

As a grade 2 listed building, double glazing isn't an option. However we are considering installing secondary glazing in phase 2 of refurbishment. I am pleased to report that due to changes in other premises general noise around town has massively decreased and we very rarely have issues. We clearly advertise that we are situated in the centre of town, so unfortunately you won't find fields surrounding the hotel. I am sorry that you were disturbed to the extent that you were as most guests do not find it an issue, returning week after week.
Due to the water pressure not being strong enough to supply a consistent shower we have only installed shower taps and not showers and therefore have not fitted shower doors.
We hope you found somewhere that met your needs.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
135 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range: £93 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, after years of neglect, has undergone a refurbishment totaling around half a million pounds. The Red Lion now boasts 8 individually designed bedrooms, all of which are en-suite and some are suites. We have a formal restaurant, a relaxed snug dining area and comfortable bar with a great selection of lagers, ales, wines, premium spirits and champagnes. We are situated on the town cross in the centre of Wareham, the gateway to the Jurassic coast. Wareham is beautifully placed to tour the South coast. NB Please disregard any comments pre-July 2011 as they relate to previous operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wareham
The Red Lion Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing