We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #9 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Neyland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on business, was sorry to leave. The staff are very welcoming , the food excellent and a good choice of beers.
One word of warning if you stay in room 1 , as for a map at reception as the room is so large you may get lost!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Your review was lovely, thank you for taking the time to submit it.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    57
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
35
82
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

having stayed in wareham quite a few times over recent years it is a pleasure to finally find a hotel that is friendly, clean and a delight to stay in after encountering some less than clean and friendly neighbouring hostileries. we will return again very soon.

Room Tip: not one at the front where the clock chimes on the hour every hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate guests taking the time to feedback their honest experiences and hope to see you again.
Regards
Lisa x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Perfect family suite for our needs,friendly service,good food and we plan a revisit.
One easily addressed issue is that the bedroom flush fire doors look institutional and do not create the best first impression,but everything improved from there

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I actually don't disagree with you about the fire doors but unfortunately needs must to keep everyone safe. regards
Lisa x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We wanted somewhere to stay in Wareham for one night.
The room was large , well appointed and very clean. The staff were really welcoming and helpful.
The parking was limited but nice to be off the road. Unfortunately, the clock tower in the main street rang all night, on the hour every hour, but that's not the hotel's fault.
We ate in the bar restaurant in the evening and the meal was superb, piping hot and freshly prepared. The fabulous breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day. Lunch was not required until much later in the day.
We will stay at the Red Lion again!

Room Tip: Room 1 was was large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reggiesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
That you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our restaurant.
hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My room was quiet, comfortable and the staff were welcoming but not in anyway overbearing. I really appreciated the fact that the eggs for breakfast were free range. The whole experience was easy to sort out and quick to pay on leaving. Well done Red Lion!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am thrilled that the staff were' welcoming but not overbearing' - exactly what we aim for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Really liked the Red Lion in Wareham. Perfect location, right in the centre of town, but we had a room overlooking the back so no noise at all to disturb us. Very friendly and welcoming. Room huge and very comfortable - lovely toiletries and lovely little touches like local bottled water and nice biscuits. Breakfast was good too - local bread was excellent and we could have gone for a swim in the coffee cup it was so big! Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 4 - spacious and over looks the back so very quiet (although you won't get a particularly p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McMahonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. You can never have enough coffee in the morning!
We hope to see you again
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Last minute decision to stay at the red lion after a weekend in Dorset for a wedding. Cheaper price direct from them then through hotel deal websites so go direct.
Stayed in room 1. Lovely, sunny, double aspect room - big and airy with lovely en-suite. Yes it is opposite the clock tower but the bell doesn't chime after 11pm or before 7am. Road noise didn't wake us and we had both windows open.
Breakfast was lovely - although weirdly my eggs benedict came in a pasta bowl and so all the topping was only one one side of the muffin, the other just sort of on the side! Yummy though!
Only down side was very thin pillows but rest of bed very comfortable.
Lovely covered courtyard outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodbye_ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. You obviously slept well as unfortunately the clock does chime all night! I have reviewed our pillows (!) and replaced some earlier than on our planned maintenance. Many thanks again
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#12 of 23 in Wareham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, after years of neglect, has undergone a refurbishment totaling around half a million pounds. The Red Lion now boasts 8 individually designed bedrooms, all of which are en-suite and some are suites. We have a formal restaurant, a relaxed snug dining area and comfortable bar with a great selection of lagers, ales, wines, premium spirits and champagnes. We are situated on the town cross in the centre of Wareham, the gateway to the Jurassic coast. Wareham is beautifully placed to tour the South coast. NB Please disregard any comments pre-July 2011 as they relate to previous operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wareham
The Red Lion Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing