We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #9 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mora, Dalarnas Län, Sweden
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We had a two day family reunioun over a sad occassion (the funeral of a dear aunt)
The proffessional and yet familiar and very kind staff made the occassion and the whole stay very nice. I will definatly go back whenever possible.
Comfortable, clean, and light rooms also added to the experiance.
THANK YOU

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We are so glad that we could make things a bit more bearable for your family at this sad time. We really do try hard to strike a balance between professional service and standards and a friendly atmosphere. We hope to see you again.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    62
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
36
88
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We received a very warm
Welcome from the landlady here and nothing was ever too much trouble. Food was superb, beautifully presented and the service could not be faulted. Myself and a colleague were on business locally and can't wait to return. Location is also superb within Wareham with much to see all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocheeLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am really pleased to hear that our efforts to go that extra mile translate through to our guest.
We hope to see you again
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night, our room was lovely and big! One fairly big thing missing in the bathroom is a proper shower, there's only a hand held one over the bath which was perfect for me - I had a bath and could use the shower to do my hair whilst sat in the bath. However, like most men my fiance wanted a shower standing up so had to hold the shower over himself and managed to get the bathroom floor soaking wet as there was no curtain.

It's a perfectly nice hotel, just needs a bit more atmosphere. Plus they need to put as much attention on the cleaning of the corridors as the rooms, the hallway outside room 2 & 3 stank, possibly of sick.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz-Lymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate that some people do prefer showers and as previously mentionned in responses these will be tackled in phrase two of the refurbishments as there are no easy options!

I am sorry if the hallway smelt. Our staff regularly use this hallway and didn't report anything either so apologies. i am please that you were particularly pleased with the cleanliness of your room though.
regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The room was very well equipped with lots of tea and coffee and complimentary water. Nice bathroom samples. Very clean and newly refurbished. The biggest problem was the heating in the room. The radiators went off a 8.00pm and did not come back on. We were freezing. When I brought this to the owners attention when we got home we were told that someone had turned it off with a spanner.
We were so cold we had to sleep in our clothes. This is strange as the radiators were both on when we first went in the room and up to 8.oopm. They told us this(The heating is timed to go off at 8pm, come back on at 9.00pm until 10pm and then at 5am until 6.30am.) Everything else was very nice and this though did spoil it a lot as sleeping in your clothes is not conducive to a romantic hotel stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
*This review will not be responded to as email communicaion was being had*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

Our travel buyer certainly came up trumps with this.

Myself and a colleague arrived late evening and was greeted with a warm welcome I asked for a quiet room and was given a room at the back away from the road.

Three of us had an evening meal together when watching football which was excellent. Breakfast was also great. Parking can be a problem on arrival but we were advised by a colleague to move the chains at the front and park in one of the bays.

You can park on the street but it has to be after 6 PM. Will stay again great place to eat and stay

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again!
regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

When I discovered that I would be working in the Wareham area for a period close to a year, I set out to find somewhere to stay that would be comfortable, and more importantly, friendly.

From the very first time I set foot in the place, and Beth offered me a coffee, I knew that the Red Lion was going to be the right place - and a year later, I was still there!

Nothing was ever too much trouble, and on the odd occasion that things went wrong (always going to happen in a year) they were put right promptly and with a smile.

The rooms are all very comfortable, the menu is excellent - nad the staff cannot be faulted.

My wife and son came down to stay a couple of times, and they loved it too.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Every room is different - I had my favourites, but just discuss with the staff your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
It was a pleasure to have this gentleman with us for the best part of a year and great to know that we are offering the right balance of professionalism and friendliness. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neyland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on business, was sorry to leave. The staff are very welcoming , the food excellent and a good choice of beers.
One word of warning if you stay in room 1 , as for a map at reception as the room is so large you may get lost!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Your review was lovely, thank you for taking the time to submit it.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, after years of neglect, has undergone a refurbishment totaling around half a million pounds. The Red Lion now boasts 8 individually designed bedrooms, all of which are en-suite and some are suites. We have a formal restaurant, a relaxed snug dining area and comfortable bar with a great selection of lagers, ales, wines, premium spirits and champagnes. We are situated on the town cross in the centre of Wareham, the gateway to the Jurassic coast. Wareham is beautifully placed to tour the South coast. NB Please disregard any comments pre-July 2011 as they relate to previous operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wareham
The Red Lion Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing