We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy because of location... a main road at busy traffic lights”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #9 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed one night only In September, the room was ok, clean but the noise from the road was a problem. The staff were great and food was ok.....We like a shower.... only a bath with a shower head on mixer taps....... The lack of parking was a problem, we had to walk a distance before we found a space for the car......... and overpriced at £110.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room to the back.....
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

just one night, by myself, at the Red Lion Hotel. Very impressive all round - hotel staff friendly, room clean and comfortable, breakfast v nice. I liked the comfy bed and was pleased I wasn't shunted into a cupboard being a single traveller. I had a drink downstairs in the bar before going out to my party and the atmosphere was more gastropub/people coming to eat, than boozer/pub, but it was buzzy and packed at 7pm so I'm guessing the food is v good. Thanks and would defo stay again.

Room Tip: steep staircase up to top floor and no lift
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for a few days recently. The room was spacious and clean, the breakfast was excellent, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The lack of a car park was the only downside to an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night in August. Check-in friendly & efficient. Carpets on the stairs & landing to guest rooms left much to be desired but on reaching our room it was lovely & clean. There are only baths in the rooms, hand-held mixer tap showers in bath-would have been helpful to have known this on booking. No shaver points. Bed beautifully comfortable & lovely crisp white bed linen. Curtains hanging off rail not a good look! Rooms very quiet with black-out curtains.The food in the restaurant is average-having been informed on sitting down the wait would be 45 minutes in the restaurant we waited nearly an hour for our main courses which were 'acceptable'. Being charged extra for a scoopful of ice cream instead if Coulis with our sweet was galling. At £110 for B&B it would have been nice to have these/some of these issues not there.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I and my wife enjoyed our stay here and would recommend its rooms service and breakfast to anyone staying in Wareham the rooms were well decorated out and the beds very comfortable well done to all we will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Have just returned from the Red Lion. Our bellies full and our faith in good customer service in tact. Having turned up at 7:30 the pub and restaurant was heaving. A good sign of any establishment. Despite not being able to fit us in immediately the waitress, Laura, assured us she'd fit us in asap - we were prepared for an hour wait but she'd found us a table in 25 mins. There was a little wait for the food but that was to be expected considering we'd stayed on the basis it was "a busy place". The food was good "pub grub" and of sizeable portions, but what made our night, and the reason we are likely to return, was the service we received from Laura; apologetic for the delay in courses and the fact they'd just run out of pork belly, polite and courteous plus very attentive. We'll certainly recommend The Red Lion. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kootzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I was a little disappointed to find we were paying over the going rate because of booking ahead through booking.com.
Bathroom would not be suitable for elderly as bath had no rails so difficult to get in and out and no shower.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

I can assure you that we do not charge extra for booking.com guests. The advertised rate you saw was on the bar tables for late availability "walk in" guests. This has been explained to you by Booking.com so I thought this had been clarified rather than posting here? We do not advertise that we have disabled or facilities for the elderly. I assume that the lack of handrails is referring to your comment about refurbishment not complete?
That said it is never nice to hear that a guest is dissatisfied and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to an incorrect perception that you "paid over the going rate".
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
1.1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
953 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#3 of 13 in Poole
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range: £90 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, after years of neglect, has undergone a refurbishment totaling around half a million pounds. The Red Lion now boasts 8 individually designed bedrooms, all of which are en-suite and some are suites. We have a formal restaurant, a relaxed snug dining area and comfortable bar with a great selection of lagers, ales, wines, premium spirits and champagnes. We are situated on the town cross in the centre of Wareham, the gateway to the Jurassic coast. Wareham is beautifully placed to tour the South coast. NB Please disregard any comments pre-July 2011 as they relate to previous operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wareham
The Red Lion Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing