We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room, Great location.”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #9 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Room, Great location.”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed one night,18 February 2014.
Service Beginning to End very good. Room Spacious, clean & quite.
Ideal location in Wareham, driving distance of Corfe Castle, Arne RSPB & Swanage.
Well recommended, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    65
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
37
89
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed at the Red Lion for a weekend break to celebrate my birthday.We loved our room which was spacious,spotlessly clean and quiet(as requested). The service whilst we were there was of an excellent standard from friendly attentive staff.Plenty of hot choices on the breakfast menu. I sampled the traditional breakfast which was enormous and filled me up for the whole day.Did not eat in the restaurant in the evenings as we had other plans but the menu choice and food looked good.

Room Tip: We found room 5 very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gintymaginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for one night in october and were very impressed with our large room, complete with very comfortable large double bed, sofa and chair also a large bathroom. The place was spotlessly clean and the staff were courteous and friendly. The food in the restaurant was very good and the breakfast quality and choice were excellent. We would have no hesitation at returning to this pub. We had no trouble parking either, although we did arrive promptly at 3pm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizmank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic place, steeped in history and lovingly restored by the owners. The rooms are luxuriously spacious and decorated to a high standard. It is located in the centre of Wareham and there is some parking if you get there early enough in the afternoon. The food is excellent and the service friendly and swift. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GryNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed one night only In September, the room was ok, clean but the noise from the road was a problem. The staff were great and food was ok.....We like a shower.... only a bath with a shower head on mixer taps....... The lack of parking was a problem, we had to walk a distance before we found a space for the car......... and overpriced at £110.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room to the back.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

just one night, by myself, at the Red Lion Hotel. Very impressive all round - hotel staff friendly, room clean and comfortable, breakfast v nice. I liked the comfy bed and was pleased I wasn't shunted into a cupboard being a single traveller. I had a drink downstairs in the bar before going out to my party and the atmosphere was more gastropub/people coming to eat, than boozer/pub, but it was buzzy and packed at 7pm so I'm guessing the food is v good. Thanks and would defo stay again.

Room Tip: steep staircase up to top floor and no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for a few days recently. The room was spacious and clean, the breakfast was excellent, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The lack of a car park was the only downside to an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
918 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,143 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, after years of neglect, has undergone a refurbishment totaling around half a million pounds. The Red Lion now boasts 8 individually designed bedrooms, all of which are en-suite and some are suites. We have a formal restaurant, a relaxed snug dining area and comfortable bar with a great selection of lagers, ales, wines, premium spirits and champagnes. We are situated on the town cross in the centre of Wareham, the gateway to the Jurassic coast. Wareham is beautifully placed to tour the South coast. NB Please disregard any comments pre-July 2011 as they relate to previous operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wareham
The Red Lion Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing