We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special, we look forward to returning!”
Review of Gold Court House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wareham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gold Court House
Ranked #12 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Michael and Anthea were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. We felt priviledged to share their beautiful home and garden for a few days and wished we hadn't had to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Have just stayed for two nights at Goldcourt House and was very impressed! From the moment I arrived and was greeted with tea and biscuits, Michael and Anthea made me feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble for them. I chose Wareham as a base for my short cycling holiday and was very grateful for the advice and guidance that the Hipwells offered as to the best routes and places to visit. The breakfasts were fantastic, the house was lovely and being able to rest in the garden was great after a long ride (again with more tea and biscuits!) The house is also very well located, just a minute or two away on foot from the centre of the town. If you are thinking of staying in Wareham, then I would thoroughly recommend the Goldcourt.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thommo 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

I spent one night at Gold Court House and it was delightful. The house itself is a charming historical building in central Wareham, and inside is peaceful and elegant and you feel like you could be in the middle of nowhere. My room was clean, spacious and well equipped, with a bathroom to myself and thoughtful touches like a bottle of water and bubble bath left easily to hand. The Hipwells are genuinely dedicated to ensuring you have a top class stay, and you are made to feel instantly welcome by them. Breakfast is served in a bright dining room overlooking the walled gardens, and has everything you could want for a great start to the day - including Anthea's gorgeous home made jams. I would highly recommend this as a charming base for exploring the Purbeck countryside and Jurassic coast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LottieFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Anthea and Michael Hipwell created a home from home for my mother and me in this attractive Georgian townhouse B&B. We had a lovely spacious, light, twin room 'suite', and could come and go as we pleased. The highlight being the elegant dining room for our delicious fruit-laden breakfasts. Bathroom not ultra modern but all to ourselves. A pretty rose garden (a bit chilly when we went) idyllic for a quiet read. Very hospitable people who ensured we had what we needed, knew where to eat and how to make the most of our stay. Quiet, small-town location a stone's throw from the old river port. Easy to access Dorset villages, manor houses (e.g. Athelhampton), beaches etc. Lovely!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyPensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wareham hotels
0.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twiga House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#13 of 23 in Wareham
26 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
318 reviews
1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Court House

Address: Gold Court St. Johns Hill, Wareham BH20 4LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gold Court House Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing