We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor value” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Quay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wareham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Quay Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Disappointing experience. We were a party of four and none of us was impressed with the food. In particular the battered cod wasTINY. At £10.95 it was a joke.
The Timothy Taylor Landlord was good, but even that was £3.90!
The pub garden was very pleasant, as were the staff.
But the overpriced food....... We won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Probuspilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    45
    7
    10
    5
See reviews for
34
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
563 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch and ordered prawn and lobster salad cocktail. There was no sign of any lobster only prawns. When questioned was met with a shrug of the shoulders from the bar staff/server. No apology or part refund.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Was really looking forward to Sunday lunch at the Quay Inn. The food was nicely presented with a separate dish of vegetables of which there was plenty. Unfortunately the good stuff ended there. The meat was tough and slightly dubious looking. There were two very small roast potoes on the plate along with a dried out aunt Bessie Yorkshire pudding . Will not be eating here again in a hurry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 612Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wareham is well located to walk the coastal path from Lulworth to Swanage and the Quay Inn is very well located in Wareham, on the South Bridge, right on the quay. A bit lively when we arrived on Bank Holiday Sunday afternoon , but it quietened down later in the day. The bedrooms were a good standard, very comfortable, and all with a view of the quay. the pub is a bit busy, so book a table for evening meals, but the menu choice was good enough to be interesting for a three day stay. The meat on a stone presentation is recommended plus the good local beers.
The breakfast was very good with even the standard breakfast keeping me going for the day.The black pudding was great. Finally the staff were fantastic, friendly even when busy.
Park away from the quay as it is cheaper and in some places free.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the quay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatureTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed in the family room which had one double and a set of bunk beds, room was excellent with a great view of the Quay. Breakfast was also excellent and my 12 year old managed to eat the standard breakfast and even the black pudding
Had an evening meal both nights of our stay, can not fault any of the food, the "Black rock" grill is a great idea which we all enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rseller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Went to the Quay Inn last night with my husband and two friends. We received a very warm welcome and went to our reserved table. On looking at the menu I was a little sceptical as it read like a Brewers Fayre kind of menu. However I was pleased to see there were scallops on the menu to start with. I then selected their Black Rock Fillet steak which you cook yourself on a hot stone. Well it certainly didn't taste like a Brewers Fayre menu; it was delicious as was all the food we selected. We also drank a fair bit of very nice wine. Afterwards we went and listened to their open mic session, which, courtesy of a young talented lady, was brilliant. All in all a fantastic evening, thank you Quay Inn. Just make your menu look a little more exclusive to do justice to your fabulous inn.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were looking for a cost effective place to stay in Wareham for 6 people on different salaries and thought The Quay Inn looked really nice and had great reviews. We stayed overnight in one of the doubles and thought it was very clean, modern bathroom, tastefully decorated and had lovely views and a comfy bed!. We ate in their restaurant that night and found the food excellent and staff very friendly. The breakfast was first class, good quality ingredients with black pudding and fried bread, amongst baked beans, mushrooms, sausage, eggs etc..or you could have something much lighter if you weren't upto that much food, you could have a standard size or a large full english, believe me the large was massive. Very impressed overall and will return. Thank you for making our stay really great as the weather was rubbish!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#8 of 23 in Wareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#12 of 23 in Wareham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Inn

Property: The Quay Inn
Address: The Quay, Wareham BH20 4LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Quay Inn Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing