We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Response!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The silent Woman Inn

The silent Woman Inn
Ranked #31 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Response!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I visit The Silent Woman whenever we are back in the UK and were there on Sunday. As it was such a nice day we were intent on sitting in the garden ( which are beautiful ). However we has to abandon this idea as the noise and fumes that were coming from a nearby motocross or scramble were so overpowering we had to move inside. Even here you could still be aware of the noise. We enjoyed our lovely lunch and were very impressed with the way the management and staff accommodated everyone that wanted to stay, despite the noise!
With regard to the previous "review", are these people sure that the person they spoke to was the landlord or landlady?
Maybe it was one of the 40 or 50 residents that live in the residential estate at the rear of the pub, some of whom were inthe bar during the lunchtime!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Espani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    79
    27
    24
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude owners”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Had heard good reviews about this place regarding food etc and being local to Bournemouth and having family in the purbecks, well we headed over to watch the motocross today and couldn't find it..so pulled in to the car park to ask directions ..... When we politely asked what we presume was the owner was told..... Find it yourself!!!! So rude and we were so shocked, when we said there's no need to be rude the landlady shrugged and walked off, you can hear it can't you? So basically find it yourself!!! we will never wish to visit this place to eat or drink and will be advising peeps to stay away due to the complete rudeness of the owners.... Disgusting! We only asked directions,, if they have issues with the motor cross there is no reason to take it out on the general public! Terrible !

Helpful?
7 Thank Lelly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly dog pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very friendly landlord and landlady, dogs welcome and great service. Can be expensive but food home cooked.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming UK pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Silent Woman, originally a smugglers haunt, is located in a beautiful setting in Wareham Forest. Legend claims it once had a Landlady who talked too much and gave away the smugglers' secrets in Wareham market place. Fearful of capture by the ever-present Excise Men, the smugglers silenced her by cutting out her tongue! Guests can sit at picnic tables in the pleasant grounds or enjoy the atmosphere of a lovely British pub inside with its many decorative horse brasses, beams, etc. We visited with another couple and each of us ordered a different entree. These were cooked to order and were brought to the table attractively presented, tasty and extremely satisfying. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely return to The Silent Woman.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lane27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield/Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What pub these days does not accept children”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This pub looks great, but they do not accept children, what pub these days does not. Our children eat out with us at least once a week at home so whilst on holiday perhaps even more. They know their manners and I can honestly say its the only pub I have ever known that do not accept children to eat with the parents. Don't go if you are a family. They must think that ALL children don't know how to eat out!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Tree53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The silent Woman Inn also viewed

 

Been to The silent Woman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing