We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you could wish for in a perfect...”

Review of The Chancel

The Chancel across the churchyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chancel across the churchyard
The Livingroom The Twin Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The Chancel across the churchyard
The Livingroom
The Twin Bedroom
Out the door sitting in the sun
Through the arched window!
Through another arched window!
Dinner for 6
Start another day watching birds during breakfast
Just arrived - clean kitchen!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wareham, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eures1994
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Everything you could wish for in a perfect weekend break”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My parents and I wanted somewhere to stay whilst visiting family at Bere Regis and this proved perfect in every way. From having breakfast in the superbly kitted out kitchen and watching the birds at the bird table (it took us two days to identify the spotted woodpecker) to being seated round the large dining room table playing games, the house has lots to offer all the family. Part of a refurbished church with a stunning living room window the ground floor bedroom and en suite bathroom was ideal for my elderly parents while I had a choice of the other two first floor bedrooms and bathroom. The instructions that Chris sent about the house and how to get there were spot on and the house was spotless! My parents are still talking about their weekend away (celebrating their 60th wedding anniversary) and I was really happy that everything had gone so smoothly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A unique, welcoming property.”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had never stayed in a church before but it was carefully redesigned to give spacious, user friendly, warm accommodation. The churchyard, which could be seen from the breakfast table in the kitchen, was full of birds and there was even a bird table and seed available. It gave the impression of being a well loved second home. I would have given it a "5" but the television reception let it down. We don't settle in front of the box until about 9pm but we do like to watch it uninterrupted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort of the place
Liked least: Television
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Good Stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

As on the previous occasion when we stayed at The Chancel. last year, we had a great time.
The accommodation was well appointed and it's location was ideal for exploring the Dorset area. There is plenty to do and see in the region, with enough choice to satisfy both young and old visitors alike.
On fine evenings it was nice to sit outside in the garden and relax.
Since last year the mobile phone coverage has now increased to 4G (for the Vodaphone network anyway).
The rooms were light and airy and the property provided all you could wish for as a holiday base.
I would thoroughly recommend The Chancel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: locatiom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICHARD B
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place, great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We are a family of 6 and this was our usual last minute booking. Dorset is very popular and there wasn't much availability by the time we booked. The Chancel is exactly as described. It is excellent value. There is plenty of space, 2 bathrooms (1 ensuite), lots of kitchen crockery. The upstairs gallery sitting room is very light and airy. The Chancel is a great base for exploring East Dorset. It is only 20-30 minutes from Studland. Corfe Castle, Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door, and Lulworth Castle are 15-20 minutes away. The Bovington Tank Museum and Monkey World are 5 minutes away. Nearest shops are in Wareham (10 mins) or Wool (5 mins). Whilst The Chancel is situated just between a main road and a train track, it isn't an issue. We actually took bicycles and cycling out the back of The Chancel over the railway track, you find yourself on lovely quiet lanes. I went running 3 times along the lanes, too. The only observation re The Chancel would be that it does need a dust! Maybe because it is a converted church with the high ceilings its not an easy task. Also, there was a bit of road noise. We couldn't really open our bedroom window at night as it kept me awake (I am a light sleeper).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Galleried sitting room, location
Liked least: Dust and road noise
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W
Overton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstandingly well equipped and full of character in a beautiful situation”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were myself and my wife, our daughter and her two children aged 7 and 5. We thought the conversion to a home was excellent. The accommodation was spacious and very well equipped. All you could reasonably need for a holiday was there, and though the parking was a bit tight for two cars no problem arose in practice. There's a pleasant garden to sit in and for children to play in.

The kitchen and its equipment is excellent, Beds are comfortable. Having a bathroom and a shower room, both with loos, is very useful for a family. The dining area which is also the entrance hall is quite spacious, and the lounge upstairs even more so.

Chris provides first-rate guidance and instructions about everything.

We'd definitely recommend The Chancel and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Character, spaciousness and equipment
Liked least: Shaver socket upstairs not working
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnorCA
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accommodation great location”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Chancel is idyllic. A fabulous conversion with beautiful stained glass windows and very cosy. Accommodation had all you would need and is in a perfect location for visting many of the Dorset attractions. A very lovely few days over Easter

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noniehump...
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had an amazing short break at The Chancel - everything we wanted/needed was there (and more!). It feels like you are staying in a friends house rather than a holiday rental, and we quickly felt at home. The kitchen is well equipped with plenty of plates etc (not just the usual one per person), and there are lots of games and DVD's provided for if you need them. The pre-stamped post cards are a nice touch, and go to show just how personal this rental feels. We will definitely be back again as there is so much to explore in the local area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing