We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Halfway Inn

The Halfway Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Halfway Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely food and environment, friendly staff, easy location with plenty of parking would certainly go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your visit.Sorry we have been unable to respond until now but we were only given access to the Tripadvisor page today 24.06.14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    166
    74
    37
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
210 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Went on a sunny Friday evening without booking. There was space so we had starters and mains only. Good choice of food and when it came it was very tasty. It has been recently done up and apparently the owners have only been there two weeks, they had come from a pub in Sturminster Marshall, so if you read bad reviews prior to May 2014, then the owners are different now. I would recommend it and it is a good location if you are heading between Wareham and Swanage.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SKKBmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We have just obtained management status for the Tripadvisor page today 23.06.14.
Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are glad you enjoyed your visit , and hope to see you again soon when you are visiting Corfe Castle or Swanage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Redecorating ready for new manager!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

When we visited the decorators were in ready for a new manager . I hope the new one was a s customer focused as the lad from South Africa . Always good value food and helpful staff .It is very good because you can always park a big consideration these days . Corfe Castle is a nightmare . If you manage to find a space in the square you are looking at your watch in case the wardens are "income collecting " for the council.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“evening meal with friends”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

under new management - booked table not ready - after 30 minutes put on different table - 45 mins after arriving given menu - another 20 mins nobody came to take order husband when to bar at 8.35 over an hour after arriving to be told chef was packing up - very stressed waitress came over and took order. further 10 mins passed came back told had run out of yet another starter - very poor menu choice not what you would expect from this pub. Main courses very bland and very poorly presented. There are many good country pubs in Dorset this is not now one of them! Such a shame. Landlady took our money and was aware of problems as we had been asked but no an apology given. sorry would have gone a long way to entice us to give it another try. Other people also were not happy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pettitejac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is the third time we've been to this delightful Pub and each time it has been a very pleasant experience. We went as a family to celebrate my Grandaughters 6th birthday, made very welcome and very child friendly, food was delicious and staff lovely, I'm sure we will be going back in the near future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing