We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Pub Grub”
Review of The Halfway Inn

The Halfway Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Halfway Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Pleasant Pub Grub”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stopped off here on our way back from Studland Bay to have a bite to eat. There was a nice varied menu. Not too much, not too little.

I went for the beef burger with chips and my wife went for the Devon Crab Salad.

The beef burger was as you would expect. The Crab salad, in our opinion was heavily weighted on the lettuce. Minimal amounts of tomato or cucumber. The crab was nice. It was as advertised but it would have been nicer had there been more interest in the salad

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kernowlad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your comments we are glad that you liked the choices and size of the menu.

We have taken on board your criticism of the dressed crab salad. It is generally made simply with local Dorset Baby leaves, cherry vine tomatoes, red onions and cucumber to complement the crab. We serve the lemon mayonnaise in a separate pot so that you can add as much or as little as you prefer to go with the salad. We choose not to add peppers or radishes to the salad as these strong flavours could distract from the delicate taste of the crab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    171
    77
    37
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have driven past this Pub on many occasions over the past few years and often thought we should stop and try the food.
On Sunday we had been on our usual walk around Worth Matravers. We didn't go to our normal stop (the excellent Square and Compass) for a pasty but decided to try the Halfway.
Bad decision!
Arriving at the Pub all the inside tables were reserved so after ordering ( 1 Roast Turkey, 1 sausage and mash, 1 Scampi and chips and 1 Burger and chips) we sat outside and waited...and waited.. Eventually a waitress came and asked if we had ordered food. When it came it was very poor. It had obviously been waiting in the kitchen for a time. Every item was luke warm/cold. The so called gravy on the sausage and mask was both oily and waterary at the same time (no mean feat) The 'mash' appeared to have been made with disks of potato hours previously. It was lumpy and tasteless. The gravy was cold and had a film of skin over it.The peas were OK!.
The roast consisted of a couple of slices of turkey, no trimmings, no stuffing, no Yorkshire pudding. It was accompanied by some over cooked french beans and what appeared to be the diced swede and carrots which you had with school dinners. It had a couple of roast potatoes (Aunt Bessie's finest) and again the waterary cold gravy.
The scampi was fine and the burger and chips was exactly that, a burger with some chips and a small serving of very plain handmade coleslaw. We had a pint of beer and two soft drinks.
The whole experience cost just short of £40.
No staff member followed up by asking us how our meals were etc.
We admit we should have complained but we were already tight for time and to be honest any professional chef/cook etc. would have known the food was so poor when they sent it out!
I guess we will go back to driving past this pub to and from our favourite walk!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Moorland1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to The Halfway Inn. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meals on this occasion.
You visited on Sunday 15th June at about 6.30pm when we were very busy.As you stated all the tables inside were booked out. We served over 100 roast dinners on that day and are very disappointed that you did not enjoy yours. We make our gravy from stock and roast our own potatoes in duck fat. The turkey should have been accompanied by stuffing and a Yorkshire pudding and hot gravy. We apologise if yours was not.
Unfortunately it is not always possible to offer a check-back service to outside customers when we are operating at capacity inside. This may also account for the delay in you meals being served but this should have been explained to you when you placed the order and we are sorry if this was not the case.
We have checked back on our till and our records show that you specified "Just a plain burger in a bun" when ordering your meals. Hence this is what we served. Our Butchers own burgers usually have lettuce, tomato, red onion, mayonnaise and spicy tomato chutney in the bun too!
There is no excuse for lumpy mash and we have taken steps to ensure this does not happen again. Once again Thank you for taking the time to comment and we assure you that this constructive criticism will be used to improve our service in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What's happened to this pub”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

For many years we have visited as a couple and with family. Always good. However this year it was sadly very poor. My meal of pie with veg consisted of cabbage stalks as veg. Even the waitress admitted it was unacceptable. Sons dinner of lasagne was so poor we sent it back. Apologies sent and excuse was they thought it was for a child!!! The new one was mince with melted cheese on!! He was offered a free drink. Choose apple juice and was given half a glass. We left. Will we return sadly no. Plenty of decent food available in pubs in surrounding area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank peapodSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to The Halfway Inn in May.
We only took over this pub at the beginning of the month, and despite having 30 years experience in other pubs we did inherit some problems on changeover. We are confident that these are now being ironed out and that our food has improved and will consistently be of a high standard in future.
The only apple juice that we stock is Frobishers Cloudy Apple which comes in a 250ml bottle - if served in the correct Frobisher glass it would have been full.We feel you may have been served this drink in an inappropriate glass . Please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very excellent meals and good value for money. Staff are polite and helpful. Plenty parking can sit anywhere in the pub for meals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. we are glad that you enjoyed excellent meals and felt they were good value too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ate here 3 times over a short visit”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Staying very locally so the location of the pub was excellent. Lamb Koftas, fish cakes - returned 2 more times as the food was nice, chef was visible, clean, enthusiastic, friendly (not that common at all). Some food was excellent, some middle of the road but none bad. Dog friendly, chatty pleasant staff, welcoming. Would visit again without a thought.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for commenting, 3 visits on one trip to the area is recommendation in itself!
Dogs are welcome throughout the pub and gardens at The Halfway Inn....there is even a jar of gravy bones on the bar for our four footed customers...provided they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing