We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing return visit”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Having previously enjoyed several visits for lunch and short break overnight stays at The Priory we decided to pop in for afternoon tea on the terrace at about 3.30p.m. whilst in the area. My husband was dressed in long shorts and smart collared shirt and I was wearing a skirt and blouse. However, we were immediately struck by the hostility and arrogance of the staff who made us feel most unwelcome and uncomfortable, and we therefore decided to only order a pot of tea for two with homemade biscuits.

The setting is of course beautiful and on previous visits we have found it very relaxing, but we most certainly shall not be returning to The Priory purely on the attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank SurreyHappyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Priory Hotel is not cheap and does not have leisure facilities, but who cares!

What you get is a peaceful and relaxing stay in a gorgeous location, friendly and attentive staff and excellent meals.

This is the seventh successive year my wife and I have stayed here so apologies if this review seems biased.

Our first five stays were early in the year to coincide with my wife's birthday but last year we discovered a new experience. Breakfast on the terrace! So this year we waited with baited breath for decent weather. 3 breakfasts on the terrace and we were in heaven!

Pre dinner drinks and canapes on the terrace were an added bonus and the dinners in the atmospheric cellar dining room were as wonderful as usual!

Our room was quiet, well furnished and equiped and we found the bed to be the most comfortable we have ever found in an hotel.

One afternoon whilst sitting in a deck chair on the lawn having tea and biscuits, the boatman who runs river trips from Wareham Quay passed by and described The Priory Hotel to his passengers as the most exclusive and luxurious hotel in Wareham. I believe he undersold the hotel. You would have to go a lot further afield to find an hotel comparable.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the in the boathouse (most expensive of course) after that try the superior rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeRivermead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

If you would like to have an 'Experience', as opposed to just a meal, then you should not be disappointed with this venue. from the minute you enter through the electronic gates to the moment you leave you are cosseted in luxurious surroundings with top rate food. I have friends who have stayed in the boat house too who said that although above the price bracket of many 5 star establishments they were still happy to have stayed. This is an Experience venue that you will remember and refer back to for years to come so if you can afford it then you will find it lives up to it's billing.

Room Tip: The Boat House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkPrincess24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed in the boat house at the Priory Hotel. Very private and we loved the location by the river and relaxing in our own sittingroom. We were generally very pleased with the hotel but surprised they did not provide slippers for guests (a small thing but annoying) and also the standard of the breakfast varied - great on the first two days of our stay and very average on the final day (very greasy croissants). We ate in the restaurant on one evening - not a great experience given the price.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the boathouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This feels like home (unfortunately, not my home). Quiet, comfortable and established...The gardens are lovely and if the weather had been better it would have been nice to have a drink and gaze at the river. Bedroom comfortable, bathroom small but adequate. Food and service knowledgable and well prepared - no complaints. A good place to stay for a night or too...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aynne39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Fantastic stay here for business...expensive but excellent value for money - stunning spacious suite with enormous bathroom - easily get 6 of you in the room lenght shower :), massive old copper jacuzzi bath, wonderful lounges and communial areas - breakfast in the sun on the terrace with the roses and ducks was a treat! Friendly attentive staff that called me by name throughout my stay, beautiful gardens and strolls along the river. Yes, at 30 i was probably the youngest guest by about 35 years, but if you're looking for a somewhere as a special treat this is it - fantastic.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are small and suffer from 'coming and going' noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tetchy186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This hotel must be rated among the best England can produce. It is not cheap but then the best will never be.
Where does one start, set in an ancient town in Dorset ,next to the parish church, it is quintessentially English.
An ancient Nunnery or Priory, has been adapted into a wonderful hotel.
However buildings are one thing, and it is the staff who put the finishing touches to a glorious vacation, or possibly a working stay, Wi fi is free.
I cannot praise this hotel enough,having stayed in the worlds best, I can say this deserves to be up there, just do not expect the delights of 24/7 food and drinks, casinos lifts etc. just good old fashioned English hospitality.
I can honestly say I have never stayed in better

Stayed: May 2013
4  Thank exfarmersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
3.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
991 reviews
1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
489 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,267 reviews
7 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: Church Green, Wareham BH20 4ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: £216 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Wareham
The Priory Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing