We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world class, service and charm!”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Superior room 3, 360 for a night inclusive of excellent dinner and breakfast for two. Slightly stuffy at first but nothing too much trouble, maybe the best old world small country hotel I have ever visited! Impress a traditional friend or older relation, leave the kids at home though. The gardens and river frontage stunning and charming.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gedders66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

This Hotel hits all the spots , if your fed up with glitz , and bling , settle in here and you will be totally pampered and relaxed , just like being at home.I adore this place and its superb gardens , its location and staff are beyond description, superb does not do it justice !

Room Tip: all rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A friend treated me to lunch at The Priory for my birthday. The setting is glorious: heritage buildings, gorgeous Dorset cottage gardens with a lawn which slopes down to the river - all the better for watching the world float by.
The service was good and the food was well-presented, interesting and tasty. I don't particularly enjoy being singled out as a result of being vegetarian but I think this was just friendly banter and the waiter was actually very 'on the ball' and alerted me to the undisclosed anchovy in the tapenade so I could order accordingly.
We enjoyed it all so much that we stayed for afternoon tea (be warned - you have to phone ahead to secure a raisin free scone!).
It is a peaceful, picture postcard spot that also seems to transport you to a gentle, bygone English era, as if we had stumbled onto the set of a Miss Marple. I would definitely recommend The Priory to locals looking to unwind; those holidaying in lovely Dorset in the hope of enjoying 'lashings of ginger beer' and to anyone hosting visitors to England as the deck-chairs and scones on the lawn captured a very romantic, unashamedly rose-tinted view of English life.
Great for enjoying Pimms O'Clock and a smart looking wine list but the cider menu did seem to be a relic from the 70s and not really up to scratch for the West Country.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Fussyvegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I took 5 Malaysian visitors to the Priory as a treat for a Ritzy cream tea which was a new experience for most of them. You have to book this special cream tea 48 hours in advance and although the lady I spoke too was very pleasant on the phone I did feel it was being pedantic to refuse 2 extra cups for the 5 cream teas we ordered at £19.95 each! We had to order 2 extra teas! I know from experience the tea is enormous and 5 portions is more than enough for 7 people. Our table on the terrace was fully laid up when we arrived and with white napkins and a white table cloth it looked very glamorous overlooking the lawn and the river. The Polish lady who served us was very smiley but forgot to ask what sort of tea we wanted and most wanted Earl Gray rather than English breakfast tea as no one took milk in their tea. She replaced the pots with Earl Gray with no fuss. At the end she gave us containers to take away the excess food as it was too much for us all to eat. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented. The gardens are a treat at the Priory so accept the extorinate price pays for a garden visit and a glamourous location. Cream teas are £3.95 in the National Trust tea rooms in Corfe Castle!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank BobH764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We haven't been to the Priory for some time and we are sorry that we haven't made the time to do so. We have been visiting this delightful corner of Dorset for 20 years now and it never fails to delight. Lunch on the terrace by the river is just fabulous and Giles looked after us very well. Do not miss this quintessential British treat if you are in the area and we hope to be back soon. Thanks also to the chef for sharing a recipe with us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ishouldbedancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

WE spent two days here whilst exploring the surrounding area. Our room was of the superior grad and was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were great but the evening meal was out of this world. They have an excellent chef who is to be commended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

At least its possible to spot the spurious reviews, for example the one from billyh151, that's if you can translate it into English.

The Priory Hotel offers good service, perfect location and great food. No complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
3.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
964 reviews
1.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
5.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#3 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
7.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
473 reviews
8.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: Church Green, Wareham BH20 4ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: £220 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Wareham
The Priory Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing