We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel with great food”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here after the valentines taster evening.
The menu was excellent and it was so good to be in the atmosphere of a tastefully decorated cellar as the storm raged outside
We slept in the boathouse, very comfortable with a separate lounge area. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath.
All the staff were attentative and welcoming.
One small point, we should have guessed we would be in a separate building to the main house, as it was the boathouse, but we made it across between the showers.
We will return again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joules20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Excellent food and wine with excellent service in the restaurant. Huge choice for breakfast with friendly service in the Garden Room. Would definitely return here - even if just to eat in the restaurant!

Room Tip: We were upgraded but the room (1) seemed smaller than the one I originally booked (based on the webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent, a very wet and windy, New Year here. Lovely room (room 7) and well appointed. marvellous tasting menu for New Year and lovely atmosphere. Were we the only ones there who had not been before? New Years day most people did not leave the hotel as the weather was appalling but the 2 lounges, burning fire and antiques made it a cosy place to be reading and resting all day. Excellent service. Lovely garden when not part of the River Frome! Recommended friends to go to stay or even just for a meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We dropped into this wonderful hotel by accident for a pot of tea and fell in love with it. There was a welcoming log fire in the lounge which we sat next to. The room was filled with many antiques to admire, the staff very friendly, our tea and homemade biscuits delicious . It was a very enjoyable visit and we will be returning in the summer to sit in the back garden by the river.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Albinoni900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked Xmas lunch in June of this year even before the menu was available. 2013 was our first Xmas away from home and to come to The Priory was an absolute delight. The staff were so friendly, the Xmas atmosphere was first class. Our meal in the Abbots Cellar restaurant was beautiful to say the least. Worth every penny and 'a must' if you want to make that special day extra special.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Only a one night stay for us but a lovely secluded location next to the Church with wonderful grounds even in late Autumn. The place is full of character and charm. The staff were very friendly and helpful during our short stay. Dinner was excellent and in line with the Priory's reputation and breakfast was also excellent. Whether the waistline could take several nights at this level is another matter! It is expensive but worth it for a special treat

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is extremely good. The staff are welcoming and the rooms and gardens are lovely. Dining was a little disappointing in retrospect - our halibut was dry and obviously overcooked. Breakfast was disappointing, the bacon was extremely greasy and the sausages gristly. Other than that we would have been extremely happy with our stay if it wasn't for the price. £360.00 for a moderately sized hotel room and dinner is a lot. If you take away the cost of dinner for two at, let's say, £70.00 that still leaves £290.00. I'd have given this four stars if the total package had been less than £250.00.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michaelo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
3.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
1.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
5.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
7.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
473 reviews
8.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: Church Green, Wareham BH20 4ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: £219 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Wareham
The Priory Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing