We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb dining experience.”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Whilst staying with friends in Wareham, we booked for dinner on the recommendation of another friend.
We were not disappointed!
This place is very special.
The building is rich in history and is beautifully kept; stunning grounds and flowers everywhere.
The staff were very friendly and approachable; we were made to feel welcome from the moment we entered.
Pre-dinner drinks whilst reviewing the menu were served with complimentary hors d'Oeuvres which were lovely.
After the part of 8 of us made our choices, we sat, relaxed and chatted until the waiter came to summons us to go to the restaurant.
The ambience in the restaurant was charming and the table presentation on beautiful white linen with linen napkins was exemplary.
Service was excellent and the food was superb; empty plates from all from start to finish.
Coming from London, the cost per head was no more than we would pay in a local restaurant for a far less impressive meal!
Definitely want to return - already looking at the website for any offers that might make spending a night in this wonderful find an option !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    58
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
52
207
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

In the 36 years that we have been visiting, absolutely nothing has changed at this hotel, including many of the staff. There has to be a reason, and I think it's all to do with the pace of life, relaxation and enjoyment.

This is not a business hotel. You come here to walk around the beautiful gardens, to sit outside on the lawn overlooking the small craft meandering upstream to Wareham and downstream to Poole, to have a chilled glass of Champagne with a lobster lunch, or just to sit and read a few chapters of your latest novel in peace and solitude.

Everywhere are flowers, with the entrance courtyard at the front being particularly lovely, hanging baskets and tubs galore.

Rooms are comfortable but not all large. This is a very old building and working with listed status must have presented innumerable challenges. However the views either over the lawns and river or towards the picturesque Church at the rear will never disappoint.

The best is kept for the food. All is local, but the presentation is immaculate. Crisp white tablecloths, huge napkins, sensible rather than trendy crockery.

Visit on a Wednesday night and Adrian mixes a mean Whisky Sour, doubles of everything. On other evenings you may have Nick, who being a farmers son, and now somewhat past the age for being a member of Young Farmers, is somewhat more parsimonious with the alcohol.

After choosing from the menu outside you will be summoned by Head waiter David with the words, 'The Cellar awaits, and everything is ready for you' making it sound more like a wild party venue than the charming restaurant space carved out from the original cellars of the Priory that it actually is.

If you're looking for a hotel in a beautiful environment with excellent food, friendly and professional service, then this is the one for you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMH_and_GFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Me and my partner are regular visitors to "Pride of Britain Hotels" and we both agree that the Priory is right up there in the top 3 that we have visited thus far, the last 2 or 3 we have visited have been somewhat of a letdown but i have held off writing negative reviews as i try to be more positive when reviewing.

The hotel itself is very old world charm and very clean throughout with wonderful gardens to stroll around in, the nice little town of Wareham is a 100 yard walk away.

The rooms are done out very nicely a small downside is you have to boil the kettle on the floor as the lead doesnt reach down to the sockets on the wall, you could call it quirky i suppose, a thing i do find annoying in every hotel i seem to stay in and the Priory is no exception is the need for the showerhead to be descaled,the showers never strong enough and you can see the heads blocked maybe theres a business opportunity there!!

We ate dinner in the restaurant, lovely food with very extensive menu with attentive staff.

One thind i did notice was plaques around the hotel saying "best this 1986" "recomended that 2007" etc etc, i personally think these awards etc are a bit dated and the hotel is that good they dont need these thing lying around saying look we won something 26 years ago !!



All in all a very pleasant stay if and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macca7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A fantastic dining experience from start to finish.curtesy attention to detail, brilliant attentive staff and a truly wonderful evening.After experiencing so many disappointing meals out of late the priory was like a breath of fresh air.The food was cooked to perfection and worth every penny.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dickamatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My business partner and I stayed at The Priory and ate at the restaurant located in it basement with the resultant bill paid at the time of checkout. Having perused the unappealing wine list prior to eating we purchased a bottle from a nearby merchant. Nowhere, either in the hotel or in the restaurant, was there an indication that only wines purchased from The Priory could be consumed. Part-way through the meal a waiter requested we refrain from continuing to consume the wine and told us to place the bottle out of sight, a request with which we complied. We thought that was the end of the matter but, sadly, we were mistaken.

Within about an hour after checking-out of The Priory the owner telephoned our employer, a Footsie 100 blue-chip headquartered in London, to complain about the consumption of our choice of wine. This outrageous call was designed to inflict harm on us both. We have never before experienced such a vindictive attitude as the one we experienced at The Priory so, needless to say, we now stay elsewhere with the nearby Limestone in West Lulworth being a firm favourite.

Room Tip: Check for noisy floorboards before accepting the room offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank UndercoverResearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very nice, quite small Hotel. A beautiful garden with perfectly kept lawn. The hotel is situated at the bank of the River Frome. On our 7-day-trip around West- and Southwest-England this war the Hotel with the best value-for-money-Ratio! We enjoyed twice really excellent dinner in der nice Restaurant in the old wine cellar of the Priory. A place to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merapeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Yes, this "review" is dated and I cannot comment on exactly what transpires today. I felt I needed to counter several recent reviews which were based on the wanting a different expereince. But, and this is important, my experiences were somewhat similar to recent ones, I just approached my stay differently. I loved this property but it needs "context" to appreciate it. Although the date says "July 2013" my stays were between 2006 and 2010. This is rural England and I doubt much has changed.

If you want a Holiday Inn sized business room with a desk, WiFi, and a car park outside, go elsewhere. If you want a trip back in time, a comfortable, albeit smal room, an enchanting property in any season, and food to die for, then The Priory is for you. Business? Look beyond the the small rooms and the WiFi (which was spotty in my time). Think of how you can entertain your client.

I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
1.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
3.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
7.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
24.3 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: Church Green, Wareham BH20 4ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Wareham
The Priory Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing