We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gem of Dorset”

Abbots Cellar Restaurant at Priory Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bournemouth, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Gem of Dorset”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We in Dorset aren't really blessed with many excellent Michelin starred style eateries.

The Priory at Wareham however bucks this trend with superb British cuisine, a very nice wine cellar, and to make the experience complete, fantastic and unobtrusive service.

Thank you to all the staff that work so hard, ensuring a great experience again and again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank planetnumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    20
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A very pleasant tea and pastries after a fine walk”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After a short round trip walk up the frome along the causeway popped into the priory albeit in the morning for tea/coffee and pastries. It being end of season and a bit wet the night before outside tables were wet but we wanted to sit outside and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, drying off table and chairs and providing cushions. THe setting is beautiful overlooking the mooring on the Frome and the building itself is a joy. Teadition meets comfort in these surroundings and I would imagine its a great place to stay as well albeit towards top end of the market but well worth it. Anyway we settled for tea (earl grey), coffee and a selection of pastries to satiate our desires for a little light refreshment after a delightful stroll. Pastries were exceptional, just right fresh baked on and heated and supplied with excellent tea and I believe the coffees were also good. Milk and cream supplied to ones taste. All in all an excellent experience all added to by the very friendly welcome from the lady on reception, just the right attitude in the right place with the right food and drinks. We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenzburg
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

First, we were invited to have a cocktail in the parlour of the hotel, while having a look at the menu. A short while after we ordered, we were invited to the dining room, where we had a superb dinner. The recomended wine complemented perfectly the excellent food. Highly recommendable!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A dining experience”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Service at the Priory is excellent. You are invited into either the bar or lounge for a pre dinner drink whilst perusing the menu and the wine list. The Dining Room at the Priory is downstairs in the cellar so there is little natural light.. Food and wine were both first class the waitress was attentive but not excessively. Prices are pretty high so one needs a good reason for going.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BryanMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A wonderful whole meal experience”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Dorset days don't get better than this.

We arrived at The Priory Hotel by boat under clear blue skies. Having tied up at the hotel's jetty on the River Frome we walked across the immaculate lawns to our table under a green umbrella on the flagstone terrace. The view back across the river and water meadows to Creech on the Purbeck hills was straight out of a promotional travelogue. Where we ate was probably as near to Tuscany in feel as is possible in northern Europe.

The table was laid with crisp white linen and perfectly placed cutlery. My napkin was unfolded for me and placed on my lap. Now this is what we like - the old traditional approach. It cannot be beaten.

The personable waiting staff are immaculate sporting morning suit trousers, crisp white shirts and silk grey ties. Iced water is automatically offered and a variety of breads are brought to the table.

Meritorious house rules include "minimum dress code smart-casual," "children accepted over 8 years for meals," and "no dogs (guide dogs only)." All of these we loudly applaud. Others must agree as the terrace was full.

The food? My delicate smoked chicken cesar salad with parmesan, croutons and anchovies (£8.25) was absolutely delicious. This was followed by rib eye of Devon red beef, rissole potatoes, fine beans, vine tomatoes, oyster mushroom and tarragon sauce (£21.95). The tender beef was generous in portion size and perfectly cooked saignant. Each of the accompaniments too blended perfectly into an excellent whole.

We finished with coffees - accompanied by some intricate petite fours. Again tradition wins.

I have previously visited after dark and had never seen the extensive ornamental gardens before. Make sure you don't leave without exploring. You won't be disappointed.

Back on the boat as we set course for Poole we vowed to return very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorsetgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbots Cellar Restaurant at Priory Hotel also viewed

 
Wareham, Dorset
 

Been to Abbots Cellar Restaurant at Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing