We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Antiquated treat”

Abbots Cellar Restaurant at Priory Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Antiquated treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Visited on a Saturday evening for dinner, and had a great time. Felt really young as many of the clientele were I think in their 60s and 70s, just an observation not a criticism! Really beautiful old hotel with two or three bar areas crammed with antique chairs and sofas, very comfy and easy to spend time just sitting and drinking, before and after eating. Food was of a high standard, a little over-seasoned in my opinion but my partner thought the seasoning was just right. I had a very nice main dish, but not a lot of it, good if you're on a diet. Having said that, I couldn't finish my pudding, which my partner ordered for me at protest. Fantastic service from start to finish. Would definitely recommend if you are looking to spend an evening with someone special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    20
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pure heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had a family Xmas lunch meal for 12. It was superb. We all had three courses and many different choices and all of us were extremely satisfied with the meal. We all had pre dinner drinks in the upstairs lounge. Very comfortable. When the meal was ready we were called to the table. We ate in the cellar restaurant and the food was first class. The staff were unobtrusive and very efficient. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant it is tucked away behind the main road and backs on to the river. An outstanding find.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Gem of Dorset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We in Dorset aren't really blessed with many excellent Michelin starred style eateries.

The Priory at Wareham however bucks this trend with superb British cuisine, a very nice wine cellar, and to make the experience complete, fantastic and unobtrusive service.

Thank you to all the staff that work so hard, ensuring a great experience again and again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank planetnumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A very pleasant tea and pastries after a fine walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

After a short round trip walk up the frome along the causeway popped into the priory albeit in the morning for tea/coffee and pastries. It being end of season and a bit wet the night before outside tables were wet but we wanted to sit outside and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, drying off table and chairs and providing cushions. THe setting is beautiful overlooking the mooring on the Frome and the building itself is a joy. Teadition meets comfort in these surroundings and I would imagine its a great place to stay as well albeit towards top end of the market but well worth it. Anyway we settled for tea (earl grey), coffee and a selection of pastries to satiate our desires for a little light refreshment after a delightful stroll. Pastries were exceptional, just right fresh baked on and heated and supplied with excellent tea and I believe the coffees were also good. Milk and cream supplied to ones taste. All in all an excellent experience all added to by the very friendly welcome from the lady on reception, just the right attitude in the right place with the right food and drinks. We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenzburg
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

First, we were invited to have a cocktail in the parlour of the hotel, while having a look at the menu. A short while after we ordered, we were invited to the dining room, where we had a superb dinner. The recomended wine complemented perfectly the excellent food. Highly recommendable!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbots Cellar Restaurant at Priory Hotel also viewed

 
Wareham, Dorset
 

Been to Abbots Cellar Restaurant at Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing