We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a review of the Garden Room, not the Abbotts Cellar”

Abbots Cellar Restaurant at Priory Hotel
Ranked #15 of 62 Restaurants in Wareham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is a review of the Garden Room, not the Abbotts Cellar”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Because of the way Trip Advisor works, I cannot review the Garden Room, which is where lunch is served. This was my second visit, and the room is pretty and overlooks the lovely gardens and river. A visit to The Priory Hotel makes a good day out. This time, the weather (late May) was not great and when we arrived we were expected and ushered to a comfy sofa by the open fire to look at the menu and have pre-lunch drinks. Soon after we sat down a member of staff came in to make sure that the fire was burning well, a lovely touch to make sure we were comfortable. Our meal, we both had two courses of fish was very good, with top quality produce well and simply cooked, and with interesting sides that were appropriate for each dish.
Good coffee and petits fours afterwards.
We did not drink any alcohol, so I cannot comment on the wine list.
This is not a cheap restaurant, but does everything well and it is good to have proper napery, service and cutlery for a change.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    20
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good duck”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Duck was very good very subtle flavour. Very comprehensive winelistThe service was excellent.We are looking forward to our next visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hawks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Leonard's East Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant in the cellar”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Love the food at this restaurant and the service is excellent. We enjoyed sitting in the comfortable drawing room with pre-dinner drinks whist making our choices from a good range on the set price menu. However, this menu does have a number of dishes that carry a supplement. The wine list is extensive and we had good recommendations from the knowledgable staff. Very comfortable with good lighting and relaxing ambiance.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bishi106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Retirement Lunch”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Good choice of food and well presented. Portions were ample for lunch. Staff were attentive but not intrusive. Lovely location. Ideal for a romantic meal or special occasion.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch as it should be”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We enjoyed a lovely celebratory Sunday lunch, there was plenty of choice and all four courses were of a very good standard. Most families seemed to be celebrating a birthday as we were. The meal is expensive so it's not somewhere to go every week, but as a special treat it's difficult to beat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbots Cellar Restaurant at Priory Hotel also viewed

 
Wareham, Dorset
 

Been to Abbots Cellar Restaurant at Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing