We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”
Review of The Quay Inn

The Quay Inn
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Do be caught like we were with the groupon deal we bought the higher price option as they advertised a separate grill menu which when we checked it out had fillet steak available. Having paid this higher price when we arrived at 7.45 (not late)we were told all the fillet steak had gone - regardless of how many people booked on the voucher the chef only bought a certain number a day. The deal is you cook your own meal on a hot stone which would have worked fine if I had had a steak but instead I had to have the mixed grill- hot stone cooking is not suitable for this chicken and burger never cooked and I ended up leaving them. On top of the disappointment of the food the service was also poor we had to wait over an hour for starters to arrive - wont be going back feel I was ripped off

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Poole14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemgem04, Manager at The Quay Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
I'm sorry that you feel you didn't have the best experience because we had run out of fillet steak. As you would of seen we were extremely busy Saturday night and had been all day. We buy all of our food fresh, on a daily basis and therefore do occasionally run out of things but, we do have many other good quality steaks and food available on our menu. If you would like to contact the management directly, you will be issued with a complimentary meal for 2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The secrets OUT what Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic evening meal ! It was beautifully cooked and presented . We stayed at their B&B accommodation again this was spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed the food that much on our way back home from Weymouth we stopped at The Quay Inn for another GREAT meal. Will be taking friends back with us next time.

2 Thank Robert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Most Enjoyable Lunch.”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from The Quay Inn having thoroughly enjoyed a Groupon meal which was given to us as a gift. The service we received and the standard of the food were both excellent especially the wonderful crab and lobster bisque starter which was a meal in itself. We have passed this Inn many times before and have not gone in as it isn't that inviting from the outside BUT having now experienced what lies within we'll certainly be going there again when we are next in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not the best in Town”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We visited for drinks only so cannot comment on the food.
The bar staff were all standing around chatting! one of the locals had to point out we were waiting! We ordered our drinks and sat down near the fire which was on so that was good. The place itself was not very clean, in fact in places it was very messy.
There was no real atmosphere in the place and the staff were certainly neither attentive or particularly friendly. The boss/manager arrived and stood behind the bar shouting out about wages and shifts. Didn't actually serve anyone.
We didn't visit again whilst we were staying in Wareham.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and good service”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a sharing platter for starters which was very very different and most enjoyable. I followed with the duck which was cooked perfectly and had a lovely jus which, although very tasty, did not overpower the duck. My husband had the fish and chips with a coriander tempura which was light, crisp and all hand cooked to perfection. The staff were friendly yet not too obtrusive in their service, great!!!

Visited October 2013
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Quay Inn also viewed


Been to The Quay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing