We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Springfield Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just had a fantastic family break at this Hotel. We were travelling as a family of 7 and stayed in to rooms which were very comfortable and well equipped. The staff were all very attentive and were superb with the kids.

The hotel has an indoor and out door pool. Due to visiting in April the outdoor one was closed. The indoor pool was nice and warm and has a jacuzzi and steam room. There is also a well equipped gym if you're feeling up to it.

Their was a great selection of food on the menu and the portion sizes are very generous. Great selection of meals for the kids to.

Overall a great break with loads to do locally!

The Marsden gang!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel was quiet and our room was spacious but the food....! There were only two other tables occupied for dinner. We ordered meat platters but the ham and turkey both tasted the same and looked as though they had been bought from a supermarket whilst the beef was a rather fatty brisket - O.K. in a carvery but not very good cold. I couldn't eat it. There wasn't much meat - most of the rather small plate was filled up with lettuce, coleslaw and a rice salad and there wasn't much taste to any of it. The following morning, lots of people appeared for breakfast and you have to ask yourself where did they have dinner. Obviously, they ate somewhere...just not at this restaurant and I don't blame them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teedee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Booked one night at this hotel to visit Monkey World, which turned out to be just 10 mins drive away. Only after booking did I read the reviews and thought oh my god what have I done! Well I needn't have worried, we had a lovely stay. It may not be the most fashionable hotel, but the clue is in the name ' country hotel', not city metropolitan hotel, so yes it does have floral carpets and curtains but it was perfectly clean throughout-from reception to our room, the breakfast room and dining room, to the bar and leisure suite. My husband and I have the pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi all to ourselves. Our bedroom was spacious and had a balcony which overlooked the gardens.We ate at the hotel in the evening and for breakfast; our evening meals of fillet beef stroganoff and rump steak with accompanying assorted veg and potatoes, were piping hot,totally delicious and more than we could eat. The breakfast consisted of a cold buffet selection plus a choice of hot breakfasts cooked to order. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a totally enjoyable stay, we shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DENISE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Went here through Wowcher - oh dear! The hotel is really in need of an update. Our room was lovely and big - that was the best bit. As other people have said, the food wasn't great, and there was no music for the evening meal, so no atmosphere whatsoever, and we felt like the staff were waiting to snatch your plate away. I didn't bother going in the indoor pool. One sauna was broken and the other one was occupied, so went in the steam room. The jacuzzi had broken tiles around it, so avoided that too. Also saw the old van in the car park. Would not go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonshaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

If you are a wowcher voucher guest...Beware!!!
Ok so on arrival the hotel look rather pleasent and has rather alot of parking spaces for the number of rooms and even caters for scrap vans. My partner and i made our way towards the reception while having a joke about the randomness of a scrap van being in the car park and was this a sign of things to come, maybe i should of left the car park then. Instead we carried on through the rather dingy and dated reception area and was met by a rather sweet girl who took us to our room but was unable to engage in a conversation and the lift journey was, well, awkward to say the least (im use to high customer service skills). Our voucher entitled us to an executive room with dual ended bath, seperate shower cubicle, breakfast and a bottle of champers if we ate dinner. Our room was unfortunately a superior room, so i rang down to reception who informed me i was indeed in an executive room just not one with a dual bath as that room wasn;t available as the family in the room the night before had pee'd the bed....oh dear!! Not completely sure i was being told the truth i then went directly to their own site that quite clearly states that executive rooms are on ground and first floor levels sporting a dual ended bath, seperate shower cubicle and patio or balcony and sleeps four. Superior rooms were on the second floor sporting a shower over the bath and sleeps two....our room!! This time i went directly to the receptionist K*** and asked again about the room and yet again she tried to tell me i was in a executive room, it was only when i told her i had done my homework that she then backtracked and told me she wasn't able to deal with the problem and needed another staff members help who wasn;t unfortunately on shift but could be contacted via a mobile. She asked me to go use the spa facilities while i waited....several hours later i went back to reception to be faced with a two girls who told me there was no manager on duty to help, no one to autherise any change, no executive rooms left, they had no idea what wowcher was as they had not been informed by the manager and just said sorry.....lets just say i had to leave reception before i showed myself up as i found this unexceptable customer care!!! It seems that it wasn't just the receptionist that lack in customer service skills as the breakfast staff also talk like they live in the stone age and you Do Not want to be late for breakfast as the lady has her watch on timer and the moment the second strikes she is packing it away like her job depends on it.
Do not try to swim in the outdoor pool.....i have never seen such a GreeN pond...sorry pool in all my years. It was disgusting, it didn't look like water it looked like soup!!!
The bar area and lounge area made me feel like i was shopping in DFS Land of Leathers, cream, blue and green leather sofa's lots of them!!
The carpets are dated, threadbare and the stairs is just awful, you wouldn't want a room next to them unless your deaf.
The bar and resturant upstairs is not open despite advertising it opens at 6pm.
The place is a mass of corridors and stairs and nothing is signposted so you could end up anywhere but there is definately doors for you to go through, just might not be the right way.
Spa facilities are of average condition, broken edges around the jucuzi, window sill was falling off, the sauna was out of order but they have two so we got to use it..phew!
I must say the friendliest person was infact the maid who said a genuine nice hello. That speaks volumes to me.
No such offer of any compensation for the hassle caused and niether did they want to acknowledge any fault and told us to take any complaints up with wowcher......im sure it was the hotel who f'd up not wowcher?!?
Make your own mind up but for the amount you spend on your rooms and the facilities there is alot more out there for your money...this isn't one of them!!

Room Tip: Can't fault the rooms as they are clean but you must like cherry wood furniture and take your wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, Hotel is a little old fashioned and in need of updating, but comfortable. Breakfast was okay. Evening meal was the worst meal I've eated - ever!!! - don't waste your £27.50 per head on this rubbish.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Average! And a Little Tied!

Bedrooms furnished pleasantly, Main hotel areas very tied and old fashioned. Tread bear Carpets especially on stairs, lift out of order (signed looked like it had been there a long time)

Had Bar Food one night good tender Steak Baggett £9.95

Breakfast was good however advertised to close at 9:30 during weekdays, staff took food away at 9:25 so don’t leave it till the last minute! Restaurant staff could do with a little customer care training and don’t ask for decaff coffee, as you will be told you can have it but get given ordinary (not to well after that)

Why is it when a hotel is not busy you are still given the not so well placed room. Rooms 201 and 202 are at the front of the hotel at the top of the stairs leading from reception so very noisy, if you have the window open you have all the smoke from the cigarette smokers below coming into the room and every one walks pass the room to enter the corridor for all other rooms.

Room Tip: Do not take room 201 or 202 very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheldrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
3.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
973 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
394 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
478 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
13.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Country Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Wareham BH20 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: £126 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Springfield Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Country Wareham
Springfield Country Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing