We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Springfield Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)(Great Value!)
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$71
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
153
170
118
74
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
170
118
74
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiessauna and steam roommonkey worlddouble ended bathlarge bathfree ticketsspa areabit datedbuffet stylegrounds are lovelythis lovely hotelunderfloor heatinggreat facilitieswedding receptionfull englishfamily rooma lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Having seen some of the reviews on here after I booked two nights as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday I was a little anxious, however, I needn't have been. Yes, the furnishings are dated, however this is more than made up for by the location and friendly staff. Our room was large, clean with a lovely bathroom and balcony. One small complaint was the rustling waterproof materess covers which could be replaced with something better. Breakfast was good and, unusually these days, freshly cooked to order. We came down just before breakfast finished we were not hurried to finish. The indoor pool was was fine, but the outdoor pool was out of action. Perhaps this could have been mentioned when we checked in.

I do wonder if some of the other reviewers actually stayed at the same hotel as us. We would have every right to be miserable as or poured with rain for the three days we were there but the hotel certainly did not add to any misery, in fact, quite the opposite.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schafer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for your helpful and constructive review - we shall certainly look at the materess covers! - sorry about that.
The outdoor pool is not in action due to the terrible weather - as soon as the sun shows itself the pool will be up and running, in the meantime our guests enjoy the indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna's and steam room not forgetting the snooker room and for the more energetic - the well equiped gym!
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to the hotel - thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Springfield Country Hotel and Spa whilst working in Dorchester last week. Although we could have chosen a hotel in Dorchester itself, we decided we liked the look of the Springfield from their website pictures and description, and so booked 2 nights D,B&B. At £250 per night, we thought it was rather expensive, but we convinced ourselves that it would be worth splashing out on a much needed relaxing break... or that's what we'd thought!
Where to begin? Driving up to the hotel, it seemed pleasant enough - off the beaten track and a quiet location. We had no trouble parking near to the hotel entrance (in retrospect, probably because the hotel was practically empty mid-week.) The moment we stepped over the threshold, the disappointment began. As other reviewers have said, it was like stepping back in time. But not in an enjoyable retro-sort-of-way: more like a nightmare-ish trip into a run-down old people's home. It was something about the 4 foot dusty plastic flower arrangements, the cheap nylon pattered carpet, the brick interior walls and the feint smell of damp.

There was no-one at reception. We stood there like idiots for about ten minutes. Had we come to the wrong place? Maybe the hotel had closed down since we made our booking? Then my partner spotted a little sign next to a door-bell mounted on the wall, asking us to ring for service. Which we did. A couple of minutes later a young lady arrived, looking pained - as if we'd disturbed her from a nap or an episode of Eastenders. She barely spoke or made eye contact with us, and handed us a key. I asked if we needed to make a reservation for dinner, and she looked amazed. "Err no, just show up!" (We worked out why, later on)

Then she came round to our side of the dated reception desk and started walking away. We quickly sussed that she was showing us to our room. Off she trotted, hardly looking back, as we struggled with a few bulky and heavy work and overnight bags... up the rickety wooden stairs (two flights) and finally she stopped at the top. She smiled briefly (as if pleased that her duties were over) and pointed vaguely down a corridor, where we would find our own way to our room. Once we'd got our breaths back (discovering we were right next to the lift!) we were able to locate our "Executive Room" We hoped the trek up the stairs with our bags would be worth it. After all, the website had promised us a large room with a lounge area, a balcony, a double ended bath and a separate walk-in shower...

OK, so the room was large, we give it that. But not what we would expect from an "Executive Room". More like a Holiday Inn Express (as mentioned in a previous review). The decor was tired and dated, and the furnishings sparse. The wooden furniture did look quite pleasant, but when we opened the wardrobe to hang our clothes, it stank of a stale odour. So much for looking nice - we still had to live out of our suitcases! And no desk - so my partner would have had nowhere to work during the next day. The "lounge area" consisted of two tub chairs and a spare bedside table, with a flat screen TV mounted on the wall over it. We switched it on, but it hadn't been tuned properly. Fortunately being an IT consultant, my partner was able to sort it out - eventually.

So - the "Executive room" facilities? A small kettle on a tray with a couple of cups and saucers. One with a lipstick stain around the rim. Some UHT milks and the obligatory packets of sugar, tea, coffee and biscuits. That was it. No fridge, no mini bar, no iron or ironing board, no towelling robe, no slippers, no full-length mirror, no toiletries in the bathroom (apart from the utilitarian plastic bottles of DOVE/Lux stuck to the wall). Oh, I did find a small hair dryer in one of the smelly drawers.

The bathroom was generally quite clean and had obviously been renovated fairly recently. However, there was one small bath, with a shower over. No double ended bath or separate shower as we'd been advised on the website. Looking out of the dormer windows, I could see down to the garden, and to the balconies of the rooms on the floor below. Could they be the balconies that we'd been promised in the description? Probably. The garden looked quite pretty. In keeping with the general '70s/'80s theme, though probably unintentional. There's a tired, dirty looking pond with lots of real fish, and a plastic duck! There's also a couple of utilitarian pipes gushing water into it. I'm guessing it was once a water feature, but had seen better days. Clearly plastic ducks and plastic flowers are de-rigueur at the Springfield!

So, putting the disappointment of the room behind us (for now) we wandered down to dinner. Signage wasn't great (also mentioned by other reviewers) but we found our way into a quiet bar area, with a TV and a seating area. We walked past a handful of miserable looking people in the bar, and through an opening in a garden trellis room divider, covered in yet more plastic foliage. There was one other couple eating quietly in the restaurant, and no sign of any other life. Again we stood there (this time like lemons), wondering whether we should just sit down at one of the many empty tables. Then the waitress arrived. At least that's what we deduced. No introduction, no welcome, no apology for keeping us waiting. Instead she pushed past us and indicated that we should sit down on the conservatory style furniture in the waiting area, while she got us a drink and showed us the menus. How very quaint! I asked her, that with practically an empty restaurant over there, surely we could just sit at our table. But she insisted we sat in the waiting area, and scowled. We did as we were told. The bamboo conservatory chairs had seen better days, and weren't especially comfortable. We were looking forward to getting to our table. Faux leather bound menus with sticky plastic inserts can occasionally be found in a greasy spoon, but you don't expect it in a "Country House Hotel". We were advised that the soup of the day was vegetable and the dish of the day was cottage pie. Perhaps the chef really had been inspired by the décor, and thought he was working in an old people's home? The rest of the menu was pretty uninspiring and dated too. We ordered scampi, the cottage pie and lamb noisettes.

We were shown to our table, overlooking the indoor pool and Jacuzzi. Good in theory, but the smell of chlorine wafted around us in the airless, windowless dining room, and a birds’ eye view of people swimming up and down was hardly conducive to a relaxing dinner. Our diet cokes arrived. They were delicious. Cold and refreshing. The best bit of the meal. I won't describe every dish, but suffice to say, apart from the crispy deep fried scampi that we both had as a starter, oh, and the bread rolls - there wasn't one single item that we were served that failed to disappoint. Bland, badly cooked, old-fashioned, stale and unappetising. Chewy cheap meat, soggy carved carrots, tasteless stuffed rings of courgette, bundles of overcooked beans and potato croquettes. (Has anyone seen one of those since 1983?) The desserts were inedible. Ice cream tasting and smelling of stale freezer, and a lemon tart with inedible pastry and the filling so sweet it made your eyes water. The diet cokes and bread rolls were seriously the best bit of the meal. We decided then and there that even though we'd booked a second night's stay with dinner included, we couldn't face the restaurant again. Perhaps that's why it was almost totally empty?

Back up to our room, we thought we'd have an early night and a good sleep in preparation for another long day at work. Sadly, the room was really hot and airless. No air conditioning and no fan. We remembered to phone down to reception to ask for an iron, and a pleasant young man brought one up for us. Back to the bed... apart from the synthetic bedspread, itchy blanket and scratchy old sheets, the mattress was obviously one of the cheapest you could buy. It was one of the worst night’s sleep we'd had in a long time. Every time one of us turned over, you could hear the broken springs 'pinging'. The muscles in my back had gone into spasm by the time the alarm clock woke us, and I could barely straighten up. A warm shower did help a little, but it wasn't exactly hot, and I had to clamber into the bath to get to it. Not the separate shower as advertised.

Breakfast was a bleak affair. Miserable looking staff hoovering, or laying tables barely looked up or smiled at us. Again we had to wait to be welcomed in and shown to a table. The other couple that we'd seen in the restaurant the night before were already eating, and looked quite happy. The atmosphere was really odd though. It was a large room set up for 60 people or more, but with only 4 of us in there. And the silence (once the hoovering had stopped) was deafening. The food was OK, nothing to write home about. The bacon was burnt, and the rest was not especially tasty with generally cheap ingredients.

We decided to ask the manager on our way off to work whether they'd made a mistake with our room, as it clearly didn't match the description on the website. He told us that it definitely was an Executive Room, but it was one of the "other types" of Executive Rooms. (aparently there are 2 types!) We told him we were really unhappy and that we felt at £250 it was way over-priced, considering that you could get a 5* room in London for the same money! He agreed that "prices are more expensive in the country" and surprisingly quickly asked us if we'd prefer to leave rather than stay a second night! When we said we had a long way to go home and needed somewhere to stay, he offered us a couple of keys to look at some other rooms. We did take a look, but the 2 other rooms were also tired and dated. Nothing even slightly resembling the photographs or descriptions on the website.

We were so fed up by this stage and in danger of being late for work, that we decided to take up the manager's offer to check out. As we'd told him about the disastrous meal, he offered to take the cost off the bill. So even with a free dinner - we ended up paying £200 for an uncomfortable night in a seriously dated, dreary hotel. Dinner and breakfast that was well below standard, being served by staff who were at best distant, and at worst sarcastic.

On the positive side, we had two wonderful cold glasses of diet coke for £8 and we weren't obliged to stay for a second night! But will we be staying there again? Will we recommend the Springfield Country House Hotel and Spa to anyone? Take a guess...!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

We are very dissapointed with this review, however we do not wish to rise to the bait.
No where is perfect and we know that by far the majority of our guests are more than happy otherwise they would not return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

As many have pointed out the hotel is dated but that is not the area of my complaint! At breakfast we came down at 9.45am when they actually stop serving breakfast. I am not good in the morning and every time i stay in the hotel i leave it to the last minute to go and have breakfast but never have i been treated so rudely. The staff were clearly not impressed we had just turned up expecting food when all they wanted was to clear up. The room still had many people and i appreciate they have their own deadlines and schedules to keep but it doesn't mean you have to be rude and make your guests feel so unwelcome. The staff are their for the guests and to give them a good experience, i feel this vision was lost.

On a positive note reception staff were at the other end of the scale, very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for this review which we take to be constructive and helpful - if you would like to contact me personally then I would like the opportunity to discuss further with you. Again I thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My partner and I stayed here from a group on deal for a relaxing break before the birth of our first baby. The hotel was lovely and clean, staff very friendly and were shown to our rooms. We booked an extra night and upgraded from the group on deal on a discount but when we arrived we were upgraded again and had a massive room with a balcony overlooking the garden. The food was really good and lots of it! Both meals provided lots of choice. The facilities were great, we used the pool, sauna and hot tub and they stayed open really late which was lovely. We also used the beauty treatments which added the enjoyment of a relaxing weekend! The weather was great so enjoyed the near seaside towns and walks around the area. Would definetly return and very pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laylums23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for the good review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Although somewhat dated decor we found the hotel very clean and comfortable.all the staff were helpful and friendly.The hotel is situated in beautiful and very well attended gardens.we booked our 2 day break through Secret Escapes which included having an executive room which was very roomy and clean with a very well equiped en-suite.The breakfast was excellent with good choices of cold and hot food.We would like to thank everybody at the hotel for making our break so perfect.

Room Tip: We had an executive room which had a balcony and beautiful views over the gardens and benefited from the afternoon sun it was situated on the second floor which was serviced by a lift or stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boveyboy1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews