We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Springfield Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Me and my partner booked on December last year to stay 2 nights for my birthday , we was told we would have a 2 night stay with entry to monkey world, I booked over the phone and paid at the same time. I'd called between then and our stay to check wether we could have a late night check in and to double check everything was correct with our booking. We drove 6 hours both feeling quite happy and excited as just the day before we had got engaged so was hoping for a nice relaxing weekend to celebrate together. On arrival everything seemed perfectly fine we got to the hotel at around 11.15pm we checked in and went to our room we was up for breakfast by 8.30am, after breakfast we decided to double check our booking and monkey world tickets with reception. We was greeted by a very arrogant man, he looked over our booking and informed us we was to pay another £128 to stay again. I informed the man what I was told over the phone a number of times before we arrived, he became very patronising and rude towards us both so we decided to check out of our room and leave the hotel. As would be imagined me and my partner was very disappointed our weekend was completely ruined! We drove 6 hours to stay in a room for a matter of 8 hours and to be served a below average breakfast in the morning. We was offered no other options at all, I later called to make a complaint and was greeted by the same arrogant man from reception. I am very upset with this matter and will not be staying here again !! £128 for an 8 hour stay is just ridiculous especially when treated the way we was!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mattyamy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had booked for an overnight pamper weekend for myself and a friend. The hotel was easy to find. Very friendly and helpful staff on arrival. We were early so our room wasn't ready but was welcome to use the facilities while we waited. The gardens here are beautiful, the outdoor pool wasn't ready, the indoor pool was warm and clean. The massage room is quite clinical, but did have a lovely hard massage. The whole hotel was spotless but thankfully is currently undergoing a facelift as quite dated. I found the bar expensive (1 glass of wine £5 & a salad roll and fries £6)! But great service.
Overall I would recommend. Beautiful, peaceful gardens and lovely staff :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emmy-Lou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Reading some of the reviews, I feel I must stay at different hotel!

Having been to this hotel many times, as a couple, with friends and also with children, it never fails to offer good value for money. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and all staff are friendly and efficient. We have on occasions been given a free room upgrade, which is always welcome. When travelling with children, the room was large enough for two single beds and a double, and did not feel cramped or overcrowded.

The food both at breakfast and dinner is superb with a good choice of dishes.

There is refurbishment taking place at present but this does not inconvenience or impact on visitors.

An ideal base for touring, with plenty of attractions in the area for both adults and children.

All the staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. We hope to be visiting this hotel for many years to come.
JP St. Albans

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We only stayed one night but stayed I comfortable and spacious room. This was classed as an Executive Room. For some reason we were given an upgrade.

In this room we had (In addition to the usual), a couch and a good sized desk. The en suite had a separate shower and bath.

There is renovation work underway at the moment but this did not impact on our stay.

The staff were competent and pleasant to deal with. Checking in and out went smoothly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have had a number of enjoyable stays at "The Springfield," mostly with a group of friends. but also on our own.
The Hotel is very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food has always been good and there is a good choice of dishes If you dine in the restaurant in the evening.
We have been fortunate to have a free room upgrade on a number of occasions. The Hotel is near Wareham and is an ideal location to visit all of Dorsets attractions, Monkey World, The Tank Museum, Corfe Castle and Shoreham.

We regularly use the excellent indoor swimming pool, which has a Sauna and Steam room next to the pool, there is also an outdoor pool.

The Hotel is carrying out refurbishment to improve It's function rooms, but the disruption to guests is minimal, the only real inconveniences were that the lift was out of use when we stayed and some carpets were taped down. We never experienced any noise from ongoing work.

We always look forward to our stays here and have never been disapointed

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the gardens have a balcony with seats and have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The oddest place. Two hotel experiences fused into one place.

The GOOD parts. The staff were outstanding. Helpful, friendly, and really thinking about guest's needs. Couldn't do enough to help. The food quality was excellent, as was the staff service. The rooms had good quality furniture and our room (215) had a very comfortable bed, providing a sound night's sleep (once the room was cool enough to sleep).

The NOT SO GOOD parts. Our room did not have aircon, and was hot and stuffy in the evening, even in Mid-May. An open window was the only way to get air moving, and there happened not to be a breeze. Took a long time for the room to cool down. The furniture is of very good quality, but in 215, heavily marked (see photos). The wall TV had a very big 'standby' light bar, which flashed neon-blue on and off permanently. Once the lights were off, it was like a neon belisha-beacon. Had to drape a towel over it in the end, as couldn't find wall socket! There was no Wifi signal in Room 215.

The grounds were extremely pleasant, although renovation work curtailed the enjoyment of the Mill Pond side of the hotel. The outdoor pool was a soupy green.

The public rooms were the oddest of places. The 'Lounge' is a large open space, filled with what felt like 'end of sale' clamshell-shaped pale blue or cream leather chairs and sofas, with tables in between. A number of them had seen better days. Bare brick columns throughout, no window dressings or lamps, and felt like the departure lounge in some small regional airport. See photos.

There is a small bar in the lounge, but it closed at 630pm on the Saturday evening. Prior to that, if you wanted to order a drink, and no staff were present, you pressed a 'call for service' button. You then jumped out of your skin, as the bell behind the door sounded like it had started life at the Receiving Door of a busy goods-in warehouse. Incredibly loud, and could be heard anywhere in the public areas. Certainly put paid to any 'country club' atmosphere.

All the action then moved down to the other end of the hotel for evening dinner. On a beautiful early summer evening, you are invited onto an enclosed dining mezzanine, sitting over the edge of the swimming pool. With NO natural daylight. Those sitting on the edge of the mezzanine get a view down over the swimming pool, and there is at least some light filtering in through the condensation-soaked windows below. There's also a lovely whiff of chlorine, just as you're about to sit down to dinner. See photos.

Once again, the staff executed a perfect service, with well appointed and laid out tables, and excellent quality and variety of meals offered. We dined very well.

There is a second and larger bar in the waiting area for the dining area, but this is really where all pretence at a Country Club evaporated. The only seating options were on padded wicker chairs, with a fruit machine in the corner for added ambience, and a large wall TV on. The hotel lounge was eerily deserted, and only semi-lit, so any semblence of atmosphere could only be gained at the larger bar down at the spa end of the hotel.

Breakfast was in the most attractive of the dining rooms, the Mill View Restaurant. Not quite sure why they couldn't rustle up an evening meal service there, as very pleasant views out over the gardens through big picture windows.

Sunday morning breakfast was buffet style. Again, looked after superbly by the staff.

The standard room rate includes a Full English breakfast, and that seemed to be about all they catered for. If you didn't fancy a cooked breakfast, the only other options were cereal and some fruit or individually wrapped pastries/muffins. No breads/rolls/cheese/cut meat type of alternative.

As we prepared to leave around 1030am Sunday morning, we saw all our empty glasses still sitting out on the patio area, where we'd finished having a drink around 5pm the previous evening.

I rate this place a '2 star' purely because of the effort the staff put in, but otherwise, for me, it's a 'bust'.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that will have hotel Wifi coverage. It's not available everywhere in the hotel, de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boardinginfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Often wondered how this got 5 stars, looks like it has been put right.
The best thing going for this hotel are the staff, reception & bar staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms could do with a bit of TLC. Gym machines are a bit tired.
Good location for the jurassic coast, Swanage well worth a visit & get boat to Brownsea Island & Poole Harbour.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
398 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
978 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
479 reviews
7 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
290 reviews
13.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Country Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Wareham BH20 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: £126 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Springfield Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Country Wareham
Springfield Country Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing