We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Springfield Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in an executive room with balcony. It was exceptionally clean, the bed was a super king, huge and very comfortable. The balcony was brilliant. We left the door open all night and slept to the sound of the fountain in the grounds. We finished the entire 630 mile south west coast path in the evening, then had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was excellent (service and food) and finished off with a brilliant sleep.
The hotel feels like a hotel from the 80's yes - but I loved that. It's called personality!! They got the basics 100% right - very clean, great service, great bed and shower and excellent food. So the carpet is heavily patterned and some of the furniture is cane....as long as its clean and comfortable - the price was good value and we loved it! And because it was the last night of our 3 month mission, this hotel will always be a special place for us. A wonderful end to a wonderful trip and mission!!

Room Tip: Go for an executive room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobHalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel was a bit dated, but the staff and food were nice. The bed was comfy and actually, if you get over the 1990s decor, the shower was good, hair dryer was good, rooms were big enough. The spa was dated but I HATE cold pools and it was warm..nice outdoor stuff/pool (although it is in the middle of a refurb). Now my confession..I felt I had to leave a review because I stayed the weekend of the 9th August and someone left a review saying the steam room didn't work and the jacuzzi slats were broken.. That was me on the Saturday and my oafiness...I'm really sorry! Don't let it out you off..it is dated but the facilities are good and the food(breakfast) is decent quality, plentiful and hot..good Bon maman individual jams, fresh pastries but yes, in true Brit style it is a fry up..we stayed as part of a wedding group and it suited perfectly although if I were the bride I would have wanted something swankier..however as a guest it was up to the job

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazcatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Somebody really cares here but their direction and taste is painful and dated beyond belief. It is like stepping back into 1986 throughout the hotel - in look, feel and experience. I think previous comments about it being tired are misleading: it is tidy and very clean but the overal impression is, well 1986. Generally hotels are refurbished if they wear out - you get the impression that this place was heavily invested in many years ago and then well looked after hence preserving 1986. A good 1980's Breakfast is only served until 9.30 by some grumpy clock watchers who seemed to prefer the workers who ate and left early. This is not a holiday or short break leisure hotel unless perhaps you are 70+ yrs old or still think 1986 is 'cool'

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BathBunnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights with my mum to visit Monkey World. The overall location of the hotel is perfect as there is lots to see locally.
Upon arrival, the hotel seemed closed, it was silent and the main check-in desk was closed and boarded up. After eventually finding the "new" check-in desk we where shown to a large room with a lovely en suite bathroom. All facilities where fine and we had all digital TV channels and good wifi connection.
Breakfast was OK - as a vegetarian I cannot pass judgement on the cooked breakfast but the eggs where cooked well.
We used the spa facilities (which are free to guests) and found the indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna where clean.
The hotel itself is run down and dated. Very dark inside with worn-out carpets and damaged wallpaper, However the grounds are kept immaculate. Overall we had a pleasant stay but would not return to this hotel

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed with my daughter for a 2 night break so that we could visit Monkey World. Hotel is in a perfect location - the grounds are well kept and clean. The outdoor heated pool is a lovely feature, with an attractive fountain in it. We used the sauna, jacuzzi and indoor pool and had none of the problems other reviewers seem to have had. All of the facilities are free to guests. Breakfast was OK, fairly standard buffet and full English on offer. There are so many lovely places to eat locally that we didn't eat in the hotel in the evening, in fact it looked like the restaurant was closed as we didn't see anyone eat in the restaurant? We had a large room, with a big en suite bathroom. No problem with wi-fi connection or TV channels.
Unfortunately, the communal areas of the hotel are run down looking, the front reception has been closed which makes arrival unwelcoming as you traipse through the hotel looking for somewhere to book in. The carpet on the stairs is worn and the decor is dated. The whole place needs a bit of TLC however we had a pleasant stay. Would recommend for a short beak or overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoweCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a two night stay. The hotel appears to be in the process of having refurb, which it does need! Overall we had a lovely stay. Weather was gorgeous so got to use the heated outdoor pool. Plenty of indoor leisure facilities too. Food was great. Had breakfast lunch and dinner and very impressed. Loads of very helpful staff too. Had a two bedroomed suite and very comfy and clean. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I should have read previous comments in more detail before booking this. Rooms were clean and staff were friendly but the hotel is stuck in a time warp and even with the on going refurbishment it doesn't look like its going to improve much either. We were booked in for 2 nights but checked out after one as couldn't face staying any longer. Fine for an overnight but would not recommend it as a weekend break. We were originally sold for its facilities - don't be.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tortilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
398 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
978 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
479 reviews
7 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
290 reviews
13.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Country Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Wareham BH20 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: £126 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Springfield Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Country Wareham
Springfield Country Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing