We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Springfield Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Springfield Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect prior to reading some of the other reviews prior to our visit. Ok so the décor is a little dated, and not particularly contemporary but the important thing is that the hotel was clean and tidy. Our room was large and the bathroom had a double bath and separate walk in shower. The bar and restaurant were busy on our visits, and the staff were helpful during our stay. As a guest you also get use of the extensive spa facilities. Treatments are extra, but everything else is free. They have an outdoor and indoor pool, tennis and squash courts, gym, sauna and steam room. Enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Rooms very dated, headboards not been cleaned since 1980! Shower worked intermittently not what you expect for a relaxing weekend away. Spa facilities ok although towels supplied are like rags! Hotel staff are pleasant although not overly helpful. Location great, 15min walk from wareham where there are lots if lovely pubs/restraunts.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel can only be described as the Marie Celeste on a building site. Place was deserted, bar already closed when we got in at 8.45 and only saw two other people, which could be seen as a positive, but in truth the tired, dirty and partly boarded up public areas would make anyone want to run! Our room was described as an 'executive double with private balcony looking over beautifully landscaped garden's. The reality was a large (that's the positive) double, very tired, very dusty room with a balcony looking out over a building site complete with workmen and diggers and all the noise that goes with this.

On checking out showed the receptionist how dirty the room had been, he said, and I quote, 'that shouldn't have happened' then promptly tried to over-the-counter charge us £24 for a breakfast we hadn't had. He was rude in the extreme. As I walked away having been relieved of £119, he muttered after me. A young man standing nearby commented that he'd just had the same conversation!

I have no doubt that when renovations are complete this hotel will rise from the ashes - but that's years off. In the meantime it's plain wrong to advertise it as something it may have been years ago and may be in the future. Bottom line is we had a rotten experience here and won't be repeating it.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fiona642064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely, timeless island of tranquillity. Spent two nights in an Executive bedroom, with all the gismos one would expect of a five star hotel. Very pleasant staff, superb grounds. And within striking distance of Corfe Castle, Durdle Dor, Swannage Train, Tank Museum, Monkey World, etc...

P. Air

Room Tip: Select an Executive Room, facing the outdoor swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PAir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

After a delayed journey from London we were made very welcome at the smart new Reception Area. The Bar snacks were excellent as was all the food for the rest of our stay, even hot plates!! Very good indoor pool, steam room and two saunas, snooker and tennis. An ideal location for several good tourist attractions, the hotel is gradually being refurbished and we would certainly visit there again with or without our grandchildren. A friendly family run hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NIGEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay with the kids near Monkey World and found the Springfield County Hotel by chance. The room (superior size) was big enough for me and three kids. The two pools were both lovely, the tennis court was well-maintained and the staff were genuinely welcoming to families with children. The old lobby - which is a bit dated - was being renovated when we arrived, but all the other facilities are clean and modern. We would definitely recommend the hotel if you have children (and even if you don't) and are already thinking of a return trip next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superbuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

When I looked at the hotel online it looked lovely so when we arrived I had a shock!
There is work going on but its so dated and tiered looking, even the breakfast menu needs updating.
I was not impressed being put in a room that people had stayed with their pets especially as I have a allergy, luckily not a severe one..... when I asked at reception I was told they didn't have another room but they would hoover!
Our children enjoyed the pool but if I was there to use the spa I would have been disappointed
£168 a night is very over priced, definitely not our cup of tea.
Must say though the lady on reception was very pleasant

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
3.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
990 reviews
1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
414 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
488 reviews
13.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,124 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Country Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Wareham BH20 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: £125 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Springfield Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Country Wareham
Springfield Country Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing