We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in surprisingly good location”
Review of Worgret Manor

Worgret Manor
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Worgret Manor
Ranked #13 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel in surprisingly good location”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Family run hotel with owners manning reception. On booking was nervous about location but no think it is really well suited for visiting Poole and surrounding area
Good
- Friendly service and always happy to advise. Called few days before advising and helped me find gastro pub and restaurant for meals over the weekend
- Great local village 2 min drive away. 'Granary' pub right on river and great food, with couple of other pubs for chiled out drink or live music
- Quick drive to Corfe castle, Swannage and onto Weymouth as you are outside Poole and miss most of the traffic
- Great breakfast cooked to order and served at table. Usual fruit / cereal / toast also included.
- Rooms spacious, clean and well maintained. Went for four poster option which was nice.
Bad
- If you want to stroll into Poole each night this is not for you. Poole is a 15 min drive in evening / 30 min in morning due to tourist traffic
- No evening food so you need to take quick journey into local village

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    21
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Godshill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Booked at the last minute to go to Seranata Classical Festival. Weather was atrocious but the welcome was wonderful. I especially liked the Midday check in, this was very convenient. The room was nicely appointed and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was in a lovely Restaurant setting and was plentiful.

All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Ideally located for travel and sightseeing in Dorset. Friendly, relaxed atmosphere and great staff. Comfortable, nicely furnished rooms. Our 4th visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheelsandbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Popped in here on the off-chance of getting a room for the night while down for a concert in Bournemouth. Made to feel very welcome and offered coffee in lounge while they sorted out a room for me. Single room was as I expected - small but clean. Perfect for my one night stay and I got own key to room and front door to let myself in late after the concert. Overall impression of hotel was clean, friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed the full breakfast too in the light and airy diningroom overlooking courtyard. I've stayed in many hotels and guest houses over the years and this is one of the best for me. In fact I was so impressed that I booked to come back for two nights on the following weekend so I could relax on the beach at Studland! Got a better larger single room then too. This hotel will definately be on my list for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltshirerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Booked Worgret Manor as it was close to Monkey World and looked to be a non-chain hotel.

Run by a really friendly couple who appear to be talking to guests all day, but with little or no help they manage to provide a clean environment that borders on decadent with the thickest towels we have ever seen. As experienced travelers we look in corners to see how clean it really is and this was clean.

Unfortunately during our 2 night stay they were not doing evening meals that was unfortunate based on the breakfasts which were excellent, lots of local ingredients like the local made museli.

Big carpark and a 20 minute walk into Wareham.

Not cheap but VFM.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

When booking I explained that my sister was dying and was told that it was not a problem. When I was asked to pay a £255 non returnable deposit I again stated that my sister was terminally ill. I was again assured that it was not a problem, so I went ahead and paid. My sister died and her funeral was in the middle of our preposed stay. We gave the hotel 10 days notice and even though we know that they relet our room for the 6 days they would not return any of our deposit.
We consider this totally unjustified and warn future visitors of our experience.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 50crocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camberley
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

made to feel welcome and felt quite at home. nice clean room, lovely breakfast close to many tourist attractions. would definitely return to try the quirky blue room and would recommend to others. thank you cathy and ray hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camberleywalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
926 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
355 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
301 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bradle Farmhouse
Bradle Farmhouse
#4 of 23 in Wareham
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#14 of 23 in Wareham
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worgret Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worgret Manor

Property: Worgret Manor
Address: Worgret Road | Worgret, Wareham BH20 6AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Worgret Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Worgret Manor is a traditional Georgian manor house nestled in the heart of the Dorset countryside. The historic grounds on which it stands are mentioned in the 13th century Magna Carta. We offer en-suite accommodation including flat screen T.V's with Freeview, complimentary tea/coffee making facilities, free Wi-Fi, private off-road parking and of course full English breakfast. We have a comfortable, sun lit seating area in the lobby which is perfect for browsing the daily newspaper. During the summer months you can enjoy a tea, coffee or even breakfast in the patio courtyard. We are in the heart of Hardy country surrounded by beautiful Dorset countryside. Attractions close by include Monkey World, Bovington Tank Museum, Corfe Castle, Lulworth Cove and Lulworth Castle with it's hugely popular annual music event "Camp Bestival". We are just one mile from the Saxon town of Wareham which has a good selection of restaurants, cafes, bars and pubs. The town is one of the gateways to the Purbecks and the Jurassic coast line, England's first World heritage site. Wareham's mainline railway station (to Waterloo) is just 2 miles away and the heritage Purbeck line which will run between Wareham and Swanage opens shortly. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Worgret Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worgret Manor Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing