We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LakeViews Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wareham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
LakeViews Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An absolute pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This place is very beautiful and calm. The property is very clean and welcoming. Lots of little caring touches. The bathrooms are spotless. There is a nice tea tray in the room with biscuits and chocolate. In the front entrance there is a big bowl of plums and candies.

Jenni, the owner cooks a magnificent breakfast. She runs the place because she enjoys it, rather than a commercial venture.

In the garden there is a horse and chickens. The eggs get served for breakfast.

Our friends were staying in a much more expensive hotel nearby which was not half as good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
150
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We've just had a delightful 2 night break at Lakeviews and couldn't ask for anything better. A warm welcome, a superb room and really good weather. Jenni's breakfasts were the best way to start the day. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends. Thank you Jenni

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaureenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

... you don't want to visit this place if you are colored (I am from India) as we could clearly sense some sort of prejudice - unfortunate but true!

Having said that, great location... very beautiful ambience (my 1 yr old daughter fell in love with the pony, ducks and cat), really amazing breakfast by Jenny and well very designed and managed bedrooms.

It is only a mile away from the town with easily available cabs if you don't want to walk or because of unfavorable weather!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms... but all are very well designed and with beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NareshMehta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenni g, Owner at LakeViews Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on location, ambiance and design of LakeViews.
I am saddened that you felt any prejudice towards you.
This is absolutely not the case as I have welcomed all nationalities into my home regardless of colour or creed.
I am happy that I have received numerous responses to suggest that my guests have had a very pleasurable time here. The comments made clarify that they had felt completely welcome.
I would , however, like to clarify that this is a bed and breakfast but more importantly my home and would only ask that there be respect shown to me,the property and other guests.
I do not feel it is unreasonable to refuse the consumption of take away food in the guest rooms and would like to explain that the dining room is the only personal space for myself and my family to share an evening meal and therefore is only available to guests for their breakfast.
I am happy to make an exception to the rules but only if people are booked in for numerous nights as I can appreciate that it becomes tiring and expensive to eat out.
I would also like to state that tables etc need to be prepared for the next morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I think this is the best place I have ever stayed and I have stayed in some very nice places.
On arrival we were made very welcome the entrance hall is spacious and charming as is Jenni when she meets you. You are then invited into the light and airy lounge area, with large TV and big comfortable chairs where you can spend as much time as you wish; there we were served tea or coffee with homemade biscuits. All the formalities are then sorted, before being shown to your room. We stayed in the Tamworth Room and could not have been more pleased, there was plenty of room, fresh, clean and beautifully decorated.
The names of the rooms are a hint to the farms previous existence as a pig farm, unfortunately the pigstys are a little run down now, but still have a charm of their own.
After a night in one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in...including my own, we were treated a beautifully presented breakfast. So much to choose from it was a good job we extended our stay at the end of the week just so we could try it all.
Unlike other B&Bs where you get those little treats on the first night of your stay the chocolates and biscuits were replenished everyday and because there was always spare milk coffee etc on the landing so you never wanted for anything.
The chickens wandering round the garden guaranteed you were getting fresh eggs every day. A pony, ducks, cat and rabbits blended very well with the surrounding wildlife to make this a really charming place to stay.
We walked the mile to the town every night to eat in either the Duke of Wellington or the Kings Arms, both serve real ale and perfectly edible pub grub. I preferred the atmosphere in the Duke, couldn't put my finger on the reason why, maybe just more relaxing.
During our stay we wanted to do a bit of bird watching and being close to Arne was one of the boxes we needed to tick, but in reality we did not need to leave our room to do our bird watching. Our room must rate as one of the most comfortable bird hides I have ever sat in! Green woodpeckers, willow warblers, stock doves, robins, grebes, little egrets, were just a few of the daily treats. Almost every corner you turn on the lanes of the Isle of Purbeck has a nature reserve, great for bird watching or walking.
Walking the walls of the very interesting town wasn't too strenuous as it is only a small town, but with so much packed into it. One of my favourite places was the Quayside sitting there people watching is most enjoyable, especially if you are sampling a drink or something to eat from one of the surrounding hostelries.
A must is the steam train to Swanage and if tanks are your thing Bovington is brilliant.
Arne is a treasure trove of wildlife, not just birds and Ferrybridge is great for terns and waders depending on the time of year. We never even made it to Poole or Abbotsbury.

We will certainly be back we still have plenty of places left to visit.

If you are looking for a quiet location with great attention to detail, yet on the doorstep of a charming town, then look no futher I can't recommend Lakeviews highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindosbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We needed to stay near Lulworth Castle for a wedding and found LakeViews, checked on Trip Advisor, and would say without reservation that we wholeheartedly agree with all the other wonderful reviews!
What more can we add, except that we booked all three fantastic rooms, ate well, slept well, and were welcomed by Jenni and her family most warmly.
Nothing was too much trouble, we would love to return sometime!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had originally booked two nights and ended up staying for four! Jenni made us feel very welcome and there were lots of lovely thoughtful touches, cold bottles of drinking water for the room, a hairdryer, plentiful toiletries, a variety of drink options in the room with biscuits and small chocolates. Jenni's breakfasts were a delight and beautifully presented, a huge range of delicious fruit, cereals and full cooked breakfast. The location was superb and peaceful. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Thank you for your kindness. We were welcomed before check in and allowed to leave our luggage before heading out to explore for the day. A lovely farm style experience which our baby daughter enjoyed hugely. Welcomed us and were well prepared to help us feed and tend to the baby. Breakfast was excellent, great food. Bathrooms spotless, tea and coffee facilities lovely in bedroom. Welcomed, Slept like a log, well fed and watered. Happy family experience!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Brooks-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bradle Farmhouse
Bradle Farmhouse
#4 of 23 in Wareham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeViews Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeViews Bed & Breakfast

Property: LakeViews Bed & Breakfast
Address: Swineham Farm Swineham | Bestwall Park, Wareham BH20 4JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeviews has three spacious bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and picturesque views. All the rooms are fully furnished and decorated to compliment its country setting. The rooms are also equipped with modern facilities including Freeview Television, Wi-Fi connection and an information guide to help you discover the local areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
LakeViews Bed & Breakfast Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing