We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family celebration weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wareham, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Marion D
1 review
“Fantastic family celebration weekend”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful weekend in the cottage which came complete with everything you would need. Great new kitchen breakfast room for spending time catching up with the family. Cosy bedrooms with loads of space for everyone, very clean & tidy with a fabulous log burner, views, garden and BBQ. Strolling distance from the cove and wonderful countryside with coastal paths to explore. The whole family have shared some wonderful memories here and would definitely go back.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely reviiew. We put a lot of time and effort into making things nice for our visitors and really appreciate positive feed back. We are so pleased you had a happy family time with us. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plytanach...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lulworth cottage treat”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We hired Rose Cottage for a group of friends and were not disappointed. In a great location just yards from local pubs and the lovely cove at Lulworth.
The woodburner was a great hit and very welcome when returning from the winter chill. Plenty of logs supplied. Kitchen well appointed.
Property needs some TLC which the owner acknowledges but has plenty of character you would expect from an old English thatched cotttage. I am told a refurb is planned for 2017.

Date of stay: December 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and price
Liked least: hard to say, but needs updating somewhat
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Dear Lawrence, Thank you for taking the time to review Rose Cottage. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we are excited that we are only a few weeks away from our 3 month closure for a complete refit. We are to rebuild the 'conservatory' which will extend the kitchen and make a completely new family friendly sitting area. We will take this opportunity to do other tasks that will make the Rose Cottage experience even better for 2017! Happy Christmas and Happy New Year to you and all our guests, past and future. Catriona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdux2016
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy Cottage by the Cove”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A superb location for a family celebration in a stunning corner of Britain. 'It's a house that hugs you', as my wife said. It was the perfect base for three generations to get together, very well situated to make the most of what Dorset has to offer. After a day at the Tank Museum or riding the railway to Swanage, what could be better than to wander down to the cove to enjoy the sunset before retiring to Rose Cottage?

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the location.
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this nice review.. We do appreciate good feed back. Rose Cottage does seem to suit the extended family and will be even better when we have completed our refit in the New Year when we will be extending the kitchen to make it even more family friendly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watkins44...
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, poor standard of property”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Wonderful location, lovely thatched period cottage and generally well equipped BUT it comes with serious issues.
The main concern being the long term rat infestation. The owner was very reluctant to admit to the problem but the burrows were long established and the people sleeping in the downstairs bedroom were kept awake four nights out of five with the sound of scratching inside the walls. (Four rats spotted by our party.)
In addition, the whole property requires money spent on it and a general overhaul. Examples include: ill fitting doors/doors that do not close; door latches broken; a trecherously slippery downstairs bathroom floor ( despite the tiles supposedly being non-slip.) Garden unkempt, dishwasher and DVD player broken; a dangerously sharp wire protruding from the dining room table and minimal security ie. Front/back door and no lock on the back gate.
We did not want to write a negative review on here but we tried speaking to the owner on our departure but she was VERY reluctant to recognise the problems listed.
In conclusion: a perfect location BUT a property in need of a significant amount on money being spent on it.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Rats!!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
I am very disappointed by this review after a long summer of excellent reviews and happy customers and must apologise to my customers for our failings in this case. We did have a rat problem which escalated very suddenly and was dealt with immediately. It is now completely under control. No-one wants to meet a rat, myself included, but as owners we do not sleep in the property and do have to be told when a problem arises. The cottage has solid cob walls which cannot be penetrated by rats. Unfortunately they did penetrate via a plumbing ingress in the exterior boiler house but we are confident that this problem will not happen again. We were reluctant to use rat poison where there are children and dogs and the subsequent dead rats are also undesirable. It was a very difficult situation which I had not experienced in the ten years we have owned Rose Cottage. I am really sorry we could not deal with the situation without upsetting our customers. We really hope it will never happen again!

As to the other problems mentioned in this review. We will be closing for three months in January to modernise and extend the kitchen. This will also give us the opportunity to redecorate and repair where necessary. We can assure our remaining guests until then that we will address the small deficiencies mentioned as best we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, Hants
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you for writing such a long and positive review. Lovely to have and really helpful for future guests to read. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mariaw396
Somerset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sensational cottage for a lovely extended family holiday.”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This cottage had everything we needed and more. Beautiful location and so well equipped. There was nine of us and two little dogs as well as other family members who visited us for the day.
Great facilities thank you.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee B
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning location”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were a party of 9 with 2 dogs and all had a fantastic time. Absolutely fantastic location, so close to the cove and local pub!

Would definitely recommend and we can't wait to return.

Date of stay: April 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for this. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Rose Cottage and very much look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.