We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location However Comes At A Price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wareham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redcliffe Farm Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Excellent Location However Comes At A Price”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

First time staying on this site and good location with superb walk along the river into Wareham. Downside is that I don't agree with having to pay extra to have a shower and such like, that should all be provided free of charge. We won't be going back to this site.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RObbo60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    16
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Have just had a very relaxing second holiday at this lovely campsite next to the river. An enjoyable and scenic ten minute walk along the river tow-path takes you into Wareham. It is a well set out and fairly basic camp site next to the River Frome, It is an ideal site for boat launching as the slipway is owned by the site. You can launch your boat and be up at Wareham in minutes or a wonderful, peaceful and very beautiful "cruise" down the river Frome to Poole Harbour. The site is used by boating families and non boating families, couples and solo campers.

There is a Sainsburys, Co Op and lots of other shops in Wareham. There is a market on the quay on Saturday morning where we bought some delicious bread and cheese! There is the Granary overlooking the river and Italian restaurant on the quay, a Chinese, Indian, Fish and Chips, and Pubs further up the high street.

We had a touring caravan with electric hook up. The field had well spaced out areas for caravans with awnings and larger tents, a top area saved for quiet campers and a further open area for campers.

Prices were comparable with other recently visited camp sites. Facilities are clean and tidy. There is an area with 4 sinks for washing up and a laundry room.

The female toilet block had been refurbished since our previous visit, had all that was necessary and was kept very clean. 20p gave a good shower, plenty of hot water.Although there are only 3 showers, I did not have to queue. Following a stay at another site with free showers, I think paying 20p deters those that take ages using up all the hot water!

The site was relaxed, the owners were welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were able to pay by debit card.

It was quiet after about 10.30pm. It was more busy during the weekends.

Children enjoyed being able to ride their bikes around the site. Others enjoyed fishing along the river bank, cycling, kayaking, sailing boats and other boats launched from the slipway.

The surrounding area had lots to do. We enjoyed a visit to Arne, Monkey World, Studland Beach, Corfe Castle, Bovington Tank Museum, stunning cliff walks and fossil hunting at Kimmeridge!

We will definitely go again with so much to explore.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asley46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

For the price we were expecting similar facilities to what we have experienced previously. We were disappointed to find poor toilet and washing facilities, our field had portable toilets which were not serviced all bank holiday weekend, so the ran out of hand washing water day 2 - the smell was also terrible. The showers were 20p for 5 mins - 1.5 mins to heat up the very slow stream of water and not enough water to wash the shampoo out of my hair. Had to pay £2 to launch our kayak into the adjacent river. Wareham town was lovely, Corfe Castle was wonderful, so the area made up for the campsite!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Campsite poor on female showers, pressure, heat and duration of water (paying 20p a go) unless you go at 10pm only then are they hot! There are only 3 showers each for male and females for such a large family campsite. Charge extra for gazibo's. Charge for hair dryers, no fires permitted therefore no logs,not desperately friendly reception. Overall terribly disappointed wont be going there again! Have had better camping experience for less with hair dryers, showers with excellent heating and cleanliness, as well as all other mod cons at no extra charge. Felt robbed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank smarrill01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This campsite will always be busy because of its river location and the boat moorings however if neither of these is relevant to you it is very expensive for what it is. No shop, 1 shower block for 3 very large fields (with only 3 showers and make sure you have your 20p's as you have to pay for these on top!) which is ageing and at the entrance to the site and 2 old portaloos in each field. Lots of water points but only 1 washing up point with a couple of sinks. 2 nights high season for 2 adults in a Vito, a small gazebo and 2 young teenagers in a 2 man tent was over £70. They even charge you to bring your kayak! No pitches, just pick a spot and fairly overcorwded. If you don't have a boat there are better facilities for the price within a mile radius. Seem to be taking the cash and not investing anything back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
368 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
939 reviews
0.9 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#14 of 23 in Wareham
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twiga House Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcliffe Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe Farm Campsite

Property: Redcliffe Farm Campsite
Address: Redcliffe Farm Redcliffe, Wareham BH20 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Wareham
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Farm Campsite Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing