We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Wareham river paddle

Hired the Canadian Canoe for a couple of hours - lovely paddle on the river Frome down to the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
bens533
,
Ampthill, United Kingdom
via mobile
One hour river trip

We wanted to take 95 year old dad in a wheelchair on a boat trip and this was perfect. The team... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
palr2017
,
Abu Dhabi
Read all 114 reviews
  
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
110
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
110
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews life jackets poole harbour beautiful stretch clear instructions relaxing hour double kayak captain john fun afternoon paddle boarding lucky with the weather lovely trip these guys stunning scenery great value for money river motor paddling
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We went there with our parents in a group of five. People were worried about running a boat without guidance. We were given good instructions and the people were friendly with the advise on random questions before we started. Was good fun in the end.

Also a good value for money - 55£ for two hours! I checked other hire companies and no one in the area can beat it!!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank PD8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Owner at Wareham Boat Hire Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review and for your wonderful photo which I have taken the liberty of copying onto our Facebook Page. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We've gone kayaking before over in Vietnam and Cambodia and wanted to do this on our camping trip. We booked a 3 hour slot in the morning for 2 x double sit on top kayaks. They provide life jackets, dry bags and tips on where to go. We went in one direction for about a mile and then turned around back down the River Frome passing the boat hire, bridge and all the boats docked along the route until the river opens out, once here we ventured to the left where it was quieter and continued where there was no other traffic (it does a semi loop back to Wareham, but be warned it doesn't hook up anywhere to where you started, you have to retrace your journey back to get back to the boat hire. So factor the extra time on getting back! We soon realised our mistake). Here it is a lot more sheltered, peaceful and overgrown where you encounter swans and other wildlife. We had so much fun even when the rain kept coming and going! We'd like to thank Matt again, he was genuinely friendly and got us out of a slightly sticky situation! I would highly recommend using them again. Go in the morning and do at least half a day if you can, your arms and shoulders may ache but it'll be so worth it.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank CatSP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Owner at Wareham Boat Hire Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Hi Cat - thank you for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. Wareham is lucky enough to have two rivers, the River Frome on which Wareham boat hire sits and the River Piddle which runs North of town. The Piddle is a beautiful little river which can only really be accessed by paddling down stream from the Wareham Boat Hire followed by a short stretch of Poole Harbour before turning back towards town. Because it is small and relatively overgrown with no Quay in town it gets very little boat traffic and is a wonderful place for wildlife spotting. Sika Deer, Seal and various birds have all been spotted on this stretch. It is however quite a paddle and any bookings (as you rightly point out) would need approx 3 - 4 hours in order to get the full experience. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review, Matt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

So easy for our elderly relative to walk onto Wheelyboat and enjoy a leisurely trip along the river as part of his 90th birthday celebrations. Very helpful staff whilst booking and on arrival. Look forward to another visit in the future.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Fell f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Owner at Wareham Boat Hire Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you for your kind review, we very much appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the Wheelyboat, it is a fantastic facility provided by the Wheelyboat Trust and as you rightly point out, the boat it ideal for not only wheelchair users but also for those who lack mobility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

£55 for 2 hours which was enough time to get down to Poole harbour and back. Good clear tuition on how to pilot the boat. Buoyancy aids provided. Very clean. There were two of us and I don't know what is the maximum number in a boat but four would have felt crowded. Umbrella provided in case it rained. Pleasant trip chugging along as motors are 2.5 hp. Car park across the road ( and loos ) £2.40 for 3 hours. Our sat nav didn't get us near so might be better to look up The old Granary , Wareham as that will bring one into the car park. Cold bottles of water or cans can be purchased. 75p and £1. Cash only, cash machines in the high street.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank ShariWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Owner at Wareham Boat Hire Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review and additional information for our customers. The motor boats are licensed and categorised for five (5) people. This is usually a combination of adults and children, five adults will feel crowded but is safe. Prices per boat are £20 for half an hour, £30 for an hour and £55 for two. Thanks for your feedback re the sat nav our postcode is BH20 4LW.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely canoe trip up the river. Lots of birds to see and not too much boat traffic. Friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew J, Owner at Wareham Boat Hire Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you Paula for taking the time to give us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your canoe trip and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews