We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great, chilled out campsite, will definitely go back again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burnbake Campsite and Forest Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wareham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burnbake Campsite and Forest Lodges
Bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, chilled out campsite, will definitely go back again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I'm not one for usually writing reviews but after nearly not going to this campsite because of the reviews i read before i went, i felt i needed to put one on here. We had a fantastic time, it is so not your usual English campsite with marked out pitches and no noise after 8pm! If you like that sort of thing then don't go here. But if you fancy just being able to pull up under a tree with a rope swing hanging from it and pitch up then this is the site for you. There was no one about when we arrived, you just go in and find a spot, but then they come find you in the evening and you pay the man with the bucket. The shop is open first thing and tea time, and the showers/toilets were cleaned daily, not dirty at all, except for the normal camping muddy footprints. It is noisy but natural noise, kids riding around and playing until dark and people chatting and singing, really nice atmosphere. I went with a friend and between us we had a 8, 5 and 3 year old, they all absolutely loved it, made lots of friends and didn't want to leave! I will definitely go back to this campsite and have already recommended it to lots of friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TinTopBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    45
    14
    19
    8
See reviews for
112
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

I stayed at Burnbake Campsite for 2 nights with my boyfriend in June '10 - IT WAS HOT!The campsite feels very rural and rustic...there were no white lines painted onto the grass and it's all higgledy piggledy, you just pitch your tent wherever, lots of shade and sun...we loved it. The shower was adequate, hot and powerful. The shop had everything you might need down to blow up beds, fresh bread, meat, penny sweets, BBQ stuff etc. The people in the shop were very nice and helpful. They let me stick my birthday champagne in the freezer to cool it down. They also advised us of where to go for a lovely walk - uphill for about an hour to reach Corfe Castle. We hardly saw anyone on the way and took a bottle of red wine....it was gorgeous and there were some lovely sunset views of Swanage. The ropes and swings for the kids looked fun. People generally stay up till about 11.30-midnight and then it goes fairly quiet. It's not your average campsite where everyone is quiet...people are there with their mates and families enjoying themselves. Like someone else said on here, you have to experience it to understand, but I really can't wait to go back.
I also have to say....Durdle Door is just incredible. The view is the best I have ever seen in the UK....any pictures you see on Google images will not do it credit. There are lots of lovely little villages with thatched roofs and pretty pubs everywhere. If you were there for a few days you wouldn't be able to see all that you wanted to never mind get bored. Fruit and Veg picking and a farm shop just nearby as well...
Probably the best sort of campsite you can get.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahsReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

We read some of the reviews on here before we went and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised having focussed on some of the negative ones. Au contraire, this is everything a campsite should be, secluded woodland, varied pitches and delightful log-cabinesque shop and ablutions area. One thing you can't plan for is the spattering of anti-social twonks amidst the generally nice folk of typically sociable, camping ilk. That said, the pot smoking muppets next door to us seemed to quieten down after the first night and certainly didn't spoil our stay. If you want pristine porcelain for your royal posterior in the morning and 5 star facilities, this is not the place for you. If however you want a gladey woodland setting with a real camping feel to it as opposed to a dull green field then this is for you. Rope swings and a rustic playground for the kids, beautiful woodlands and 5 mins from the beautiful National Trust Beaches of Studland: a real place for an Amazons and Swallows adventure. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockmonkeySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Shire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

This place is a real gem and is certainly most enjoyable outside of peak periods and popular holidays.

The location is blindingly good: set is a small patch of managed woodland with intermittent grass areas gives it a certain kind of romance.

The clientele ranges from groups of friends, families, the occasional octogenarian couple and the odd backpacker. The management are very friendly and do not impose themselves on guests or create a rule orientated or over regulated atmosphere. Showers are cheap; the shop, although with quite limited opening hours, is well stocked and has some reasonable pastries.

As with ALL campsites kids can wake you a little early and friends WILL stay up in the evening to chat. Purchasing shower cards can sometimes be a bit of a pain, however, this is easily avoided by buying three of four at a time at 20p a pop. Shower can also be on the cool side at times.

Nearby pubs are great especially the Greyhound that does some fine beers and makes for a well rounded evening. Swanage can be reached via foot in about 1hr 20 and Bournemouth can easily be reached by bike.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Le-Tardoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

This site is not run well. There are signs up saying if you set your tent up too close to others you will be asked to move it, and you must put your dog on a lead and not have it bothering other people, but this happened to us and there was no-one checking the site either in the afternoon, evening, or following morning. 3 groups of VERY noisy inconsiderate people talking/shouting/laughing at high volumes until past 1 am in the morning - impossible to sleep with the racket even while wearing earplugs! Then at 5.30 am one of the noisy groups starts up again - zero consideration for anyone. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daisy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

Burnbake is a beautiful campsite. Large and open, surrounded by woods. Reception 'hut' never open and only saw Management once to collect the rent. Seemed friendly enough. You do find your own spot here, which suited us fine. At this time of year, Easter holidays, there were lots of children. That's fine. What I disliked in a major way, was the fact that there was no curfew for noise levels. A hippie party played guitar and sang until the early hours. Not great for me as I was up at 7.30am to go horse riding at www.studlandstables.co.uk (good ride there 10 minutes by car). Also the showers are still very basic but thy were only dirty with woodland mud at the entrance of the cubicle, not actually dirty in the shower itself. I used one 5 minute, 30pence token for my morning shower. Water was nice and hot and water pressure was perfect. Use flip flops and you're sorted. Toilets seemed fine. Always loo roll and hand towels about. But yes, I agree with other reviewers, that this particular campsite should really be renovated and expanded in terms of the facilities and a curfew should be in place....perhaps they might introduce staff on sight - might be a bright idea?

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairebear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

I'm not too sure how people view 'what a campsite should be' ... But anyway.
I had no problems, I went over the bank holiday and also came back these few days just passed.
I had no issues whatsoever on the Bank Holiday weekend with groups, as the staff were very helpful and where possible (within reasonable hours) did speak to (and eject) campers with unruly behaviour.
Very traditional campsite, Playground was covered with children eventhough the frames were empty, they seemed to love it even more! Children shouldn't need stimulation in the great outdoors! The surrounding forests played most part in my friends childrens stay. They headed out at 10am and weren't seen until their curfew at 4pm!
The reason the staff spoke to me about bookings on a Bank Holiday is because the facilities on site simply cannot cope with the amount of people, they could comfortably hold many more campers if this was not the case - which I think is a very fair point. There are about 8 showers and 8 toilets between about 400 family tents and for the staff to even be able to get in the toilets, they must wait until all campers are out of the way ... midday - 2pm. Hence the facilities getting slightly grubby. I will say however, that the people who seemed to make the mess certainly wasn't staff (who I did see giving it a good 'go over' when everyone was out the way, it tended to be the 'all the gear but no idea' campers!
All in all, the staff were a great laugh (they're very easy to talk to) and happy to listen to (and deal with) any issues you may have. They are on-site all the time and will be happy for you to approach their caravans.
I did hear a few campers complaining when the ladies shut the toilets to clean them, but there is no compromise, they close them to clean and they moan, they keep them open to clean and hear people taking the biscuit about how filthy they are while they clean, can't we just give them a break?!
Fabulous. I'll be back :)

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camperlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
2.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#7 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnbake Campsite and Forest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbake Campsite and Forest Lodges

Property: Burnbake Campsite and Forest Lodges
Address: Rempstone | Rempstone, Wareham BH20 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnbake Campsite and Forest Lodges 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnbake comprises of 22 luxury forest lodges with hot tubs and camping pitches. Camping: The campsite is a very traditional family orientated campsite, an ethos we have strived for since opening in 1975. We are a turn up and pitch site for tents and campervans. I am afraid we are NOT able to take caravans. We have a wide selection of flat level pitches ranging from heavily shaded areas that are perfect for those hot sunny days to more open areas for those looking to make the most of the British sunshine. Facilities wise we have toilets and showers, a shop, small laundrette, small play area and a café open for peak times. We can cater for larger family groups on our events fields by prior arrangement. For pricing, bank holiday booking, and more information please see the campsite website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burnbake Campsite Hotel Wareham
Burnbake Campsite And Forest Lodges Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing