We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place to eat I have ever visited. DO NOT EAT HERE!”
Review of Gurkha Bar - CLOSED

Gurkha Bar
Price range: US$31 - US$31
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
saints1fan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The worst place to eat I have ever visited. DO NOT EAT HERE!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My family and I regularly camp near Swanage and have passed the Gurkha many times. It always has signs up advertising 'All you can eat' breakfasts, so we thought this time, we would give it a try. What a mistake.

Put it this way, you know when you sit down at a restaurant table, but are too embarrassed to change your mind and get up and leave? This is how my wife and I felt. The building looks rough from the outside and is an absolute dump inside. The floor was slippery from grease, the décor was filthy, the smell was indescribable and the food, OMG! It was the cheapest muck I have ever eaten.

Do yourselves a favour and give this place a miss!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saints1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    7
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Have to be desperate to eat here..”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Popped in over the Easter weekend for a breakfast after walking in Studland - wished we hadn't. It smells of Chinese from the night before, surly lady at the desk, tables chairs and décor had seen better days, in fact seen better furniture at our local tip. Everywhere looked dirty, nearly fell over at the self service breakfast as there was so much grease on the floor. Asked for toast and it was unceremoniously dumped on the table, whole slices and butter already on and soggy. Oh yuk yuk and double yuk - won't be going there ever again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benfold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely meals”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great breakfast and the next day went for lunch and both meals was well worth the money. Will go there again

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Breakfast family treat”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Went here today for all you can eat breakfast, only £4.95 and coffee £1.20. Food nice and plenty of it. Restaurant has a very asian feel but a little tired. Food is cheap so don't expect posh surroundings. All in all, we were happy and will be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank 222henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, authentic feel”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had a 'full English breakfast' here 16th April and it was great! There were a wide range of things to choose from including sausage, eggs and mushrooms; and it was all hot.

Decor in need of a bit of refurbishment however the breakfast was a fantastic price of £4.95, all you can eat. At this price, I wasn't expecting as good as I got. If you want luxury, pay more elsewhere.

Staff made a good effort and toilets were ok.
Would definitely return if wanting a cheap, tasty meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 222tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Bar also viewed

Wareham, Dorset
Sandford, Wareham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing