We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable enough but doesn't live up to billing or price”
Review of Les Bouviers Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Bouviers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The room we had was comfortable enough and broadly resembled the photo but was more dated than shown and in need of a refresh and some basic maintenance and dusting. We were expecting much better from the write up on their website - instead it was homely rather than exceptional. Friendly welcome - which was appreciated - but 1990s decor, cluttered entrance area, dusty bedroom curtains/ dried flower arrangements, light fittings in need of update, mismatched bedroom mugs and creaky floor boards. That said it was warm,we slept well and breakfast was fine just not exceptional - if we had paid £80 for the night then I would have said it was fair value for money but it was considerably more. There was ample clothes storage for several night stay and it was a convenient location but with some investment needed in time to spring clean and update decor if you want to keep charging these prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Front Office Manager at Les Bouviers Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Here at Les Bouviers we welcome feedback whether it is positive or constructive.

It is unfortunate to hear that you thought our decor to be dated, considering we regulalry update our fittings and re-fresh our paint work. We ahve a customary housekeeper who keeps all of our rooms in a good clean condition on a daily basis. We also implement a checking system whereby all rooms are double and in some cases triple checked prior to the arrival of guests to ensure the cleanliness and maintenance has been delivered to a high standard.

We are glad to hear that you had a friendly welcome, and that you appreciated this. We are consistently training our front of house staff to ensure that they give an exceptional standard of service. We are also happy to hear that you thought our storage was ample and our location convenient.

Thank you once again for your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

We went to the restaurant to celebrate our anniversary and had a lovely relaxed evening in a welcoming atmosphere, they were helpful and knowledgeable and catered for our dietry requirements (vegan) with no fuss at all. The quality of the food was outstanding; fresh and tasty with a modern innovative touch, I can't recommend Les Bouviers enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Owner at Les Bouviers Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write to a positive response. We are very glad that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Here at Les Bouviers Restaurant with Rooms we welcome any customers with specific dietary requirements, and have a great selection available for Vegan's and or Vegetarians. It is lovely to hear that your evening was relaxed and that our staff were helpful!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

excellent room ( not enormous but website picture accurate) with comfortable bed and great shower. suberb breakfast and lovely dinner, only slight negatives were slight lack of ambience in restaurant and some noise from floor above but did not disturb us.
dinner bed and breakfast value was very good - in total only £20 more than poor quality lodge type hotel near Southampton night before and much nicer.
difficult to find good places that allow dogs. quiet surroundings would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Owner at Les Bouviers Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Here at Les Bouviers Restaurant with Rooms we encourage customer feedback.

We are glad that you had a comfortable nights sleep in our bed, this may have something to do with the fact that all our mattresses are Vi-Sprung! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner.

We are very pleased to hear that you think our prices affordable; we strive to keep our prices competitive. We very much enjoyed having you stay with us and your little dog too!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

If you arent eating there, no reason to stay. Pics of rooms were misleading, floorboards were creaky, owners were distant and defensive when the floorboard issue was brought up. Very overpriced for a room in February. Will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Owner at Les Bouviers Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Visitor

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not that of an enjoyable one. It comes as a surprise to us as your complaint, in relation to the level of customer service you received, was not brought to our attention at the time of your stay.

As you are aware we are a Restaurant with Rooms, which means that we have regular customers dining with us in our main restaurant (the Charles Lee). The Charles Lee is located underneath our bedrooms. If you heard any creaking this would have been from our customers who were dining in the Charles Lee and or staff waiting on them. You did bring this to the owner's attention of which the owner explained, in detail, the above and that the house was built in 1978, and because of this some creaking of floorboards would occur.

In the morning when you spoke to the Kate, she fully acknowledged your requests for a vegetarian breakfast and offered you a variety of options for your satisfaction. It is a shame that you felt the level of customer service was not satisfactory.

In relation to your points about the pricing, we feel that in relation to other hotels in the area of which are charging with the region of £61.00 and £80.00 for a Double Occupancy stay, the prices that we charge are very competitive. The price of your booking was an offer of which we feel very competitive compared to local areas. Taking into consideration our quality linen and Vi-Spring Mattresses and range of complimentaries.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. In our continuing quest for excellence we endeavor to listen to the points raised and use this to build on our future.

Kind Regards
Les Bouviers Restaurant with Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed here for one night last week after visiting the accountant in Wimborne. I found Les on T.A. and was attracted by the menu so decided to book a night's stay to celebrate husband's retirement.
The staff were welcoming - it was a vile day- and showed us to our room, Nixon, which, although small, was very comfortable. We were offered fresh milk to make tea and coffee which was appreciated.
We had a chat with Kate and a drink in the bar before dinner, and perused the very nice menu.
The chef was very accommodating as I have a specific food allergy. The meal was lovely - we both had the pork with tiny bits of black pudding (I never knew it could taste like that!) There were nice canapes, (amuse bouches), sorbet and other delicious free offerings.
After dinner, having said Good Night, we then had a problem with the plumbing (not our fault!!) but it was fixed quickly and good humouredly by Jeremy.
As has been said by other reviewers, the bed was amazingly comfortable and the linens and towels were luxurious.

Thank you for a lovely stay and we will be happy to recommend you to all our friends.

Room Tip: My husband saw the next door room, Krasnarsky? which was bigger and very nice. Nixon was nice, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Owner at Les Bouviers Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Visitor

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are very appreciative of guests who have had a happy and comfortable stay and respond positively via TripAdvisor.

We pride ourselves on our friendly and professional customer service and are happy to hear that the owner Kate made your stay that extra special and personal. We also thank you for bringing the plumbing issue to the attention of our staff, and are glad that you felt it was dealt with efficiently and humorously.

In relation to your Bedroom Tip, the Room next to the one that you were staying in was in fact one of our Executive Rooms called The Rut, which is the next level from the Standard Rooms. It would explain that there was more space, with a larger bathroom. Perhaps if you stay with us again this Room would be more preferable.

Kind Regards
Les Bouviers Restaurant with Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Most comfortable room in very quiet surroundings. Well cooked English breakfast was extra but very good while continental breakfast, which was included, was excellent with fresh fruit and lots of choices. In particular the bed was so comfortable I have now purchased one for my home. Fresh milk was provided for the room along with tea and a choice of coffee.
The bathroom was large and very clean though a razor point was not available.
We did not eat in the restaurant but it appeared to have an interesting and extensive menu.

Everyone was most helpful and pleasant and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrus_C1966, Owner at Les Bouviers Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Visitor

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience

It is so warming when our customers write such a personal and specific review, especially in these cold Winter months. We do pride ourselves in going that extra bit further for our customers, as you have noted the breakfast selections and the Vi-Sprung mattresses, so it is always a real boost when customers notice these special touches
The bathroom in the room that you stayed in, our Superior called 'Benfield', has a double aspect sloping roof, which restricts us, for legal reasons, to attach an electrical point. However there is one that is moveable in the actual bedroom which you should of been advised of whilst being checked in. So for that we do apologise
Finally we are very pleased that you felt welcome, we do strive to make all customers feel almost as if they were at their home from home. We would love to welcome you again, and have the chance dine you in our 2AA Rosette Restaurant

All the best for the New Year

Kind Regards
James & Kate
The Patrons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Went for a meal to celebrate our son's engagement and were very impressed. The food, the service and the attention to detail exceeded all our expectations - the food delicious and well presented, the service attentive but discreet, and the welcome second to none. We would have no hesitation in recommending Les Bouviers to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, General Manager at Les Bouviers Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear Visitor

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience

We are delighted you had such a positive experience, especially in our very busy festive period. We hope to see you again very soon

Have a very merry Christmas time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
1.9 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
663 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
842 reviews
5.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Bouviers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Bouviers Rooms

Address: Arrowsmith Road | Canford Magna, Wimborne BH21 3BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne
Price Range: £83 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Bouviers Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Les Bouviers Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Bouviers Wimborne
Les Bouviers Rooms Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing