We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Bouviers Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Bouviers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne
Certificate of Excellence
south of britain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bit of a let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place looks lovely from the road and the restaurant looks fine. We were attending a party in the room at the back. The area outside for parking is very untidy and the entrance is nowhere near as grand as the restaurant. What really annoyed us was the price of the drinks. Not much choice and £5.50 a pint WHAT A RIP OFF.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank peepee1peepee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    27
    12
    12
    3
See reviews for
22
81
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a small family run hotel/restaurant. The emphasis is clearly on the restaurant. The food is of Michelin standard. Fresh ingredients are prepared with style and panache by the chef who, together with his wife, is the owner of the hotel. The service was also excellent and the staff team were very attentive, demonstrating a "can do " attitude at all times. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alain q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We decided to have the wake for our late Mother at Les Bouviers in Arrowsmith Rd as the setting was perfect. We arrived & were greeted with soft drinks, so far so good, we then found the bar, £5.50 for a pint of beer & £4 for a bottle of Stella (thought I was back in Monarco!) We had ordered a cream tea with buffet (£13 per head) but when it was put out, wow I was Disapointed, finger sandwiches & a few small cakes..., it was laid out in 2 rooms so you could not see how much was there & then it was cleared away before people had finish, this says one thing to me, your time is up we want you to leave....& then they had the check to add a £70 service charge (we did not pay)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScenicFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Took our puppy Schnoodle on a 2 night B&B break to Les Bouviers. Very welcoming with fantastic garden to let the dog explore. A relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy a welcome break. Well behaved dogs are allowed in the dining area if other guests permit. The puppy enjoyed doggy treats while we found the breakfast excellent. After a day out we enjoyed a relaxing evening drink or two in the lounge bar. The bedroom was very clean and the en-suite was spotless.
Heather R

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a family run hotel with an intimate atmosphere and we were given a very warm welcome on arrival. The bedroom was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We were very impressed with the standard of the en-suite facilities. Breakfast each morning was excellent with more than ample portions and very nicely presented. If you are looking for a quiet location in lovely surroundings then we would definitely recommend Les Bouviers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed recently for a couple of nights following a family celebration in the New Forest. We had booked dinner for Saturday night but not for Friday and were told on arrival that the restaurant would not be open Friday night as they were preparing for a wedding the following day. We were a bit disappointed as we had hoped just to have a snack (having had a huge lunch earlier in the day) and our host very kindly offered to rustle up some soup and a salad for us which was perfect and very much appreciated.
Our room was comfortable, shower was good and bed comfy. Tea and coffee in the room with some extras was a nice touch. Yes the decor was not to our taste (as some of the other reviews have mentioned) but, really, who cares as long as you sleep well and the bathroom is good. We were the only ones in the bar on Friday night so were very chilled out with our books and a couple of drinks.
We had the taster menu on the Saturday night which we enjoyed very much although for a taster menu the portions were a little large (!) and I found that I simply couldn't eat all the courses - now that has never happened to me before!! The food was of good quality, tasty and varied. The cheese selection was tremendous - I was gutted that this was the point when I thought i needed a break from eating! My husband had the port with the cheese course but was served the dessert without the dessert wine - assuming the waitress had forgotten he asked for it but was told that this would be 'extra' to the bill. The extras would be the things that I would improve on - I had also noticed that there were quite a few things that were 'extra' if we wanted them. Some things on the menu & the cooked breakfast being one of those and room service would have been an extra £5 I think. Not sure if they are trying to dissuade people from eating cooked breakfast or using a room service but seems a bit odd - these things should be priced into your stay. Or simply don't offer room service. We weren't offered more toast at breakfast either (which we didn't need but would have been nice to be asked). And on the first breakfast we had lovely freshly pressed orange juice in a jug that we could help ourselves to which was super but the second breakfast it was poured for us, no jug on the table - not sure if they had run out of jugs as breakfast was busy but you need to be consistent with these things!

We were worried that we would be disrupted with the wedding going on but amazingly didn't hear a thing (apart from a drunk guest trying to find the wedding bar through the restaurant which was amusing!). We would not have known there was a wedding if they hadn't mentioned it to us. There was lots of too-ing and fro-ing through the restaurant area with a touch of urgency about it no doubt due to the requirements of the wedding meal taking place in the function room in another part of the hotel - we found it adding to our general experience but another couple might have found it a bit offputting if they were trying to have a romantic meal! And we observed our hospitable waitress on occasions talking to herself whilst she was sorting things out - no doubt it helped her not forget things!
So overall, we enjoyed our stay, we felt very 'looked after' by the team which is the point of staying in a small establishment and we enjoyed our food. If they sorted out the 'extra's' and sharpened up the service a little it would be very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked a table of 7 (my husband, myself and our children and there partners) for my husbands 50th birthday via e-mails, Les Bouviers were very helpfully and friendly, However on the evening, our party ordered some drinks, wine and starters. The waitress finally bought our wine when we were eating our main course, she poured my Husband and myself a glass, then put the bottle on an empty table behind. My husband had to get out of his seat to get the bottle when our glasses were empty. We had to ask for water and other drinks when we had empty glasses, the service was very slow, However the food was very good. When we were all finished, my husband had to go looking for someone so we could pay, I have sent Les Bouviers an E-mail pointing out my disappointments and as of yet, they have not replayed to me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
1.9 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
6.0 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Bouviers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Bouviers Rooms

Property: Les Bouviers Rooms
Address: Arrowsmith Road | Canford Magna, Wimborne BH21 3BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Bouviers Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Bouviers Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Bouviers Wimborne
Les Bouviers Rooms Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing