We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and quality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fernhead Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Wimborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Twin bedded room for two old men staying overnight stay for a mates 60th birthday celebrations nearby! Karen welcoming and well organised with all aspect of room to a very good standard. Bathroom not ensuite but we had our own excellent dedicated suite two steps along the corridor. Breakfast was all you could ask for in terms of quanity and quality. No hesitation recommending.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We decided to break our journey to a holiday cottage in West Dorset with one night in Wimborne on Thursday 17 May to see the Minster and the town. We had the twin room with seperate bathroom, and were very pleased with the accomodation. The room and bathroom were both very spacious; the beds were extremely comfortable with lovely crisp cotton bed linen; the thick white towels were far better than we've had in many hotels; and it just felt as though everything had been carefully thought of to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. What more can we say ? Oh yes, the breakfast was great ! Such a choice, and everything cooked beautifully. Fernhead is a business that is obviously run with great pride and generosity of spirit. Recommend it to anyone visiting Wimborne !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blc665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just had a lovely weekend away with my hubby and 2 children. Our room was perfect and it was great that the kids had their own room as we didn't feel on top of each other. Lovely big bathroom and it was great to have a little fridge in the room. Breakfast was something else. There was so much to chose from and the food was really enjoyable and presented so well. They had thought of everything even down to giving my little girl a fairy place setting and cup. All the little finishing touches made it all the more special. We definitely hope to go back in the future for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed a couple of nights for a family funeral, but what a treat! We have stayed in many guest houses & hotels over the years but this exceeded them all. We were more comfortable in the king size bed than we are at home! Plenty of space both in the bedroom and the bathroom, and every facility provided. And what a breakfast!!

Room Tip: Our room had a bay window overlooking the road, but not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have stayed at Karen's guesthouse twice with our two children under five and it is by far the best place we have stayed with them. Fernhead is set up to accommodate families like us and we have been made to feel so comfortable and well-catered for both times. We stayed in Shakespeare room with its bunkbed annexe. The children have been delighted to arrive both times, with shelves full of picture books and cuddly toys to welcome them. The rooms are exceptionally clean and practically arranged with lovely attention to detail - for example this time Karen had left some bath toys out for the children to play with. We were there over Easter and each day a new chocolate treat awaited them.

Karen's breakfasts are exceptional with the full English cooked freshly and to perfection with nothing overcooked. In addition the fresh fruit is always of the best quality: raspberries, strawberries and blueberries one day, a medley of melons the next, plus a fridge full of yogurts. Again, boxes of toys are left to entertain children, giving parents the chance to finish their breakfast in peace once children have finished. Unlike many alleged family friendly guesthouses or hotels, you genuinely feel able to relax as a family.

This time the guesthouse was beautifully decorated with Easter decorations. Warm hot cross buns were served on Good Friday. Karen's personal touches are very special, for example she knew our daughter loved Cheerios but that there were none left in the individual portion selection, so she bought a big box specially.

There is lots to do in the area - the model village in Wimborne is fun and Honeybrook farm is also good for families. We also drove to Moors Valley Park which was great and to Studland Beach which is lovely.

Room Tip: Shakespeare is great for families as it has an adjoining room with bunk beds and an en-suite bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DudleyH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Fernhead for a weekend at the end of March in the Walford room. The room was spacious, well equiped and spotlessly clean and the ensuite was huge with a lovely walk in shower but also a bath and his and hers sinks! What a treat to go to a B&B and get a super kingsize bed (we have one at home and usually husband complains when we go anywhere that the bed is too small!).

The breakfast was excellent, a great selection of the usual cereal and cooked offering but also a wide range of yoghurts and lovely fresh fruit which was very welcome.

The B&B is very well located, less than ten minutes walk into the centre of Wimborne.

We would highly recommend this B&B and at no.2 in the ranking I have to wonder what the no.1 could possibly be doing better (particularly as it is not even located within walking distance of Wimborne!).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Fernhead Guest House for 5 nights in mid-March. We were delighted with every aspect of this B and B accommodation. We had the Walford room which was spacious with a luxurious en-suite, plenty of storage space in high quality Hammond wardrobes, a well stocked book shelf and a large comfortable double bed. The breakfasts were excellent with ample choice, large bowls of fresh fruit salad and a fridge cabinet full of different yoghurts. Karen, the owner, was extremely attentive and catered to our every need. We would have no hesitation in returning to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wimborne hotels
0.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
671 reviews
2.1 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 27 in Wimborne
275 reviews
5.0 mi away
Horton Inn
Horton Inn
#1 of 1 in Horton
124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Merley Court Holiday Park
Merley Court Holiday Park
#2 of 11 in Wimborne
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhead Guest House

Address: Fernhead Guest House 7 Wimborne Road | Walford, Wimborne BH21 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Wimborne
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhead Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fernhead Guest House. We provide a quality bed and breakfast service in the historic town of Wimborne Minster in Dorset.Room Facilities - Each luxury room is supplied with complementary tea and coffee plus bottled water for your enjoyment. Each room also has a flat screen digital television.Breakfast - is served in our Victorian dining room. Business Facilities - Photocopying facilities and free Wifi access is available for guests use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernhead Guest House Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing