We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly guest house.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fernhead Guest House
Ranked #2 of 27 Wimborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Clean, comfortable spacious family room. Double room for us and seperate bunk roon for our son with large en-suite bathroom - perfect! Our breakfast was huge with lovely fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, toast,croissants and full English! Phew!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayl341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Fernhead Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

I have never ever written a review on anything but felt compelled to write this due to the excellent service / welcome that I received when staying at Fernhead B&B. A lone female on business Karen made me feel so welcome. My room was lovely and the breakfast was unbelievable, it was fantastic, but I did have to concede that I could only eat half the amount of the previous days cooked breakfast on day two. :)
I have to come back to Wimbourne in the next two months and i am already looking forward to a return stay with Karen and dreaming of the breakfast lol.

The B&B is also well situated and I managed to go for a run around the adjacent fields and walk into town via the river which was lovely.

Many many thanks Karen for a memorable stay

Helen

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at this excellent establishment in September 2012 and were suitably impressed. We stayed in the Allen Room which had a nice view of the river and although the bathroom was not ensuite, this did not pose a problem as it was reserved solely for our use. The guesthouse was spotlessly clean and the beds were most comfortable. Breakfast was five star and everything you could wish for was on the menu - blew my diet right out of the water! Karen was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our 5 night stay here immensely. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The Allen Room has a nice view across the garden and fields to the river.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My Aunt, my cousin and I stayed at Fernhead Guest House while visiting the Wimborne/Poole area in Aug 2012. We stayed in the Shakespeare Room, which was spotless and very cozy and had it's own in-suite bathroom! I would highly recommend this B&B because it was clean, and the proprietor, Karen, was extremely accommodating. And the breakfasts were simply sumptuous! By far the best B&B I've experienced!

Room Tip: If you need to sleep 3+ people, I would recommend the Shakespeare Room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamC483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Were lucky to find this place especially with the Steam Fair and the Air Show on the same weekend as the wedding we were attending.
Karen went out of her way to let us check in early (to get changed) and unlike many places did not insist on a 2 night minimum stay at the weekend. Room was spotless and had whe worlds largest bed. Bathroom with walk in shower and glitzy mirrors. A quick breakfast and off we went in the morning.
This place does everything you want of a quality B & B, clean, crisp bedding, comfortable bed, safe & secure parking, quiet (despite being on a main road.) and decent coffee for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikewreid999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Quite the nicest B+B we have stayed in for some time. We only stayed for one night but after moving into Bournemouth's 'no 1 rated on TripAdvisor' the next day we immediately wished we'd stayed longer at Fernhead, which was far and away better in every respect.

We stayed in the Shakespeare room and aside from being sparkling clean, it was full of home comforts - lovely soft cotton bedding, a bath and proper large shower. And the silent fridge is a great touch! We didn't have children with us, but if you do this is a brilliant room for a family, with a small side room with bunk beds and lots of books and games.

Breakfast was outstanding; in fact, it compared to what we've experienced on a 5 star cruise ship. A lovely selection of quality fresh fruits (no run of the mill tinned grapefruit here) , croissants, cereals and yogurts of every description, plus a hot dish cooked to order - this is a real pleasure to be lingered over if you have time - oh yes, and breakfast time is totally planned around you here, rather than the usual 45 minute dash.

Wimborne is a pretty town with plenty of nice pubs and restaurants, a pleasant 5 minute walk away, and at Fernhead you are free to come and go as you please. If you have transport it is a welcome change from the bustle of Bournemouth.

Overall, we highly recommend it here and we will certainly stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePsSouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We booked the whole house for for the weekend to attend a wedding in the family on18th of August 2012. All of us including 2 children felt at home and one 4 year old wanted to go back to his "new home".

We were very well looked after by Karen. The rooms were very clean and breakfast was very good.

We would certainly consider staying again if visiting the area.

Also very central to Wimborne town centre and within walking distance.

Room Tip: With children, the Shakepeare would be a good choice.
Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank dipti_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
656 reviews
2.1 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.4 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
2.0 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 27 in Wimborne
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhead Guest House

Address: Fernhead Guest House 7 Wimborne Road | Walford, Wimborne BH21 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Wimborne
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhead Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fernhead Guest House. We provide a quality bed and breakfast service in the historic town of Wimborne Minster in Dorset.Room Facilities - Each luxury room is supplied with complementary tea and coffee plus bottled water for your enjoyment. Each room also has a flat screen digital television.Breakfast - is served in our Victorian dining room. Business Facilities - Photocopying facilities and free Wifi access is available for guests use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernhead Guest House Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing