We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning Accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fernhead Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Wimborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed in the Walford room, which was fantastically appointed and clean - such attention to detail. The bathroom would grace a 5 star
London hotel and the breakfast was pure indulgence. Karen, our host, was charming and friendly. We will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernhead7, Owner at Fernhead Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you so much, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Fernhead Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Karen gave us her usual warm welcome, the service is excellent, the room spotlessly clean; bedding and towels are top quality and the room was cosy and welcoming on a cold day.The breakfast here is the best we've been served anywhere. And this time we also had the bonus of beautiful Christmas decorations!

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely, but the Walford suite is exceptional.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thewilkinsons31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernhead7, Owner at Fernhead Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, it was a wonderful start to 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Delightful, hard working host, goes the extra mile to ensure you have the best possible stay. Just 3 rooms, we had the Walford suite. This has a 6ft bed, settee, flat screen TV, silent fridge, stocked with water and milk, free wifi, large bathroom with twin sinks, walk-in shower and bath, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, soft white towels and facecloths, all squeaky clean. The breakfast is delicious with quality produce, including fresh fruit salad, prunes, fruit juices, yogurts, cereals, croissants, toast, smoked salmon and of course the full English if you want it. 10 minute walk into the town with a choice of pubs and restaurants. Perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burcottbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Due to sudden illness, my sister and I couldn't make our first booking but Karen was really accommodating and helpful. We eventually arrived 2 weeks later and, on Karen's suggestion, swapped from the family room (as the twin room was booked) to the Walford. This meant us sharing the bed (not what we'd normally do!) but the super king size bed was fantastic, comfortable and so wide (another two people could have fitted in... again, not something we'd normally do!!) that we didn't notice each other move and provided a great, peaceful night's sleep!
It is a lovely big room with all you expect and need but also included free WiFi and a small fridge containing milk and bottled water. The shower was great and the bathroom is beautifully fitted. Both the bedroom and bathroom have original fireplaces with art nouveau surrounds.
I live on the edge of a quiet village so I did notice some traffic noise when we opened the window on arrival but this is not a major road, the traffic drops off during the evening and the good double glazing stops any noise once the windows are closed - as stated above, I slept well and undisturbed.
Breakfast was very good. Most days I have Dorset Cereal with Yeo Valley natural yoghurt and fresh red fruits which is exactly what's on offer here! There are other cereals available too plus any kind of toast and various cooked options.
Karen is a great lady and provides a fantastic service, helping with ideas on where to eat and what to see. We loved Wimborne and the centre is just a very short walk from the guest house.
It's also great that there is off-road parking available.
We thoroughly recommend Fernhead for your visit to this part of Dorset!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorksalordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked at the last minute and Karen Pearce couldn't have been more helpful. Good, informative website meant that we chose the Walford room because we wanted a large, firm double bed in a spacious room. There was a very large bathroom ensuite (two washbasins, gigantic shower, bath), which meant that we could have all windows closed at night and still be fresh and cool. The guesthouse is close to a "B" road (a minor road), so there is inevitably some traffic noise but this arrangement meant we slept well. Wonderful breakfast, luxurious cotton bedding!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WycombeSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Yet again another delightful stay at this lovely and friendly establishment .
Lovely rooms ,excelent breakfast and as always a very warm and sincere welcome .
Karen realy puts herself out to give you any information you need and it is always a pleasure
to see and talk with the good lady .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albert1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

It's not the most charming of b&bs from the outside but we were really impressed with the size of the rooms, cleanliness and service. Easy to walk to town centre and anyone who is attending a drunken wedding at deans court.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdflloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
657 reviews
2.1 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.6 mi away
Wimborne Lodge Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhead Guest House

Address: Fernhead Guest House 7 Wimborne Road | Walford, Wimborne BH21 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Wimborne
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhead Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fernhead Guest House. We provide a quality bed and breakfast service in the historic town of Wimborne Minster in Dorset.Room Facilities - Each luxury room is supplied with complementary tea and coffee plus bottled water for your enjoyment. Each room also has a flat screen digital television.Breakfast - is served in our Victorian dining room. Business Facilities - Photocopying facilities and free Wifi access is available for guests use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernhead Guest House Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing