We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fernhead Guest House
Ranked #5 of 27 Wimborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Easy to see why it’s so highly rated. Stayed here many times over the past few months. Attentive hosts, charming rooms, off road parking, great value, clean and an attention to detail make it a fantastic place to stay. The choice at breakfast is amazing with the cooked options freshly cooked to order. Great location, 5 minutes walk to Wimborne town centre. Convenience store close by. A wise choice for business or leisure. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATraveller363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernhead7, Owner at Fernhead Guest House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much. Wimborne is great little market town and It's really good to know you enjoyed working and staying here as much as we enjoy living here. Hope it won't be too long before you're back,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
52
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent food, very high standard of cleanliness, Karen makes you feel very welcome. This was our second stay and will certainly be booking again when we are in the area visiting our family. Pauline & Brian Pattison

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernhead7, Owner at Fernhead Guest House, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much, it is always lovely when guests return for another visit. Hope it's not too long before you are back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just returned fron a weekend at Fernhead. We had the Walford Room, which was spotless and cosy, and the bathroom really has the wow factor. The silent fridge with fresh milk was a particular bonus. The breakfast, with lots of fresh fruit, was delicious. We are thinking about moving to the area and Karen really went out of her way to suggest places that we might like to try - she was a real fount of local knowledge. All in all, we had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay - I'm sure we will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernhead7, Owner at Fernhead Guest House, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much. I am so glad that I was able to be of help with local knowledge. We are extremely lucky to live in a beautiful part of the country. All the best with your house hunting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Walford room, which was fantastically appointed and clean - such attention to detail. The bathroom would grace a 5 star
London hotel and the breakfast was pure indulgence. Karen, our host, was charming and friendly. We will be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernhead7, Owner at Fernhead Guest House, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Karen gave us her usual warm welcome, the service is excellent, the room spotlessly clean; bedding and towels are top quality and the room was cosy and welcoming on a cold day.The breakfast here is the best we've been served anywhere. And this time we also had the bonus of beautiful Christmas decorations!

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely, but the Walford suite is exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewilkinsons31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernhead7, Owner at Fernhead Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, it was a wonderful start to 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Delightful, hard working host, goes the extra mile to ensure you have the best possible stay. Just 3 rooms, we had the Walford suite. This has a 6ft bed, settee, flat screen TV, silent fridge, stocked with water and milk, free wifi, large bathroom with twin sinks, walk-in shower and bath, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, soft white towels and facecloths, all squeaky clean. The breakfast is delicious with quality produce, including fresh fruit salad, prunes, fruit juices, yogurts, cereals, croissants, toast, smoked salmon and of course the full English if you want it. 10 minute walk into the town with a choice of pubs and restaurants. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burcottbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherdswell, Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Due to sudden illness, my sister and I couldn't make our first booking but Karen was really accommodating and helpful. We eventually arrived 2 weeks later and, on Karen's suggestion, swapped from the family room (as the twin room was booked) to the Walford. This meant us sharing the bed (not what we'd normally do!) but the super king size bed was fantastic, comfortable and so wide (another two people could have fitted in... again, not something we'd normally do!!) that we didn't notice each other move and provided a great, peaceful night's sleep!
It is a lovely big room with all you expect and need but also included free WiFi and a small fridge containing milk and bottled water. The shower was great and the bathroom is beautifully fitted. Both the bedroom and bathroom have original fireplaces with art nouveau surrounds.
I live on the edge of a quiet village so I did notice some traffic noise when we opened the window on arrival but this is not a major road, the traffic drops off during the evening and the good double glazing stops any noise once the windows are closed - as stated above, I slept well and undisturbed.
Breakfast was very good. Most days I have Dorset Cereal with Yeo Valley natural yoghurt and fresh red fruits which is exactly what's on offer here! There are other cereals available too plus any kind of toast and various cooked options.
Karen is a great lady and provides a fantastic service, helping with ideas on where to eat and what to see. We loved Wimborne and the centre is just a very short walk from the guest house.
It's also great that there is off-road parking available.
We thoroughly recommend Fernhead for your visit to this part of Dorset!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorksalordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
2.1 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.6 mi away
Wimborne Lodge Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhead Guest House

Property: Fernhead Guest House
Address: Fernhead Guest House 7 Wimborne Road | Walford, Wimborne BH21 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Wimborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhead Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fernhead Guest House. We provide a quality bed and breakfast service in the historic town of Wimborne Minster in Dorset.Room Facilities - Each luxury room is supplied with complementary tea and coffee plus bottled water for your enjoyment. Each room also has a flat screen digital television.Breakfast - is served in our Victorian dining room. Business Facilities - Photocopying facilities and free Wifi access is available for guests use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernhead Guest House Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing