We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"perfect B&B for all the family"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fernhead Guest House
Ranked #5 of 26 Wimborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“"perfect B&B for all the family"”
Reviewed 3 September 2010

There was nothing not to like about this B&B, having never stayed in a B&B before we found this one on the internet and what a find, we needed somewhere to accomodate my partner and myself as well as our 3 children aged 4,3 & 1. This was not a problem here, Karen provided us with a travel cot to put beside our bed and the older 2 went into the bunkbed. As for the rest of our room all you can say is "stunning" and for cleanliness I think Karen must of had Brian up all night cleaning it because there wasn't a speck of dust anywhere.
The bathroom was up to the same immaculate standard with a nice bath and seperate shower, even bath toys for the kids.
We went down to breakfast at 9am and we weren't disappointed, Karen had set out a table with anything a child could ask for and more, and as for the full english breakfast "SUPERB".
Summing up the full 2 days we stayed we could not have asked for more, "BRILLIANT HOSTS, BRILLIANT FOOD, AND TWO FABULOUS NIGHTS SLEEP IN A B&B TO DIE FOR".
THANK YOU KAREN AND BRIAN.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
55
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We had the family room, which had a really nice refitted bathroom, with large shower and bath. The main room was pretty and light, and the bed comfy, with big pillows and fresh linen. The small kids room had a bunk bed which suited them, as did the swings, slides and trampoline outside. Karen was a great host, and nothing was too much trouble for her. Great breaksfasts: just make sure you are hungry.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutsogoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Having read previous reviews on trip advisor i had very high expectations of this B & B. These were met and more. Karen the owner was very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble, she was friendly and helpful,attentive but not intrusive and a real pleasure to talk to. My children who are of the age(11 & 12) where most adults are regarded as comming form another planet,thought she was fab and great fun.They loved playing in the garden with Karen's grandchildren and dogs. We stayed in the Shakspeare room-lovely fluffy duvets and towels-excellent facilities- childrens bunk beds in seperate area off the main bedroom. Breakfasts set us up for the day. Lovely 10min walk into town along the river. No hesitation in staying here again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmealinhowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

From the moment we arrived until the time we left we were made so welcome by our lovely host Karen. Unfortunately we didn't meet Brian as we were only at The Fernhead for the night., maybe next time.

My father in law who lives in Bournemouth is now 91 fell and broke his hip and was in Poole Hospital. We live in Milton Keynes and decided to drive down on the Friday afternoon and try and find a good B & B near to Poole and stay overnight so we could also visit him on the Saturday. I found the Fernhead Guest House on the Trip Advisor site and as they say what a find it was.

We didn't arrive until quite late but Karen welcomed us and showed us to our room at the back of the house which had good views out over the fields. The room was spacious, comfortable, modern, spotlessly clean and bright. The bed was enormous and looked so comfortable.

We had a kettle, a good selection of drinks including fruit teas and even bottles of water. There was plenty of wardrobe space and drawers if needed.

The shower was separate just across the hall to our room which we knew before I booked but it didn't cause us any problems and it was only for our use. It was again spacious and spotlessly clean and had high quality shampoos, shower gels for guests use.

On our way to the Fernhead we had driven through what is called "The Square" at Wimborne. Its a lovely little town with lots of amenities and restaurants. Karen gave us the names of quite a few restaurants in "The Square" which she recommended. The Square is only a few minutes walk from the Fernhead which is good because the parking in Wimborne is very limited. Unfortunately all the restaurants were fully booked as it was a Saturday evening so if you are planning to visit and want to eat in the evening I would advise you to book a restaurant table when you book your room. Karen will I am sure give you the names and telephone numbers.

We did manage to find a pub restaurant just outside the village which was called The Olive Branch. Nice atmosphere but food a bit overpriced for what it was even though it was quite good.

We slept wonderfully. It was so peaceful and the bed was as comfortable as it looked.

Now we come to the breakfast. Karen cooks your breakfast whatever time you want it. There was everything you could possibly want. All good quality and fresh fruit, every cereal imaginable and even fresh orange juice. We both had a cooked breakfast which was huge and so delicious. We would go back to Fernhead without any hesitation.

Both my husband and I felt that Karen was attentive when you wanted her and would help if she could with anything you might need but we also felt that she would give us our privacy which she did once we were settled into our lovely room.

Do give Fernhead Guest House a try, you won't be disappointed.

If you are looking for spectacular accommodation and food with a lovely atmosphere in a beautiful location then look no further this is it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris26_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I booked this guest house a week before travelling, and spoke to the owners who were very welcoming. I travelled with my parents, uncle and cousin and we booked the 3 available rooms. All rooms were of a very high standard, large and clean. The breakfast was wonderful and nothing was to much of a problem. I would recommend this Guest House to all my family and friends, who want a warm and friendly atomsphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

What a find! My wife and I stayed for two nights in the Walford Room (huge bed, en-suite, lovely bay windows). Karen was so friendly, made us feel right at home. Breakfast was out of this world, I have enjoyed many a cooked breakfast but this takes the trophy for quality and volume (needless to say I did not eat much the rest of the day). We will be back here every year when are in the Wimborne area. Thanks Karen for making our short stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fernhead Guest House for 1 night and were pleasantly surprised. Karen the owner was very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the Allen Room at the rear of the premises and found the room bright and very clean, we had the exclusive use of the shower and toilet which was near our room this was also spotless with lots of complimentry goodies. Breakfast was huge served with a big pot of tea. We would definately stay at Karen's again if we are in the area. What a lovely guest house!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
2.1 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.4 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
2.0 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 26 in Wimborne
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhead Guest House

Property: Fernhead Guest House
Address: Fernhead Guest House 7 Wimborne Road | Walford, Wimborne BH21 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Wimborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhead Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fernhead Guest House. We provide a quality bed and breakfast service in the historic town of Wimborne Minster in Dorset.Room Facilities - Each luxury room is supplied with complementary tea and coffee plus bottled water for your enjoyment. Each room also has a flat screen digital television.Breakfast - is served in our Victorian dining room. Business Facilities - Photocopying facilities and free Wifi access is available for guests use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernhead Guest House Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing