We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful!”
Review of Riverside Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed in a soul pad for two nights in August. Having never camped as a family before, the pre-erected bell tent seemed like a great way to 'dip our toe in the water'. Having been somewhat apprehensive about what the camping experience might bring we were all (two adults, 14 year old and 6 year old) completely bowled over by our far too brief stay at Riverside Lakes.
The family who run this site are extremely friendly and helpful, and should be very proud of what they have created at this amazing place.
What they have created is a peaceful, relaxing haven as far removed from the nonsense of today's mad, impersonal world as possible. A place where families can spend time simply enjoying being a family together.

The soul pad was very private and there was more than enough room for the four of us. Mattresses , cushions, a small table, tea lights and bottles of water were provided inside and outside there was a fire pit with a tripod stand complete with large round barbecue grill, kettle, paella pan and a casserole pot. There was also a picnic style bench and logs to sit on around the campfire.

The owners came round each night selling logs and kindling for the fire and this was by far and away the best part of our stay. There's nothing quite like preparing and cooking a meal together over an open fire then relaxing afterwards on an upturned log with a glass of wine while the kids settle down in the cosy soul pad. We've even been tempted to do away with our cooker at home and use an open fire in the back garden (not really).

Having now completely and utterly caught the camping bug we are looking at purchasing a family tent for next year. The only problem is that I doubt we will be lucky enough to find a site that lives up to the expectations set by Riverside Lakes and it's a seven hour drive away for us.............

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AJHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Booked a soul pad for a night. Testing camping out on the our 3 & 5 year old.perfect place for it. When they went to bed, ideal for a nice glass of wine around the campfire. The owners are super friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going again. The way camping should be.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have just come back from another August bank holiday weekend at this campsite and what a gem it is. the space between the tent areas is vast and the camp fires in each area is a lovely social idea.
The children have so much space to run around in and generally be children...
The addition of a new shower block was an added bonus this year roll on next year when we return for more good times with friends

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkleberry72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

we spent 4 nights at Riverside with my daughters and their partners. We had 3 tents in the isolation area which was great as we were not near anyone else, very private. There was loads of space for tents, fire basket , wood for fire available every day if you needed it. The site is very quiet and peaceful, 3 lakes for the fishermen, plenty of space for the others to chill with lots of wine. Owners were so helpful - even picked us up from local pub one night ( very good food and nice atmosphere ) Wonderful place - would highly reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for a 4 night camping trip with our 2 young boys (both below 6). We had a wonderful time. Everything (except one night of rain) was great. Showers are warm and plenty of room for adult and child. Plenty of space for each pitch and really safe for the children. The children LOVED the glow sticks and we loved being able to have a bonfire each night.
Owners and staff were lovely. Nothing was too much trouble.
Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

What a place! We went here for a friends 30th birthday weekend and stayed in two yurts. The whole weekend was just bliss with absolutely delightful staff, excellent shower and washing up facilities, lovely nature walks and fantastic pub to walk to. Highly highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foundthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just home from a five day stay at Riverside Lakes. I'll definitely go back - next time with the biggest group of friends and children I can muster. The pitches are arranged so that groups would have a particularly great time.
I'd recommend ringing lovely Maggie before you decide which pitch to book, because they all have their own benefits. The bottom of the site is tree sheltered and less windy..but the higher pitches feel like you're sleeping in the middle of a butterfly filled meadow, looking out over Dorset fields! The "Chill Out" field is very peaceful, but really quite a way from the great shower block. Showers weren't super hot, but loads of space and free, as well as hairdryers and clean well supplied loos.
Logs to buy, every night, from lovely chatty fellas and even a visiting retro-ish ice cream van, which stops in the middle of the long grass and makes you go 'aaaaaaaahhh'.
No washing line to hang up wet stuff, is my only gripe (and given the fab tyre swing over the stream, and the four kids in our party, we had a lotta wet stuff!)
If you go here, and have kids, you must go to Moor Valley Country Park up the road. It's 8 quid to park all day, and just unbelievable value, with huge log structures all round, for kids to climb, from spiders webs to snake pits.

Room Tip: See main description - ask Maggie for advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumkingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wimborne hotels
5.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
671 reviews
6.0 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horton Inn
Horton Inn
#1 of 1 in Horton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
6.1 mi away
Merley Court Holiday Park
Merley Court Holiday Park
#2 of 11 in Wimborne
167 reviews
4.3 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 27 in Wimborne
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lakes

Address: Riverside Farm Slough Lane | Horton, Wimborne BH21 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Wimborne
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Riverside Lakes Hotel Wimborne
Riverside Lakes Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing