We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there - I want it for myself”
Review of Riverside Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a beautiful, Swallows & Amazonesque camping experience. If you seek entertainment, a shop, a bar, this isn't for you. If your kids like building dams, flying kites or droping a line in the lake, & snuggling up beside a glowing campfire atthe end of the day, then it is. Brian and family are the kindest, friendliest and most meticulous of owners - all spotless, nothing is a problem and they regularly pop around via golf buggy to check you have all you need, drop off logs for the fire and hand out bedtime glowsticks to smaller party members.
The particular beauty of this site is that it has only 55 pitches - which means it doesn't feel over stuffed, even at capacity. The only, single thing I'd change is the height of the composting loo door handle - which my little one couldn't reach to go unaccompanied :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojolily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed in soul pad with my daughter. Just magical, never having had an open fire before didn't realise what a massive difference it makes. It was such fun building it with her, cooking on it and then sitting by it in the evening with a glass of wine. So many campsites don't allow them now. The campsite itself is wonderful, big open fields and lakes. Nothing fancy but it was a joy to stay here. They had piglets which to my daughter's complete delight she was allowed to run about in their pen with them.
She also loved the swing across the river. The soul pad isn't glamping, (by which I mean proper beds and furniture etc) but it was really reasonably priced and we had a great time in it - so much so I am now buying a bell tent.
I didn't want to write a review because I was being selfish and wanted to ensure the campsite is not always booked up, but the owners are so lovely and helpful that would be totally unfair. I have never met such welcoming people who go out of their way to make sure you are having a good time. The showers and toilets were always really clean. The campsite was nearly full when we were there but none of the tents were crammed together and there seemed to be loads of space still. My daughter keeps asking when we are going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Fab site, clean facilities, charming owners, lovely fellow campers. Great for the kids to see the animals and have a safe car free environment to cycle round but one thing would make it perfect - a small playground so smaller children could meet up with other children and make friends, Nothing major! Overall, excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank We_do_love_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just back from Riversidelakes after an amazing 9 days of total relaxation. The site is wonderful and just how camping should be with large pitches surrounded by swathes of meadow and no cars on site, which may sound like a drag but is great for children and a relaxed way of life. Fire baskets are available for every camper with wood available to buy and delivered to your site and it is just wonderful walking back through the site to see open fires and chilled out campers and the smell of cooking. There is a real sense of space and freedom and the lakes add to the beauty of the place. The nieces have already said that they want to go back next year, the pigs, chickens, ducks, dog and tyre swings and free glow sticks every evening really help! Good facilities and don't be put off by the ecoloo it really is very good. A great site for families and couples alike and I would recommend it to anyone, as long as you leave a space for me!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I really can't add much more to the already fantastic reviews this site has achieved. I wanted to leave a review though as it has been voted our favourite campsite and the owners were amazingly helpful when our electrics failed in our van, offering us a new lead, battery pack etc. We had pitch number 5 (EHU for motorhome) and the setting was beautiful, we were under a tree and next to a lake where our son could happily fish. We would without doubt request this plot again.
It doesn't actually feel like a campsite, as the plots were so large. We enjoyed the communal campfire and our own fire at the motorhome when younger children camped close to the communal fire went to bed.
The surrounding area is lovely, we visited Hengistbury Head which we can all recommend and the Moors Valley park just up the road which is also brilliant (and free).
We will without doubt be back to Riverside Lakes and hope that other families enjoy it as much as we did.
Thank you Maggie and Nigel !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flosslovesjimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

just come back from this wonderful campsite, had a great 6 night stay, our 2 year old love the pigs and the ducks. the pitches are large, u get areal sence of space.. shower and wash up were very good. the lovely family who run it are very helpful with logs deliver to your tent everynight and glow sticks for the kids.we love this campsite looking forward to going again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We found Riversidelakes through Cool Camping and it's in their top ten UK campsites and deservedly so.

It's a magical spot and a great example of how it's possible to run a successful business without being overly commercial. The owners clearly put a huge amount of effort into the campsite and it shows. Logs delivered every night and an evening check in to make sure everyone's OK. Great facilities too.

Our first stay was only for one night after a trip to see family, but nevertheless we were still looked after very well. Needless to say we'll be back!

Just wonderful about sums it up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wimborne hotels
5.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horton Inn
Horton Inn
#1 of 1 in Horton
127 reviews
6 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
6.1 mi away
Merley Court Holiday Park
Merley Court Holiday Park
#2 of 11 in Wimborne
171 reviews
4.3 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 27 in Wimborne
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lakes

Address: Riverside Farm Slough Lane | Horton, Wimborne BH21 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Wimborne
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Riverside Lakes Hotel Wimborne
Riverside Lakes Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing