We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service as it should be”
Review of Riverside Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Customer Service as it should be”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We found this to be a beautiful, friendly and relaxing experience, only 20 minutes drive from home.

Despite it being 8pm on a windy Friday night, we were nicely settled in our soul tent within 15 minutes of arriving, with nothing too much trouble for this family owned and run business.

Maggie greeted us with a big smile and some information on how the site runs, how to find our way around and the local eateries and cycle routes. Nigel led us right to the door of our soul tent on his golf buggy, and again took the time to introduce us to our home for the next 48 hours. We were to receive intermittent visits throughout our stay from other happy family members; whether simply to check if all was well, to bring us more wood for our wood burning stove (whose warmth would prove invaluable), or our outside cooker, or even to drop off some marshmallow sticks or pretty new lanterns to light our evening cooking sessions! They even brought us some amazing tree stomp campfire seats mid trip!

This is a tranquil, family, couple and pet friendly site where even those more in favour of their home comforts than getting at one with nature can be very happy. The shower and toilet blocks are clean and the showers are even warm. The memory mattresses as provided in the soul tents are really comfy and one of the family is always near by if you have any questions.

Sitting in our soul tent in lantern light by the wood burning stove whilst the wind was whistling outside was just bliss.

I hope to see them again in the near future, and we will certainly be recommending this site.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlewils21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandlers Ford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

A lovely camp site to relax and enjoy being with friends. The owners were very welcoming and happy to advise you on the best walk for your family.
We had a 7yr old and a 3yr old with us and they had a fab time. I was worried about the ponds and streams with the younger one, but we didn't have a problem. We hardly saw the older one who made friends easily and the site was safe enough for them to roam out of sight without the threat of cars on the road.
We're planning our next visit soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaTwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a beautiful, Swallows & Amazonesque camping experience. If you seek entertainment, a shop, a bar, this isn't for you. If your kids like building dams, flying kites or droping a line in the lake, & snuggling up beside a glowing campfire atthe end of the day, then it is. Brian and family are the kindest, friendliest and most meticulous of owners - all spotless, nothing is a problem and they regularly pop around via golf buggy to check you have all you need, drop off logs for the fire and hand out bedtime glowsticks to smaller party members.
The particular beauty of this site is that it has only 55 pitches - which means it doesn't feel over stuffed, even at capacity. The only, single thing I'd change is the height of the composting loo door handle - which my little one couldn't reach to go unaccompanied :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojolily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed in soul pad with my daughter. Just magical, never having had an open fire before didn't realise what a massive difference it makes. It was such fun building it with her, cooking on it and then sitting by it in the evening with a glass of wine. So many campsites don't allow them now. The campsite itself is wonderful, big open fields and lakes. Nothing fancy but it was a joy to stay here. They had piglets which to my daughter's complete delight she was allowed to run about in their pen with them.
She also loved the swing across the river. The soul pad isn't glamping, (by which I mean proper beds and furniture etc) but it was really reasonably priced and we had a great time in it - so much so I am now buying a bell tent.
I didn't want to write a review because I was being selfish and wanted to ensure the campsite is not always booked up, but the owners are so lovely and helpful that would be totally unfair. I have never met such welcoming people who go out of their way to make sure you are having a good time. The showers and toilets were always really clean. The campsite was nearly full when we were there but none of the tents were crammed together and there seemed to be loads of space still. My daughter keeps asking when we are going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Fab site, clean facilities, charming owners, lovely fellow campers. Great for the kids to see the animals and have a safe car free environment to cycle round but one thing would make it perfect - a small playground so smaller children could meet up with other children and make friends, Nothing major! Overall, excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank We_do_love_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just back from Riversidelakes after an amazing 9 days of total relaxation. The site is wonderful and just how camping should be with large pitches surrounded by swathes of meadow and no cars on site, which may sound like a drag but is great for children and a relaxed way of life. Fire baskets are available for every camper with wood available to buy and delivered to your site and it is just wonderful walking back through the site to see open fires and chilled out campers and the smell of cooking. There is a real sense of space and freedom and the lakes add to the beauty of the place. The nieces have already said that they want to go back next year, the pigs, chickens, ducks, dog and tyre swings and free glow sticks every evening really help! Good facilities and don't be put off by the ecoloo it really is very good. A great site for families and couples alike and I would recommend it to anyone, as long as you leave a space for me!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I really can't add much more to the already fantastic reviews this site has achieved. I wanted to leave a review though as it has been voted our favourite campsite and the owners were amazingly helpful when our electrics failed in our van, offering us a new lead, battery pack etc. We had pitch number 5 (EHU for motorhome) and the setting was beautiful, we were under a tree and next to a lake where our son could happily fish. We would without doubt request this plot again.
It doesn't actually feel like a campsite, as the plots were so large. We enjoyed the communal campfire and our own fire at the motorhome when younger children camped close to the communal fire went to bed.
The surrounding area is lovely, we visited Hengistbury Head which we can all recommend and the Moors Valley park just up the road which is also brilliant (and free).
We will without doubt be back to Riverside Lakes and hope that other families enjoy it as much as we did.
Thank you Maggie and Nigel !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flosslovesjimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
8.6 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
275 reviews
11.0 mi away
Rockley Park Holiday Park - Haven
6.0 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
641 reviews
5.3 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
6.1 mi away
Merley Court Holiday Park
Merley Court Holiday Park
#2 of 11 in Wimborne
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lakes

Property: Riverside Lakes
Address: Riverside Farm Slough Lane | Horton, Wimborne BH21 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Wimborne
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Riverside Lakes Hotel Wimborne
Riverside Lakes Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing