We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time”
Review of Riverside Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay and as always we had a fantastic time .What can I say about it . . . Its perfect ! The kids loved it they had great fun on the rope swing as well as the rides on the quad bike and cart thanks to Nigel . . . they didn't want to leave . The site is very safe and the children can wander around enjoying all the animals - pigs chickens etc .The open fires and the braziers are fantastic in the evenings to sit around and enjoy a glass of wine .Maggie and Nigel go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable experience nothing is too much trouble.[Thank you] We think its the best camp site we have ever been too and will definitely be returning .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and had originally booked the soul pad on an island. However due to the 2 other tents on the island being occupied, the owner gave us a choice of staying in a new 'timber/log cabin' type lodge. We chose to stay in the cabin as felt we would all be on top of one another on the island. The owners went to a lot of trouble getting the cabin ready for us, even going out to get curtains! The place itself does not feel crowded at all due to the space between pitches (apart from on the island, which we were told was usually hired by friends/family, rather than individual couples). The shower and toilet block are kept very clean. The whole campsite is run very well, the owners clearly care a lot about their customers and show this by making a lot of effort to ensure everyone is happy. Also loved all the animals around the site - pigs, chickens, cats, dog, geese etc.. The only downside was that my partner wanted to go fishing in the lakes, however this proved to be unsuccessful as there were not many fish in the lakes! Nevertheless an excellent stay (thank you!) would love to return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank itsamy2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a lovely few days at this gorgeous campsite. Its generous pitches give you a real sense of privacy and the no noise policy after dark means you will never be kept awake by other people's loud thumping music. (Having said that, the evening golf cart patrolman was a bit OTT on the first night, twice making the point that children had to be quiet at 9 - it is a balance. However, you can chat around the camp fire until the early hours though because the spacing between pitches is so generous.) The glow sticks given to the children is a nice touch, and the rope swing is adored. There is a lovely walk to a nature reserve from the site and always very clean facilities. We love the site and the friendly owners and think there must be few sites this good in the whole country.

Room Tip: spent the holiday rolling out of bed having pitched on a slope - take your time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We've just returned from a week at Riverside Lakes and it was perfect. The site is beautiful, the pitches are huge and the facilities are clean and spacious. There was even a bath which was perfect for keeping our 18month old daughter clean! The owners were really helpful, made a point of coming around and checking on everyone every evening and really take care of the place and the people staying in it. We've camped a lot and this was definitely the best site we've visited, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in the bell tents and cooked over the open fire , my little boy ran around with the other kids, and because the owners know exactly who is on the site I felt totally safe letting him out of my site! Lol the site is so well payed out that you can hardly see your neighbours but you are still connected to the rest of the site. The facilities, showers etc are immaculate and farly new I would say and the owners are brilliant! We have booked to go twice more this year! Can't say enough about this place excellent!

Room Tip: The bell tents are a brilliant experience and good value for a family of 4 and over
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suziqsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Really great campsite! Massive pitches that leave even the biggest of tents loads of room. Lovely grounds, very clean facilities, cool helpful owners. Couldn't fault it. Would definitely recommend and will go back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Thomasisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Riverside lakes is simply THE BEST campsite in the country for a relaxing break under canvass. Either take your own tent and enjoy massive pitches with huge amounts of space between fellow campers or treat yourself to the soul pad experience which you definatley won't regret. Sitting round the open fire of an evening (take plenty of marshmallows and metal skewers) is fantastic.Very clean toilet block and washing up facilities. Moor Valley Park, 10 mins is a must for families(cheap bike hire)a great day. But ultimately Riversidelakes is all about Nigel & Maggie (and their son), the nicest friendliest, most helpful people you will ever meet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
8.4 mi away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
459 reviews
8.6 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rivendell Clothing Optional Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
182 reviews
17.3 mi away
Downshay Farm
Downshay Farm
#2 of 14 in Swanage
35 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lakes

Address: Riverside Farm Slough Lane | Horton, Wimborne BH21 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Wimborne
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Riverside Lakes Hotel Wimborne
Riverside Lakes Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing