We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic friendly campsite - will be back again!”
Review of Riverside Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly campsite - will be back again!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We're only local but were looking for a family friendly campsite to enjoy a few nights under the stars with our boys (3 & 7ys). Riversidelakes is a fantastic site for families; their policy of 'be nice or leave' meant all visitors respect each others privacy, were all friendly and adhered to the quiet after 11pm, no noise before 9am policy. Perfect! The pitches are a really generous size (even for the big family tents) and really well thought out, we had nobody next to us (we stayed in Isolation, pitch #53), it was so nice and quiet in the evenings.

The owners are so friendly, their son brings wood around in the evenings (£5 a bag) and you can use the fire pits available. The facilities are excellent, lovely clean toilets and showers, a family bathroom (with a bath) and great washing up facilities (including freezer & microwave).

The campsite is on a farm so naturally you can hear the sound the pigs, cockerels, geese etc. The owner was kind enough to let the kids watch the piglets run out to the field in the morning and watch them run to their pen go to bed in the evening (very cute and a highlight of our boys trip!) The owner also comes around in his golf cart in the evening and gives all the kids glowsticks - such a nice treat and another highlight for the kids!

We did hear the road first thing in the morning when all was quiet but it didn't bother us and the scenery, facilities and people sure enough make up for that.

I can't recommend this place enough, we had a really good stay and would love to return with some friends. Just hope there's always a spot for us (it's a fairly small campsite compared to others, which is why I think it's so popular with nice quiet families) :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samtavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first trip camping 2 females with 2 small children and wasn't sure what to expect on arrival. A little concerned whether we would get bitten by insects as the lakes were close by.
Our pitch was in an excellent position, spacious and not too close to other tents.The overall site was not overcrowded as we have experienced on earlier camping trips this summer. Showers, Toilet block and washing up areas were excellent and well stocked including use of microwave, fridge and freezer. The owners and their staff were very friendly and helpful. They came round each night with firewood to use in the Fire pits provided for a small fee. Also the children were given glow sticks every evening which they loved. Would definitely recommend this site. We had a relaxing peaceful chilled out time even with two small children and not an insect bite in sight. :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Really enjoyed a week here - the pitches are mainly in small groups mown into a meadow, with others on an island and some pre-pitched bell tents too. Fire pits provided and well seasoned timber and kindling available on a nightly basis at a reasonable charge. Kids loved the free glow sticks and making new friends and the communal fire area in each cluster was ideal for toasting marshmallows and smores. Fishing reasonable in the second of the lakes, the third is completely overgrown with pond weed - day ticket fishing no longer allowed but if I was being really picky two days spent clearing a couple of swims, dragging the snags out of the pond and cutting back a few of the overhanging tress at a couple of swims would transform it. That said the fishing was a minor part of our stay and otherwise it is an excellent site and well worth a visit - good base to explore Poole, Brownsea Island, Corfe etc

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We first visited riverside in august 2013. As I am not an outdoorsy woman I was not looking forward to the camping experience! I was so wrong. The facilities at this site made camping comfortable, the worries such as washing up properly, self hygiene and going to the toilet all disappear once you see the facilities. Everything is clean and tidy. We stayed in a four man soul pad in 2013 and this year we hired a 6 man tent both were very spacious and luxurious but the 6 mans have a little more room outside the tent for our 6 and 4 year old boys to play. We love riverside lakes and will make this an annual trip for our family. It's just perfect for a real camping experience with a touch of homeliness.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaelWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wonderful campsite with friendly, warm hosts, each of whom patiently answered not only our questions, but all the questions the children wanted to ask. We just got back today after a weeks camping as a family. This was our camping debut and it was such a great experience all round that we will probably be booking up again next year. We have young children, as did most of the other campers and they were all made to feel so welcome. The owners bring some nice touches like bringing around firewood, lighters and kindling every evening. There was no noise on site, no louts, no problems, no loud music. Very much the perfect family site. The children made friends easily and night time involved the excitement of marshmallows and stories around the campfire, alongside the glow sticks that the owner brings around every night for the little ones. We let the children stay up late with us with the huge payoff that they slept in, while we greeted sunrise with a cup of tea! The shower block is clean, and modern, and never busy since the number of pitches are limited, and spacious. All in all, a lovely place to spend a week of the summer and lots of happy family memories created.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Short_Stay_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Riverside is the ideal family camp ground. Spacious, quite, beautiful and has the absolute must of allowing camp-fires, both group fires and individual braziers - with your wood delivered to you every evening! The surroundings are lovely, and whilst there's room for a lot of campers, you wouldn't know they were there. The shower block is so spanking new you actually want to take a shower, rather that dreading it. They make their own sausages which are the best my wife has ever tasted. It's close to Moors Valley (great for wild cycling and GoApe) and the New Forrest. In the evening they even come round to give glow stick to the children. I can honestly say it's the most pleasant and well thought out camp site I've ever stayed in. Dying to come back and try the tents on the island in the lake (had a refreshing swim) complete with wood burning stoves. This is everything a camp site should be. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try out the pre-erected tents on the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Following friend's recommendation we stayed here to be close to Moors Valley Park which is great for kids. Well designed and very spacious site with good facilities and the most helpful and friendly hosts. We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
17.3 mi away
Downshay Farm
Downshay Farm
#2 of 14 in Swanage
31 reviews
4.3 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 27 in Wimborne
233 reviews
6.0 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
638 reviews
6.1 mi away
Merley Court Holiday Park
Merley Court Holiday Park
#2 of 11 in Wimborne
141 reviews
5.3 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lakes

Property: Riverside Lakes
Address: Riverside Farm Slough Lane | Horton, Wimborne BH21 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Wimborne
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Riverside Lakes Hotel Wimborne
Riverside Lakes Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing