We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, lovely location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Cottage Yurts
Devizes, Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience, lovely location!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at Mountain Cottage Yurts last weekend after both my partner and I having it on our 'to do' list for months. Verity was lovely and greeted us when we arrived and showing us around. We went for a lovely walk as she recommended through the woods just at the side of the field which were full of beautiful bluebells, and completely silent apart from the birds which was amazing! The yurt was well equipped and we had a very comfortable stay, needless to say that my partner enjoyed taking responsibility for keeping the log burner alight, a great touch to keep us warm. The shower was hot and clean which was a real bonus too!

All in all we really enjoyed our night in the yurt and wouldn't hesitate to return, in fact we have recommended it to all our friends and are hoping to come back next year with some of them!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CassieWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCYurts, Manager at Mountain Cottage Yurts, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Mountain Cottage, its so nice to hear such positive feedback. I look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a lovely stay at Mountain Cottage Yurts - we thought yur-t-know about it! Apart from spending a lot of time sitting around thinking of creative ways to add the word "yurt" into sentences, we also enjoyed the relaxed pace of hassle free camping. We were very lucky with the weather with sunshine over both days. All amenties were clean and pleasant. The family sized yurt called 'Rose' was perfect for our group of four. Lovely fresh eggs, ample fire wood, clean sheets and lovely hospitality from Verity. I would strongly recommend this as a fun and relaxing weekend escape. Make sure you read the helpful details provided on their website of what to bring - it is all there and very helpful (one of our group forgot a towel!). Yur-time is precious, so make the most of it ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCYurts, Manager at Mountain Cottage Yurts, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, its nice to hear you had a good time...and thank you for the yurty words left in the visitors book!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just back from a stay in the yurt - fantastic location, really idyllic. Fell in love with the yurt and the log burning stove, very romantic place. The facilities were clean and looked after, really loved the hot shower which is a great touch. Felt very much like we wanted more time here so will definitely be returning. The bumpy road makes you feel like you're really off into the wilderness!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCYurts, Owner at Mountain Cottage Yurts, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mountain Cottage, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Please don't be put off by the only negative review so far; I'm very fussy and the only thing we struggled with was the slightly bumpy road in - very minor! I booked the small yurt for two nights as a birthday surprise for my boyfriend and we loved it. It was perfect for a romantic break; there was lots to do nearby (Go Ape and Corfe Castle were our favourites) and the facilities were a real plus - a proper shower was greatly appreciated. It's a personal service, not commercial and the location's very picturesque.
Verity was extremely helpful and friendly, willing to take phonecalls and give honest advice on the the options she had available, the complimentary eggs were delicious and the boyfriend had many a happy half hour with the little wood burner (lighter and candles waiting for our somehwat late arrival made the first night magical).
Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCYurts, Owner at Mountain Cottage Yurts, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review, its great to receive such positive feedback. Im glad you had such a special Birthday :) After your comment about Go-ape I tried it myself and it was excellent!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have had the most wonderful couple of days at Mountain Cottage Yurts. It was so exciting staying in the yurt, with querky shower cabin. It was all looking so pretty and we had the bonus of having beautiful weather and Verity was very friendly and helpful. I would definately recommend this as a very relaxing and enjoyable environment. Theres nothing like being in the country with all the birds and animals.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We have returned to mountain cottage now for the past 3 years and each time have found it to be the most relaxing holiday. The surroundings are amazing. Being surrounded by horses, cows, goats and wild deer every day is a dream. We have taken our 3 children varying in age from 11 to 18 and each time they have been made to feel welcome by Verity, Ian and Wendy and we have all been made to feel like part of the family. The yurts are very well maintained and have a lovely cozy feel and Verity makes a point of checking on each visitor on a daily basis. I look forward to my visit for many months before i am due to go there each year and each time come home with a memory to last forever. I would highly recommend that you try a yurt holiday at least once in your life and mountain cottage is definately the place to try first.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at Mountain Cottage Yurts in September and had an amazing relaxing weekend in the Dorset countryside. The yurts are in an idyllic setting, surrounded by lots of animals including chickens, horses, cows and goats. The Yurts are very nicely laid out and make a great place for a romantic weekend in an eco-style. We both slept very well and kept warm due to the wood burners which were well-stocked with wood. The family that own Mountain Cottage are friendly and made sure we were well stocked with eggs and offerings from their allotments. We will definitely be returning to enjoy the beautiful scenery and walks again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHairyHobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wimborne hotels
3.5 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
152 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
15 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
2.8 mi away
Wimborne Lodge Bed and Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 26 in Wimborne
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Cottage Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Cottage Yurts

Property: Mountain Cottage Yurts
Address: Mountain Cottage Brickyard Lane | Corfe Mullen, Wimborne BH21 3RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Wimborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience Dorset’s countryside, relax, unwind and enjoy the sound of the dawn chorus and the clear starry skies from your very own Mongolian style Yurt. A warm welcome awaits you at our small family run farm, perfect for a romantic retreat or family holiday, Mountain Cottage offers an idyllic location set in 50 acres of pasture land adjacent to a beautiful woodland where you can spot creatures such as Badgers and Nightjars! Within a few minutes walk you can explore the Castleman Trailway, stroll along this old railway to Wimborne and the river Stour and even Poole and the sea! From the tranquility of your Yurt or Tipi you can also indulge in a holistic treatment performed by Anna Petrarca where you can de-stress from everyday life and enjoy one or more of her numerous therapies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Cottage Yurts Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing