We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very busy on 15th Feb - but ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wimborne Tandoori

Wimborne Tandoori
Ranked #63 of 97 Restaurants in Wimborne
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very busy on 15th Feb - but ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

As my partner was working on Valentine's night, he took me to our favourite curry house on 15th February. To answer the comment from the unhappy person waiting for a delayed delivery that night, the restaurant was absolutely heaving with people collecting takeaways and those of us waiting for tables.

The price to be paid for being the best curry house locally, I guess.

The restaurant, before Christmas, opened just for my family - all was wonderful then, and has been excellent at all other times too. Let's hope that success does not prove to be their downfall.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelw0rker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    15
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delivery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Don't know what is happening there tonight but we have now waited 2 hours for our delivery. Tried to phone but just got the answer phone or engaged tone. This is one of our favourite restaurants but they have really let us down tonight.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 3janey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We went to the Wimborne Tandoori last Saturday evening. The restaurant was very busy but the service is very quick, very efficient and the staff are lovely. The food was up to its usual high standard. There is a car park just around the corner which is free in the evenings, which is handy to know. We have also used their take away service and had food delivered to our home which is just as good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharonwalker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Popular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Went here with friends in December for a change. Spotlessly clean and very cheerful friendly staff who didn't 'hover' beside your table but were always there to top up drinks or when needed. The restaurant was really packed and this is always a good sign of edible food! All of us enjoyed our curries and sides, tasty, cooked well and reasonably priced which overall was an excellent package! Not only that, but in a good position to carry on the evening in Wimborne if that is what you want to do. Would go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benfold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best Indian in the county”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Eaten here dozens of times but most recently in a group of 8 friends having an annual catch up. The food is excellent, the lager chilled and the staff are perfect. I usually have chicken Bombay curry though I'm not sure it's officially on the menu now. Definitely my favourite Indian and probably favourite restaurant in Wimborne

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wimborne Tandoori also viewed

Wimborne, Dorset
 
Wimborne, Dorset
Wimborne, Dorset
 

Been to Wimborne Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing