We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New menu”
Review of The Willett Arms

The Willett Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Willett Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 102 Restaurants in Wimborne
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“New menu”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have visited this place previously on a number of times only to disappointed .This time we were presently surprised the quality and the quantity of the food was outstanding and the staff were really good.we informed that it was now under a different brand/banner I would strongly recommend that you keep it there.my only suggestion would be to invest in new staff uniforms as the old ones look out of date .besides that we will be recommending this place highly and look forward to seeing you all again soon :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gazza2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    124
    68
    52
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite good but not great!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I share the previous reviewer points on ' Good Staff, OK food, Overpriced and Small Portions'
But I would also add ' Takes a bit long to be served even for drinks!' although I would say that the extremely pleasant lady that served us was rushed of her feet due to lack of staff - bless her!!
Would probably drop off in future for a drink or a quick snack if passing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good staff. Ok food. Bit overpriced. Small portions. ”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

small portions. Higher price. Nice food. Good staff. The final bill was confusing with several items appearing as something else as 'that's the only button to press' I say that's a bit confusing but no response. Overall wouldn't go back in a hurry but it's a nice clean place.

Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Advice: go for the bar food instead!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I've been to The Willet Arms numerous times - mostly for drinks, rather than food.

My experience with the food (especially at the restaurant) is always so, so. The food isn't particularly cheap, unless you go for the set menus, and it is very much average pub food.

That said, I can certainly recommend their bar food. You can choose 3 dishes for sharing for £10 - my favourites are the cottage pie croquettes and calamari. It's much nicer than the food served at the restaurant and you can enjoy the atmosphere of the bar area instead.

I have never had an issue with service - the staff were always friendly and helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pnagashima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Went to the pub for a meal tonight to be told they had no staff so unable to do food. So went to Labouviers Bistro down the road which was sensational

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Willett Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Willett Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing