We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingston Lacy

Kingston Lacy
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Wimborne
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Wimborne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We always take our visitors to KL House. The history, the gardens, the allotment gardens, the pigs, the house itself...everything is glorious at all times of the year.
The recent Craft Fair had fabulous geraniums but the entrance fee was rather too expensive! Take note.
The National Trust shop is very well stocked - expensive - but there is lots of it!
The NT cafe. Sigh! Long queues. Long wait to pay. Terrific, hard working staff. Take out a mortgage. It ain't cheap! Delicious and generous portions, but pricey. The fruit crumble was to die for!!
You can spend the entire day at Kingston Lacey and there are still more places to explore. This is one place that we come back to time after time.
You won't be disappointed. :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaWimborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    276
    65
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pretty gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Pretty to walk around, even when it was busy, it still felt empty, loved the kitchen garden and the animals as well as the house. Coffee shop rather expensive

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DKebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
202 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Lovely for an afternoon out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stopped off here as I was in the area and I had a bit of free time. The house is interesting with lots of paintings, ornaments and furniture and the gardens are fairly extensive with different sections such as a Japanese garden and a fernery. There are some good Egyptian artefacts here too including a sarcophagus and some obelisks. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Little Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Meeting friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

As I was travelling to Bournemouth for a couple of nights with friends we decided to meet at the NT the sun was shining so all was good. The welcome was we hope you enjoy your visit and it stays fine. We bought a light snack for lunch however the cafe was very busy. The grounds are well kept and there is a large kitchen garden area. This area is across the road from the main area each individual area is well maintained it turns out they are small allotments kept by various people. The house is interesting and the staff informative but not one of the best I've been to.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely house and gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spend a sunny Saturday morning exploring the gardens and house. Especially nice to us were the Japanese Gardens. There is plenty to see for everybody and kids will enjoy feeding the pigs at the far end of the large garden area. We didn't rate the look of the food so didn't try anything from there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank xxPhils_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingston Lacy also viewed

 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Kingston Lacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing