We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking Service”
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Ranked #76 of 102 Restaurants in Wimborne
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Shocking Service”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Went here with a large group of about 9 family members although there was only 4 variations of meals as many of us had the same meal as others in the group. We then queued for ages to just order our food and get drinks. We were told bluntly that we would be waiting AN HOUR for our food. Naturally we would have gone then but as we were in large group we decided to wait it out, other places we had been generally over estimate waiting time. An hour and a quarter later, we went up to complain as food hadn't arrived, and we were not alone. The queue behind us were all disgruntled customers, some people waiting between an hour and an hour and 3 quarters. We were told it would be 5 more minutes, it was 10 at least. And what's more there was no apology from on the till or the waitresses who eventually brought the average food along. Don't go there for food, you'll be waiting half your life!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GavinJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    127
    105
    143
    166
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Food very hit and miss”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Hi been there several times and bar service is very good food, no consistency and the roast is poor. We have had the scampi on 4 trips and twice were good the other times poor.
Great garden and seating on good days
Tends to be mainly families does grt very busy and 20/45 minute wait is normal at busy times.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love it!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

The food at the fox and hounds is very nice but I think they could do a little more to the desserts. It's not at the best price but it's not too bad. My friends dad is the manager of this and all the service is very kind.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chillybrillylily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Chill out and enjoy the good value”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We ate here this evening with probably 300 like-minded people. This place has to be a gold mine for Greene King. Our fellow diners included a vast number of children who were constantly being taken to the loo! Not the most relaxing of environments. The food is delicious and my cauliflower cheese tart was very well cooked. The new potatoes tasted as if straight out of the vegetable garden. The trio of hot desserts with ice cream was very good too. It was clear that a number of diners were impatient but the hard pressed staff coped with them cheerfully. We all had a good time and it was very good value too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorsetgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrible Service. Where are the Staff!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Visited the Fox and Hounds for the first time with two friends on Friday evening. The pub was heaving outside but managed to find a table inside. Not a good choice of food on the menu nothing very healthy apart from salad. There were not enough staff anywhere to cope with all the people. Waited ages in a queue to order our meals and a blackboard on the counter said it was a 45 minute wait. Decided to go ahead but ended up waiting for well over an hour. Our food was rushed onto the table by an overworked young girl. No apology and food not very hot and my sea bass very salty!! The portion sizes were very small for the cost and vegetables was extra.
I then had to queue up again to order desert and again to order coffee. The apple pie had chewy pastry which was burnt on the edges. Not a pleasant experience and will not be visiting again. Come on English Inns pull your finger out and do something about your staffing, it could be very good!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

 
Charlton Marshall, Dorset
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing