We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals put off by changes”
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Ranked #74 of 102 Restaurants in Wimborne
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have been regulars here for a few years. After last weekends experience I have to say this will not be the case. The menu choice was terrible with a real lack of choice, when asking the waiter he advises us that it is to reduce the waiting time. Well I have to say the waiting time was still appalling. Bring back the old menu please otherwise we will choose another pub as our regular :-(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Fox & hounds. We appreciate all feedback in which ever form it takes as we truly believe this is the only way of improving what we do. I whole heartedly apologise that were disappointed by the menu options. We have been trying a variety of ways to reduce the wait times on food, and we have seen a significant improvement. I am sorry there was a lack of flexibility on your visit. We are continually training and working towards giving better service to all of our guests, and we thank you for taking time to tell us we did not deliver so we can strive to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 636 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

This pub has a lovely location and is dog friendly.

We went in after work one evening and our meal took at least an hour to arrive, we were so fed up waiting that when it did arrive we literally ate it and went!

I could not recommend until the speed of service has improved.

1  Thank LTS1Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Fox and Hounds. We appreciate all feedback as we truly believe that this is the only way of improving the service we provide. We are currently making changes to reduce the wait at busy times. We are grateful that you have raised this issue with us so we may continue to monitor and improve. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We attended on a sunny Saturday evening expecting a busy pub! We weren't wrong!
A lovely place if you have kids as they all run around, if you don't have kids avoid the weekends it'll be a nightmare!
As it was busy we were told we would have a 45 minute wait for food, which was reasonable as they were so busy. However we actually waited an hour and a half for two burgers and a salad! The bar man we spoke to about this after the rush had gone through was rude and extremely unhelpful, quite clearly they don't have too much customer care!
The food was average pub food I'd expect in most places, nothing exciting certainly not worth an hour and a half wait.
Outside it looks like a lovely inviting country pub, but inside is a bit of a 'mish mash'.
If you are looking at this and an alternative, pick the alternative, this was a let down!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Fox and Hounds. We appreciate all feedback as we truly believe that this is the only way of improving the service we provide. We are currently making changes to reduce the wait at busy times. We are grateful that you have raised this issue with us so we may continue to monitor and improve. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We haven't eaten here for several months and always could rely on a good meal for a reasonable price. The pub must have changed hands as the menu is very limited compared to what it used to be. The food we had was bland and the portions tiny. Cost wasn't too bad, £36 for two adult meals and two children's meals. Shame as the children love the playing area and we love the comfy seats and the patio area. Won't be back to spend our hard earned cash. Would rather cook!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Fox and Hounds. We appreciate all feedback as we truly believe that this is the only way of improving the service we provide. We are currently making changes to reduce the wait at busy times and one of the steps to help this was to use a reduced menu. We are grateful that you have raised this issue with us so we may continue to monitor and improve. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A picturesque pub/restaurant with ample seating indoors and outdoors. There is also a nice patio area outside along with a huge play area for the kids. I quite often go for a nice Sunday dinner or an evening meal with friends. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and I totally understand they can be extremely busy, especially at weekends and if the weather is nice but they cope with the added pressure remarkably well. They normally over estimate the waiting time but this can only be a good thing as the food usually arrives in nearly half the time estimated. The food is amazing and I can't fault it one bit. Generous portions and quality food cooked to a high standard is a huge compliment to the chefs as they must be under immense pressure. I've yet to try their desserts as I'm usually too full up but maybe one day I will find room to sample one as they look amazing whenever I see the waitresses carrying them to other tables. A huge credit to 'Paula' and her team for providing a fun, vibrant, family atmosphere with great food and drink to compliment this lovely venue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alec1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Fox & Hounds. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoy your visit’s, it’s wonderful to hear positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing